Jesse’s Girl Stiletto VS Sinful Colors Nirvana

Standard

Jesse's Girl Stiletto

I finally got around to picking up Jesse’s Girl “Stiletto” from the Julie G collection.  This is the first Jesse’s Girl polish that I’ve ever tried.  I’ve been really drawn to taupe-y polishes lately, so I’ve been eying Stiletto for a while.  I also wanted to see how it would hold up to Sinful Colors “Nirvana,” which, though darker, is in the same color family and my current favorite taupe.

I really love the grayish-taupe color of Stiletto.  It has a subtle silver shimmer that is just barely noticeable on the nail.  However, I was not impressed with the way it applied.  I’m a two-coat girl, so I usually apply medium thick coats of polish.  I found that Stiletto applied really unevenly and kind of streaky.  Even the husband noticed that something was  “not right” with the application.  I ended up having to top my nails with Seche Vite (which will smooth out anything) in order to make it look nice.  I could have applied thin coats, but Stiletto is a bit sheer.  If you apply it thinly, you will have to apply three coats to get the opacity.  I do not know if this is unique to Stiletto, or if all Jesse’s Girl polishes are the same way.  I’ll be hesitant to purchase another one with so many better options at the same price point.

For me, there is no contest between Nirvana and Stiletto.  Not only does Sinful Colors have a better application than Jesse’s Girl, but I like the darker color that Nirvana provides.  For an added plus, Nirvana is two dollars cheaper than Stiletto.  Nirvana is the clear winner, and still my favorite taupe.  However, if Nirvana is too dark for you, you may want to consider Stiletto.  It is a very pretty taupe, and completely office appropriate.  It’s a sophisticated hue that will work well with a wide range of skin tones.  If you don’t mind doing three coats, Stiletto can be a great fall shade.  Stiletto is available at Rite-Aid, and retails for $3.99.  What do you think?  Will you be hauling?  Do any of you have a Jesse’s Girl polish?  Let me know in the comments how it applies.  I’ve been really impressed with Jesse’s Girl up until now.  Maybe I just got a dud.

Speed Read: Jesse’s Girl “Stiletto” is a very pretty silvery taupe, but the application is finicky.  It’s best to use three thin coats to avoid streaks and uneven application.

Best for: Those searching for a light, modest taupe and don’t mind having to apply three careful coats.

Keep walking: If you can’t be bothered with finicky nail polish.  Try Sinful Colors instead.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

