Sally Hansen Salon Effects Holiday 2011

Standard

Plaid About You and Peppermint Twist

My awesome sister gifted me with two of the Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips from the Holiday Collection.  I know I’ve posted  about these before, but Those were cell phone shots, so I wanted to give you a closer look.  These are Plaid About You and Peppermint Twist.

For those of you who haven’t tried Salon Effects yet, here is a run down of how they work.  In the box, you get 2 packages of 8 polish strips, one nail file, one orange stick, and a complete set of directions.  READ THE DIRECTIONS.  Seriously, it makes a difference.  The basic premise is that, after prepping your nails, you line up the nail strips on your nail to check the size, peel away the wrapping, and press the strips down to adhere to the nail.  Then you file away any excess, and abracadabra, instant manicure.  I always top them with a top coat, though you don’t have to.  I can easily get 7 days of wear out of them, and sometimes 10, though if I keep them on that long I end up with issues from grow out.  And I get bored.  😉  The Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips cost around $10 each, which is pretty steep.  I recommend if you have shorter nails to cut each strip in half in order to get 2 manicures out of each box.  That reduces the cost to $5 per mani, and that is more reasonable.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I think the price is reasonable compared to going to the salon and getting the exact thing done. I bought a few, but I found out that after about three weeks, the leftover strips will dry out. It actually saids that on the directions (Must of missed that when I first used them) I found out they dry out because I went to use my strips that I cut in half and they wouldn’t stick. But I do love the designs! I use them for special occasions.

  2. Pingback: 2011 Favorites: Lips, Nails, and More « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

