E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancer Review and Swatches

Standard

E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancer

E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers are cream highlighters in a clicky pen that provide subtle shimmer and a healthy glow.  Per        e.l.f. “This multi-use highlighter instantly transforms and enhances features with its glowing veil of warmth and luminosity. When used or layered for optimum effect, it reduces the appearance of dullness, dark circles and minimized discoloration. The lightweight, velvety formula provides a fresh and silky finish for a healthy and natural looking lit-from-within glow.”  These came out a few month ago, along with several other new Studio line items in (what seems to me to be) a real effort on e.l.f.’s part to step up their game and compete with major brands.  So, how did they do?  Keep reading.

E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancer

Let’s start with packaging.  E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers come in a standard twist pen like their Hypershine lip glosses or Stila Lip Glazes.  I believe that I’ve already mentioned how much I hate this type of dispensing method.  I really wish that it wasn’t catching on in product after product because I really hate it.  E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers are no exception.  Actually, they are one of the worst examples of this style of packaging that I’ve ever used.  The main issue with click pen tips is that it’s very difficult to dispense the proper amount.  You have to twist the pen 1,000 times to get it started and then after that it’s way too easy to over click and waste product.  That is especially true with these.  I have found that the product moves slowly through the pen, so it looks like you have to twist a couple times to get the product out.  However, if you do twist a couple times, the product will keep oozing out, even after you think it’s done and have replaced the cap.  It can be a real mess.  When using this product, it’s best to apply it to the back of your hand, and then dab it on desired areas to highlight.  I really hate this poorly designed packaging, which is a shame because I really like the actual Radiance Enhancer itself.

E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancer in Sunrise (top) and Golden (bottom)

Aside from the lame packaging, e.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers are really good products.  Available in three shades, Spotlight, Sunrise, and Golden, the thin creamy liquid is easily blendable and not at all sticky.  Once blended, it sets to a silky matte finish, but you’ll still see the luminous shimmer beneath.  There are no chunks of glitter or shimmer, but instead it leaves a pearlescent glow.  These are especially good for the winter when skin tends to appear dull and lifeless.  A little glow goes a long way.  I wouldn’t use them under the eyes myself, but they are great for the inner corner, cheekbones, Cupid’s bow, etc.  E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers apply equally well over makeup as they do over bare skin.  The picture below is not the best (I’m still working on lighting), and I couldn’t capture the true effect of the Radiance Enhancers on camera.  Here is an idea of what they look like blended out, but you really have to see them in person because you can’t see the glow very well here.

E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancer in Sunrise (top) and Golden (bottom)

  • Sunrise is a warm golden rose.  It is much darker in real life than the swatch of e.l.f.’s website.
  • Golden is a beautiful molten gold, which may be too warm for fair skin, but would look amazing on darker skin tones.
  • Spotlight (not pictured) is a very pale cool pink.  It’s supposedly a dupe for Benefit’s Highbeam, but I can’t say because I have neither Spotlight nor Highbeam.

If you can handle poorly conceived packaging, I highly recommend E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers.  They are a great way to brighten the face, without looking like a disco ball.  They are available on eyeslipsface.com for $3.00, and are totally worth it.  I do not know if Target carries them.

Speed Read: E.l.f. Studio Radiance Enhancers are cream highlighters in a clicky pen that provide subtle shimmer and a healthy glow.  Great product, horrible packaging.

Best for:  Those interested in trying cream highlighters for the first time, those wanting a subtle highlight with no obvious glitter or shimmer, and those who don’t mind messy dispensers.

Keep walking: If you have no patience for messy applicators and poor packaging, or if cream highlights aren’t your thing.

Remember to enter my Christmas Giveaway.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. How would you put these on? Like with your finger over your eyelids? With The messy way they come out they look impossible to put on with the brush provided. Right? I like all things that sparkle. 🙂

    • You are supposed to be able to use the brush to apply directly to the skin, but I think it’s too messy that way. I prefer to brush some on to the back of my hand, then use my fingers to dab the products on the tops of my cheekbones, under the brow bone, (or wherever you want highlight) and then blend with my fingers. I find that a lot of cream products go on better when applied and blended with the fingers. Hope that helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

