Maybelline Eyestudio Color Explosion Luminizing Eyeshadow Palettes

Standard

Forest Fury, Caffeine Rush, Amethyst Ablazed

Maybelline Eyestudio Color Explosion Luminizing Eyeshadow Palettes are the latest and greatest in the Maybelline Eyestudio line.  The website claims the “Exclusive luminizer combines with pigments for PURE IMPACT, EXQUISITE COLOR.  IGNITED BY LIGHT.  Now explosive eyes are born.”

These palettes come in the following colors:

Forest Fury: Green

Caffeine Rush: Brown/Neutral

Amethyst Ablazed: Purple

Pink Punch: Pink

Blue Blowout: Blue

I have to say that I agree that these palettes are packed with exquisite color.  Each shade is highly pigmented and totally buildable for an intense, high-impact look while still remaining totally wearable for the everyday woman.  Make that the everyday woman who likes shimmer.  All of the shades in these palettes have some shimmer, some more subtle than others.  I personally love shimmer shadows so that’s not a problem for me, but if you are a matte girl you may want to pass on these completely.  In addition to the four regular shadows, each palette has a fifth “luminizer” color.  This “luminizer” is a glitter shade that falls somewhere between a cream and a powder.  I haven’t felt anything like it before.  The chunkiness of the glitters vary, in my opinion.  I don’t have Pink Punch or Blue Blowout palettes, so I’m not sure about those two.  I found the micro-glitter in Forest Fury and Caffeine Rush to be really similar in size and intensity, and they come off as a shimmery pixie dust effect.  Amethyst Ablazed, on the other hand, has a chunkier silver glitter that is still pretty and shimmery, but not for the faint of heart.  That one truly is GLITTER!  The luminizers are a great way to transform a day look into a nighttime party look in one easy step, but use sparingly.  They are just as packed as the pigments and a little goes a long way.  The color payoff is fantastic even without a primer and long wearing.  The first time I wore Caffeine Rush I did so with no primer to test it and it lasted well over six hours.  The texture is silky smooth and is comparable to higher end shadows.  The only complaint I have is that I had some issues with fallout.  I think that was mostly due to the glitter luminizers, which is kind of to be expected, but annoying nonetheless. They are also kind of pricey for drugstore at around $11.00 each.

Overall, I’d say that Maybelline Eyestudio Color Explosion Luminizing Eyeshadow Palettes are a hit.

Speed Read:  Four highly pigmented, long-wearing, shimmery shadows plus one glittery “luminizer”.

Best for:  Those who like dramatic looks and lots of shimmer.  There are a lot of possibilities for real creativity, especially with Forest Fury and Blue Blowout.

Keep walking:  If you prefer matte shadows or really subtle looks.  Caffeine Rush is actually a very neutral palette, but again with no matte colors, it’s full shimmer ahead.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

