Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly Review

Standard

Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly

When I saw Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly I was super excited to try it.  Many, many moons ago I was introduced to Royal Jelly through Jafra Cosmetics (does anyone even remember Jafra?) and fell in love.  They had body creams, and milk balms, and face creams containing royal jelly and they were fabulous.  I was not in a financial place where I could drop $60-$80 on a skin care product, though, so I couldn’t make them my go-to products.  I never forgot how wonderful they were, however.  Which brings me to Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly.  I was gleeful over the thought of a royal jelly product that wouldn’t bankrupt me.  Unfortunately, I was severely disappointed.  I didn’t expect Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream to stand up to my memories of products three or four times the cost, but even taking into account the reduced price, the Radiance Day Cream was a complete let down.

Let me break down the product for you.  According to the website, Burt’s Bees claims that “Infused with Royal Jelly, one of nature’s most powerful nutrients, this day creme moisturizes, helps enhance your skin’s radiance and minimizes the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Resulting in naturally radiant, younger-looking skin.”  Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream comes in a simple, clear 2 oz jar, with a small stick-on label.  It’s definitely “no-frills” packaging, but that works the all natural, down home vibe of the company.  The directions are on the bottom of the jar, but the ingredient list is not.  The ingredients are available online at Burt’s Bees website.  The cream itself is lightweight, and absorbs quickly into the skin.  I don’t have much good to say about this product.

The first major problem that I have with the cream is the fragrance.  Good lordy, is this stuff strong!  I think the cream smells wonderful, but the scent is way too strong to go on my face.  It instantly makes my eyes water and it makes me sneeze.  It smells kind of herbal and lemon-like, sort of like lemongrass tea.  Like I said, I like the scent, but it certainly isn’t for everyone.  Heavy fragrance is irritating to the skin and facial moisturizers really should be fragrance-free, or at least fragrance-light.

I found Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream to go on slick, but then disappears.  What I mean is, when you apply the cream, there is a good amount of slip that some may call oily, but it absorbs into the skin rather quickly and does not leave an oily residue.  Quite the opposite, in fact.  Despite its’ initial slickness, I find that the cream isn’t hydrating enough.  (Dry skin, so grain of salt.)  Soon after I applied Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream, I felt that I needed more moisture and had to re-apply.  Despite glopping it on, once it dried down I really didn’t feel like it ever gave my skin enough hydration.

What the cream lacks in hydration, it makes up for in irritants.  Remember that fragrance I was talking about? Some of the plant extracts in this product are added mostly for fragrance, because they serve no real purpose and are actually irritating to the skin.  My face felt itchy and warm when this was on and it increased my redness.  I strongly doubt Burt’s Bees claim that it minimizes lines and wrinkles, unless that is a result of swelling.  I would advise anyone with sensitive skin to stay far away from this product, as well as those with dry skin.  I can’t say how this cream will react with oily skin, but the original slickness might be an issue and cause breakouts.  There is also no SPF in this product, so you will have to use a separate sunscreen, which may be a deterrent.

Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly retails for $18, but I believe that I got my jar on sale at Target for $14.  It’s a bit pricey for drugstore, but that is mainly because of the Royal jelly, which usually jacks up the price.  It should be noted that this is the “new” formula.  I’m not sure when Burt’s Bees changed the formula, but it’s been a while as far as I can tell.  The “old” formula is supposed to have been much better.  Bottom line: Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly is a total bust.

Speed Read: Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream with Royal Jelly is irritating to the skin and not moisturizing; not worth it’s $18 price tag at all.

Best for: People obsessed with Burt’s Bees, who don’t mind a crappy product.

Keep walking: Honestly, just keep walking.  Don’t try this product.  Really.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Burts bees gave me an awful rash all over my face! (there was little bumps and red blotches even on my eyelids!) very dissapointed. I believe it was due to the parfum fragrance which I noticed in the ingredient list later. I bought it thinking it would be great but as soon as i started using it the smell was overpowering and i knew my skin would not react well to it. well no more burts bees products for me 😦 I wish i read this review before i bought it!

Leave a Reply

