Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters Review and Swatches

Standard

Little did I know when I posted here about spotting the new Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters at Rite-Aid, that they would cause such a stir.  Ever since that post I’ve been getting a record number of hits here at BiBB.  So let me just go ahead and say it… They are TOTALLY worth the hype.  I really like these lip butters.  They are silky smoothe, and super moisturizing.  Let me break them down for you.

First of all, the packaging is very similar to the regular Colorburst lipsticks in that they have the same quilted pattern on the lid.  The main difference is that the lid is not black, but instead it’s a translucent frosty cap that coincides with the color of each lip butter.  To be honest, I think that makes them look cheaper.  The black quilted caps are much classier, but packaging isn’t that big of a deal for me so I don’t really mind.  There is a clear window at the tip to look in and see the actual color of the lip butter, which is fantastic.  I hate having to guess at the color before I buy.  The product twists all the way down, so there is no threat of nicks (another big plus for me).

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters in "Pink Truffle" and "Peach Parfait"

The formula of the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters is amazing.  You might as well be wearing lip balm.  You know me, and how I’m always saying I have super dry lips, so for me to say that these are as moisturizing as lip balms really means something. The ingredients list contains shea butter, mango butter, coconut oil, and jojoba seed oil.  There was no noticeable smell or taste to them.  They are the most comfortable lip products I’ve worn, and they have pretty good pigmentation.  I kept them on for hours, and my lips never felt like they were drying out.  The color lasts about 3 hours on me, which is average.

The two colors that I purchased, “Pink Truffle” and “Peach Parfait,” are not super bold colors, but I’m pleased with the pigmentation.  They both fall into the “my lips but better” category for me.

“Pink Truffle” is a soft pinky-brown color.  These pictures make it look pretty dark in the tube, but in real life it looks lighter than that.

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in "Pink Truffle"

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in "Pink Truffle"

I had to get “Peach Parfait” as soon as I saw all of the shimmer.  It’s a medium pink with gold shimmer that, thankfully, doesn’t feel gritty at all.

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in "Peach Parfait"

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in "Peach Parfait"

Even though these colors are light, I have seen some other swatches and have been impressed with the pigmentation of the darker, bolder options.  I can’t say enough good things about Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, and am seriously tempted to rush out and buy one in every color.  (Of course, if my bank account didn’t stop me, my husband certainly would.)  Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters retail for $7.49 each, and at this time can be found at select Rite-Aids.

To make sure that you are aware of more posts like this one, be sure to subscribe by hitting the “Sign Me Up” button in the right hand menu bar.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: Big Deals and Steals Going on Now! « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: *New* Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter Swatches « Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: 2011 Favorites: Lips, Nails, and More « Beauty in Budget Blog

  4. I had stopped wearing lipstick because it ws so drying until I discovered lipbutter. I already have four; candy apple, raspberry, plum sugar and red velvet. Love them!!!!!!!!!

  5. Pingback: New Shades from Revlon and Maybelline, and a L’Oreal Teaser « Beauty in Budget Blog

  6. Pingback: Monthly Favorites: September 2012 « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

