E.L.F. Matte Lip Color Review and Swatches

Standard

E.L.F. Matte Lip Color

I’ve heard a lot of really good things about e.l.f.’s Matte Lip Colors and wanted to share my opinion.  As soon as In saw them, I knew I had to try them.  I was hoping that they might be an even cheaper alternative to NYX Jumbo lip pencils, so I purchased two out of the four colors offered in Coral and Praline.  According to e.l.f.’s website: “This convenient jumbo sized lip pencil creates exact color application with twist up ease so you never have to sharpen. The pigment rich color glides on effortlessly and easily to provide long lasting matte color. The enriched Vitamin A, C & E formula moisturizes and hydrates lips for beautiful healthy looking lips.”  I’ve had these for a few months now, and think that I’ve given them a fair chance.  In all honesty, I hate them.  I think elf really missed on this one, and I’ll tell you why.

Coral (left) and Praline (right)

Before we talk about anything else, let’s talk about colors.  First of all, as stated, there are only four color choices for these matte lip colors, Coral, Natural, Tea Rose, and Praline.  All four colors are similar, and even if you love this products, you probably don’t need all four.  I would have liked a broader color selection to choose from, although I think that the issue is a failing of elf in general.  I love many of their lip products, but I do find that many of their colors are similar, making the color range somewhat limited, even in their larger lines.  Also, a notorious problem of elf is that the color indicators online are not true to life at all.  I strongly recommend searching online for swatches before buying makeup over the internet, but I bought these when they were brand new, so there weren’t a lot of swatches out there.  Coral is a horrible color for me (as you will see) and I never would have gotten it if I had known what color it really was.  In my swatch photo, I laid the color on pretty thick and the colors came closer to the online indicator, but I would never apply them that thick to my lips.  Praline is a much better color for me, but nothing that I don’t already own.  All four colors are pretty generic and it’s possible that you already have many versions of them in your lipstick collection.

E.L.F. Matte Lip Color in Coral and Praline

Now onto the products itself.  I like the size of the tip and the ease of application.  Elf is correct, the lip pencil gives a precise application and with a twist up top, never needs sharpening.  The Matte Lip Colors apply smoothly, although I found Praline to be a bit patchy.  Unfortunately, as soon as I apply the color it settles into any line it can find.  Coral is worse than Praline, but they both look horrible on.  I discovered lines that I didn’t know I had thanks to these lip colors.  Even in my swatch photo, you can see the color sink into the lines in my hand, creating the look of craters.  I find Coral absolutely unwearable.  Oddly, even though the colors looked shrink wrapped to my lips, they aren’t immediately drying.  I always use a lip primer or lip balm because of my dry lips, so that helps, but it took a good fifteen to twenty minutes before they started to feel dry, even though they looked horribly dry.  I can’t speak to the wear time of elf’s Matte Lip Color, because I just couldn’t keep them on that long.  I refused to go out with my lips looking like this.

e.l.f. Matte Lip Color in Coral (L) and Praline (R)

All in all, I give elf’s Matte Lip Color two thumbs down.  I have heard a lot of people who really like this products, so go ahead and give it a try for yourself if you are a fan of matte or semi-matte jumbo pencils.  Perhaps it is just my lips that don’t do well with these, but they did not work for me at all.  As part of the Studio line, they retail for $3.00 and can be found at eyeslipsface.com and at some Target stores.  I do want to say, though that I really like elf’s lip products in general.  I have many of their lipsticks and glosses and really like them, so don’t judge all of elf’s lip products on this one item.  If you have any of elf’s Matte Lip Colors, I’d love to hear what your opinion is on them in the comments below.

Speed Read: E.l.f.’s Matte Lip Colors are twistable jumbo pencils that come in a limited color range and, though not overly drying, settle into fine lines like crazy.

Best for: Those with really smooth lips, who like matte or semi-matte lip pencils in light, neutral colors.

Keep walking: If you have any lines on your lips AT ALL, or if you don’t like matte lips.  Also, if you have a decent lip color collection, you probably already have these colors.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

