Happy Thanksgiving, and Black Friday Survival Tips

Standard

I’m going to be pretty scarce for the Holiday, so I wanted to say now that I hope you all have a happy Thanksgiving.  My mouth has been watering and I’ve been craving turkey and stuffing all week!  I don’t know about you, but for me, I find that it’s all too easy to get caught up in the negatives and focus on the things that I don’t have or wish were different.  I often have to stop and remind myself how many wonderful things I have in my life.  I hope that this holiday weekend, no matter what your situation, you can stop the negative thoughts from creeping in and really appreciate the good parts of your life.

Also, I wanted to give you a few reminders/tips about staying on budget and avoiding impulse buys during your Black Friday shopping.

  • Go with a plan– Many stores have sneak peeks at what will be on sale this weekend already up on their web sites.  Take a look, see who has the best prices, and plan on what sale items fit into your budget.  It’s too easy to impulse buy with fantastically low rates, but no one wants an overdraft fee right before Christmas, so have a game plan in mind.  Also, since you probably don’t want to be out battling the crowds any longer than you have to, decide the order of stores you want to hit and what items you want to purchase there ahead of time to cut down on wandering, streamline the process and get back home as soon as possible to enjoy those Turkey-day leftovers.
  • If it seems too good to be true, it probably is– Yes, there are going to be amazing sales going on this weekend, but some of those items are cheap for a reason.  Many brands put out items that are made using cheaper materials, or with less features specifically to be sold as a holiday special.  The reason the item is so inexpensive is because it’s lower quality.  Be aware of what you are really buying when you see a too good to be true price.  You won’t always be getting a lemon, but keep your eyes open and read the fine print.
  • Bring water and snacks– This may sound kind of dumb, but when you are hungry, tired, and thirsty you will be more likely to make bad decisions.  Both your brain and your body need fuel, so keep hydrated and eat healthy snacks like fruits and veggies to keep you mind on your spending and not on your dry throat or grumbly tummy.  You will also find yourself less tired and much less irritable, despite dealing with one of the most annoying shopping days of the year.
  • You don’t have to buy just because there is a sale– Remember, this is not the only holiday weekend of the year, and there will be a pre-Christmas sale in a few weeks.  You don’t have to get everything on one day, just because of Black Friday mania.  Ignore the lesser sales that you can find throughout the year, and concentrate on the really big sales.  10% off might be nice on a random weekend, but it’s a pittance as a holiday sale.  BOGO 50% off isn’t that great either and happens often.  Think about what sales you have seen over the last few months and only take advantage of the holiday deals that blow those sales out of the water.  That way you will still get great prices, but have a better chance of staying on budget by not getting whipped up in the frenzy.

Hope that helps.  Be smart, stay safe, and have a wonderful holiday weekend.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

