October 2011Favorites

Standard

Can you believe another month has come and gone?  All of a sudden it’s November.  That means it’s time again for another monthly favorites post.  A couple of these items should come as no surprise, if you’ve been reading along this month, but hopefully the others are new to you.  So let’s get started.  If you are interested in last month’s favorites, click here.

Hard Candy Glamoflauge Concealer

Hard Candy Glamoflauge Concealer has been a life saver this month.  A combination of allergic reactions and hormones gave me some skin issues that needed serious coverage, and this concealer is definitely serious coverage.  It has a thick and creamy consistency that is best applied with a flat concealer brush and set with powder.  I would never recommend that you use Glamoflauge under the eye because it’s too thick, but for trouble spots it’s awesome.  A little goes a very long way, and this tube is going to last me forever.  Hard Candy Glamoflauge Concealer comes in three shades, Light, Medium, and Tan.  I have it in Medium, and it matches my light-medium skin really well.  Hard Candy is sold exclusively at Walmart, and Glamoflauge retails for $6.00.

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse is the foundation that I have been reaching for over and over again this month.  It’s a great formula for my dry skin and doesn’t flake up on me at all.  It is a medium coverage foundation and has a very natural finish.  There is the tiniest bit of scent when the foundation is first out of the bottle, but it’s hardly noticeable unless you are specifically looking for it and dissipates quickly.  I find that I get an almost air brushed finish when I apply Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse with my favorite foundation brush (which is actually the e.l.f. flat top powder brush).  I stipple it on and then blend it out with the brush and it looks gorgeous.  There are only two flaws that I can find with Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse foundation.  The most glaring issue that I have with it is that it doesn’t have a cap.  I love that it has a pump, but I would really prefer it if it had a cap to go over the pump.  I haven’t had any issues with mess after months of use, but I am still paranoid that I’m going to find foundation spilled out everywhere.  The other issue is that the color that I have, Nude Light 4, can have a slightly orange cast.  It still manages to look fantastic on my skin, but I may try a different shade next time.  I will definitely be repurchasing when I run out.

e.l.f. Studio Pressed Powder

I have been really impressed with my e.l.f. Studio Pressed Powder.  I’ve been using Loreal True Match for my pressed powder for years, but I wanted to try to find something that cost less because Loreal is kind of pricey for drugstore.  I didn’t expect much from e.l.f., but I figured that for $3.00 what could it hurt to try.  I really need to stop underestimating e.l.f. just because it’s cheap.  I was shocked by how good the powder actually is.  I am not a huge fan of translucent powders, and like a powder to have some coverage of it’s own.  This ceratinly fits that bill.  E.l.f. designed the studio pressed powder to be used wet or dry for more coverage and I have seen reviews that this makes a great powder foundation.  Despite it’s great coverage, e.l.f. Studio Pressed Powder doesn’t come on too strong and is a great setting powder on top of foundation for a natural look.  I find it best to press the powder on with the sponge it comes with and then lightly buff with a kabuki, or a large blush brush.  This is one of the e.l.f. products available at Target, and of course it’s available at e.l.f.’s website.

e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeliner in Metallic Olive

Another e.l.f. product that I’ve been loving is the Studio Cream Eyeliner in Metallic Olive.  Usually I’m a pencil liner girl, but this eyeliner is fantastic.  It is so creamy and smooth!  The swatch above is one smooth swipe with the brush it comes with.  It couldn’t be easier to apply, even for someone who isn’t used to applying eyeliner with a brush.  There is no dragging or pulling, just a smooth solid line.  E.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeliner is smudgeable when first applied, but once set, won’t budge.  I really like Metallic Olive for fall.  I’m wearing a lot of browns and greens on my eyes, so this is a great color to go with that.  Again, despite the low $3.00 price tag, e.l.f has put out a really great product.

Rose D'Oro and Red Velvet

I’m going to mention these next two products together because I have covered them here already.  I’m loving the Milani Baked Blush in Rose D’Oro which you can read about here, and the Revlon Colorbust Lip Butter in red velvet, covered here.  They are fabulous, fantastic, wonderful.  Buy them now.  Do it.  Really.

Coastal Scents Fall Festival Palette

My last favorite is my Coastal Scents Fall Festival Palette.  This eyeshadow palette has some fantastic shades for a ton of fall looks.  I especially love the coppery orange shade in the middle row.  According to Coastal Scents, “Transition into autumn with our Fall Festival Palette, including twelve season appropriate metallic, matte, and shimmery shadows for a variety of looks. The shadows can be applied dry or wet for a longer lasting effect with any eye shadow brush in your collection. All twelve eye shadow pots are held magnetically into our matte black palette imprinted with the Coastal Scents logo and palette name. These shadows can also be purchased separately as individual Hot Pots.”  The Hot Pots seem to be the same size as MAC shadows.  Coastal Scents shadows are soft, highly pigmented, and really well priced.  Because they are so soft, there is a certain amount of fallout, but it’s worth it.  Primer always helps the fallout issue.  They blend really well together and, over primer, will last all day.  The palette has a full sized mirror, which is awesome, and retails for $21.95.  The Fall Festival Palette can be found here.

I hope that you enjoyed this month’s favorites, and that you saw some products that you want to try for yourself.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

  1. I have the Dream liquid mousse, and I like it okay, but I think I might have a shade too dark, so I don’t reach for it often. What I did find is that it faded throughout the day. It barely takes me through a whole day at school. I have classes from 9am to 5pm. I do like the look I get when I first apply it though.

    I’ve been dying to try the hardcandy concealer but walmart’s always out of the two lighter shades when I go. One of these days I’ll get my hands on it!

    • I haven’t had that problem of fading, but I’m a housewife, so my makeup doesn’t usually have to last 10+ hours in a day. As far as the Hard candy concealer, have you tried buying it at Walmart.com? I haven’t checked in awhile, but I know it used to be available online. You may want to check it out there if you continue to have trouble finding it in-store.

  2. Pingback: 2011 Favorites: Face « Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: 2011 Favorites: All About Eyes « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

