Wet N Wild Megalast Lip Color- Review and Swatches

Standard

Wet N Wild Megalast Lip Color

I tried Wet N Wild’s Megalast Lip Color in 908C Sugar Plum Fairy and 906D Wine Room.  According to Wet N Wild: “Lips take center stage! This 4-hour, longwearing lip color leaves a semi-matte, crème finish in one stroke. Glides on easily with rich, velvety color that doesn’t cake, feather, or bleed. Made with hydrating skin-care ingredients: Hyaluronic Microspheres provide extraordinary adhesion to lips, an exclusive polymer complex offers cushion-like feel and texture, and natural marine plant extracts Coenzyme Q10 and Vitamins A & E help smooth lips.

Wet N Wild Megalast Lip Color in 908C Sugar Plum Fairy and 906D Wine Room

The packaging consists of a black tube with a clear cap, and a sticker on the bottom that tells the product number.  As with most wnw products, the color name is printed on the outside packaging only and is gone as soon as the product is opened.  I have no idea why they do that, but it really bothers me.  The lipstick itself is rounded, instead of the traditional pointed lipsticks you are used to seeing.  I personally find the shape a hindrance because I have a harder time getting a precise application.  Keep in mind, though that I do not have plump lips.  Perhaps this wouldn’t be an issue for someone with larger lips than mine.  The lipstick does not screw all the way down, which shows the color nicely, but makes nicks almost impossible to avoid.  (My tubes are a mess!)  Now, onto performance.

(L) 908C Sugar Plum Fairy and (R) 906D Wine Room

The pigmentation of these lipsticks is wonderful.  They are bright and vibrant, and layer well.  Wineroom is a brownish pink, very wearable.  Sugar Plum Fairy is a bright fushia, much brighter than it looks in the tube.  They are both very pretty colors.  Unfortunately, I found the Megalast lip colors to be very drying.  They may be “made with hydrating skin care ingredients,” but that did not make them any more moisturizing.  I expect long-wear color to be drying but, really, 4 hours is not that long-wearing.  They do not glide on for me.  There is definite tugging as I apply these lipsticks.  Keeping in mind that I have dry lips to begin with, I found that I had to put a lip balm underneath to make these at all wearable.  Even so, my lips felt uncomfortable within the first 10 minutes of wear.  They also made the lines in my lips more apparent.  I couldn’t keep the color on for the full 4 hours, but if you have naturally moist lips and can forgo a balm, they may last that long.  The lip color did stand up through drinking, but not through a meal.  I’m actually really disappointed that these were so drying because the colors are so pretty.  I would very much like to wear them, but they are just not comfortable for me.  If I want to wear a creamy lipstick, I’ll stick to elf or Nyx, who both offer semi-matte crème lipsticks that are still moisturizing.  Wet N Wild Megalst Lip Color retails for $2.99 and can be found wherever Wet N Wild is sold.

908C Sugar Plum Fairy

906D Wine Room

Speed Read: Wet N Wild’s Megalast Lip Colors are highly pigmented and beautiful, but drying and hard to wear for those with dryer lips or fine lines.

Best For: Those with naturally moist lips with few lines that want semi-matte color.

Keep Walking:  If your lips are at all dry, or if you have more than just a few lines in your lips.  Also if you prefer glossy lip color.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

