Items that I regret buying, Part 1

Standard

Being budget minded when it comes to beauty is more than just buying inexpensive products.  It also means trying to avoid wasting your money on products that are not good and don’t work.  I find negative reviews just as helpful as positive reviews to see what problems other people had with the products that I am considering.  Now, I know some of these products are pretty popular and this is just my opinion, but this post contains my thoughts and my experience with these products.  So, without further ado, these are some of the items I regret buying, foundation and primer edition.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear™ Talc-Free Mineral Correcting Primer in Green

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear™ Talc-Free Mineral Correcting Primer in Green

This primer was a complete waste of money.  According to Physicians Formula: “In one simple step, this versatile primer color-corrects imperfections, smoothes skin texture, fills in fine lines and boosts makeup’s staying power.”  It doesn’t to any of those things.  First and foremost, I hate the packaging and application.  It’s one of those twisting tubes with a wide brush at the tip.  You twist the tube and the product comes up through the brush so that you can paint it on your skin.  It makes it very hard to control the amount that comes out, and I feel like the brush is dirty after the first use, which makes me hesitant to use the product.  Despite it’s claims, I didn’t expect it to act like a regular primer that would extend the wear time of my makeup or make it apply better, and I was right to have low expectation there.  It’s a terrible primer, and doesn’t do a thing to smooth skin texture or lock in moisture.  I bought it because I have mild Rosacea, so I am constantly trying to fight the redness on my face.  The green in the primer is really sheer so when I apply a small amount, I can’t see it at all, and if I apply a lot of the primer, I end up with a white cast to my skin.  It doesn’t diminish or balance the redness, though, it just changes to a slightly different shade of red.  All in all, this primer is a total bust, and a $10-11 mistake.

Rimmel Fix & Perfect primer

Rimmel Fix & Perfect Primer

I had heard a lot of good reviews about Fix & Perfect, so I thought I’d give it a shot.  I have dry skin, and heard that the creamy texture would be perfect to lock in moisture and even out texture.  It’s supposed to “Smooth skin and minimize pores.”  The primer comes in a squeeze tube, and comes out like a heavy liquid foundation.  It comes in one shade that is a salmon orange color that must be blended out very well on the skin to avoid an orange cast.  As it turns out, this is not a good primer for dry skin at all.  I find that it is very cakey and clings to dry patches, making them even more evident.  Fix & Perfect does extend the wear time of my foundation, but it makes my foundation (several brands) look cakey and uneven, no matter how much I blend.  Perhaps if I had oily skin I’d like the product better, but I’d think that it may break people out because it’s kind of heavy.  I have decided that I should not stray from silicone primers and am trying to use Fix & Perfect up as fast as I can because I don’t want to waist the $7-8 I spent on it, but I really don’t like anything about the product.

Cover Girl Clean Liquid Makeup, Sensitive Skin

Cover Girl Clean Liquid Makeup, Sensitive Skin (from CG's website)

This is the foundation that I used to use all the time until a few years ago when they changed the formula and made it horribly dry and cakey.  The old formulation was moisturizing and had good coverage, but this new formula was completely unusable for me.  First of all, the shades all changed so when I went to repurchase, my color was several shades too light.  Second, when I applied it, it dried me out so much that I felt like I had a mask on.  My skin began to flake, it was so dry, and it applied so cakey and fake that it looked terrible.  I couldn’t use it at all and ended up having to throw it out, along with the $5-6 I spent on it.

Revlon ColorStay Foundation

Revon ColorStay Foundation

Because I had to find a new foundation, I ended up trying a lot of drugstore brands and reading a lot of reviews.  (I think I’ll do a battle of the foundations post later on, so keep an eye out for it.)  ColorStay is a very popular foundation and people rave about how great it is.  At first I agreed with them.  It is a medium-full coverage foundation, which I like, and it has many great qualities.  The first month I owned it, I loved it.  Then something strange happened.  After the first month, the formula began to change.  I suppose it began to oxidize or something, but the foundation began to have a different application than it started with.  By the end of the second month, ColorStay applies very cakey, is drying, and looks like I am wearing an inch thick layer of makeup.  I’ve tried applying with a brush, with my fingers, and with a sponge.  The only way I can get it to look at all wearable is to apply it with a damp sponge and blend like crazy.  It takes forever to do my makeup when I use Revlon ColorStay because I have to work with it so much, and I really hate the finish now.  This is another product that I’m just trying to use up so as not to waste the money I spent on it, which I believe was around $12.  I know that a lot of people think of Revlon ColorStay as their Holy Grail foundation, but it really does not work for me at all.

That’s all for now.  I will do another post including more products that I regret buying soon, but I didn’t want to turn this post into a novel.  😉

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. I will definitely keep all this in mind! I do find negative reviews so helpful, because if all I can find is positive reviews on a products it makes me a bit nervous. I’m always on the look out for a good foundation because I have acne, and acne scaring that needs covering up, that I don’t want it to look like I’m covering it with a mask of makeup.

Leave a Reply

