Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit Review

Standard

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit and Stamping Disk set

I found this Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit and bonus plate pack at Walmart and, because it was so affordable, picked it up for a review.  The Stamping kit is priced at $5.97 and the Disk set is priced at $2.97, which is the lowest price that I’ve seen on any nail stamping set, including the “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit that I reviewed back in January.  (Click to enlarge photos.)

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit front and back

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit

Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit comes with a plastic scraper, a stamper, a small (5ml) bottle of white stamping polish, and one plate (B25).  For some background, I do not own Konad or Bundlemonster systems, so my only experience with stamping is the “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit.  You can read my in-depth two part review (including a photo tutorial) of that product here and here.  Based on my stamping experience, I would give the Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit a “C+” and the Stamping Disk set an “A”.  Here’s why:

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit Stamper

The tools in the Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit are crap.  As you can see from the photo above, the stamper’s rubber bit pops right out of the handle.  It doesn’t seem to be glued in or secured in any way, which could potentially cause problems with smearing the design.  Also, the stamper’s rubber part is really soft and squishy.  I prefer a stamper that has some resistance because I feel that it stamps cleaner.  You can see from the photo below that the stamper doesn’t provide a clean image, and the polish picks up in certain places (the spots inside the flower petals).  I’m pretty sure that is due to the soft squishy-ness of the rubber.  This is the Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art White Stamping Polish over Essence “Wake Up!”.

In addition to the faulty stamper, the scraper isn’t very good.  At first I was pretty excited by the fact that it’s plastic because I don’t like how metal scrapers scratch the plates.  However, I found that the scraper didn’t get rid of all of the excess polish and left a streaky mess, even after multiple swipes.  I still think the best “scraper” is a used up gift card, or an invalid credit card.  The white stamping polish is okay.  It dries very fast, so work quickly.  I thought that it could have been more opaque for something designed specifically for stamping.  I saw no real difference between this polish and my Sinful Colors “Snow Me White”.

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit Plate 25

The plates are where Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art really shine.  The plates are deeply and evenly etched.  The designs are super cute, and I prefer them to the plates in the Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit.  Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit comes with plate B25, which contains a variety of floral designs. The bonus Disk set comes with plates B17 and B65.  Most of the images are individual, but B65 does contain one whole nail image.  Oddly there is also a mini version of the whole nail image and I’m not sure why.  Perhaps if you are stamping on a child’s nails?  At any rate, the whole nail image is very small and will not be wide enough to accommodate everyone.  I would advise only using it to stamp an accent nail on a smaller finger like the ring finger.

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping bonus Disk Set

Personally, I think the Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit is almost worth it for the plate and I definitely recommend the bonus Stamping Disk Set.  If you are new to stamping and don’t want to spend the money on a more expensive kit, Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit would be a good introduction to the mechanics of stamping.  You can certainly get this kit to work.  However, I would say that you best bet for good nail stamping on the cheap would be to get the Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit and the Fing’rs Flirt bonus Stamping Disk Set.  You can pass on the Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit without missing much.  Again, the Stamping Kit is priced at $5.97 and the Disk set is priced at $2.97, available at Walmart.

Fing'rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Polish over Essence "Wake Up!"

*WARNING*  Please remember that these plates are thin metal discs, and have really sharp edges.  I forgot about that while trying to clean a plate and sliced open my thumb.  Might as well have a razor, so please be careful and try not to handle the edges of the discs too much.

Speed Read:  Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit is the cheapest stamping kit available, but you get what you pay for.  With the exception of the plates, which are actually very good, the kit is not that great.  You can definitely skip this one, but the bonus Stamping Disk Set, which contains two plates, is a winner.  Forget the kit and grab the plates.

Best For:  Those with no stamping experience, who just want to test the waters as cheaply as possible.  Also, those who are just interested in the plates and don’t care about the rest of the kit.

Keep walking:  If you already have other stamping kits, they are probably better.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. Maybe we should keep you away from sharp objects. They look pretty neat though. I like the pattern you chose.

  2. I own both of these, and I think the rubber stamper isn’t too bad, even if it’s lack of adherence permits one to pull it apart. Many people have been saying that the scraper can be a bit tricky, it can leave drag marks behind, but instead of leaning it at the recommended 45-degree angle, I think 10 or 20 degress would be best. It works better the closer the scraper is to the plate.

Leave a Reply

