Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit Review Part 1

Standard

Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit

This is Part 1 of my review of the “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit.  This post will showcase the items that come in the kit with close ups of the plates and a general description of what this stamping kit is all about.  In Part 2, I will show you how the kit worked for me my first time trying to stamp my nails, and some extra tips and tricks for nail stamping.

If you read my Christmas Haul post, you saw that I received the “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit.  I’ve been wanting to try nail stamping for months now, but the Konad system is way too pricey.  I’ve also looked at the Bundle Monster stamping plates as a cheaper alternative, but I wasn’t sure if I’d like stamping enough to warrant getting the whole bundle. Then I saw the “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping kit available in drugstores and figured that it was a great way (despite the unrealistic and truly horrible pictures on the packaging) to get my feet wet, so to speak, in nail stamping without the big investment.

Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit

The Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit contains:

  • 1 Stamper
  • 1 Scraper
  • 1Plate Holder
  • 5 Design Plates
  • 1 Instruction Guide

If you are unfamiliar with nail stamping, the general idea is that you add polish to the engraved design plate, scrape off the excess, pick up the image with the stamper, and stamp your nail with it.  The Instruction Guide matches the set of instructions printed on the back packaging exactly, so don’t feel the need to keep the packaging.

Salon Express Nail Art Stamper

Here is a close up of the stamper.  As you can see, it is dual ended with a small side for smaller designs and a large side for larger designs and full nail stamps.

Salon Express Nail Art Design Plates

When you first open the plates, they will have a blue protective covering on the front and back sides.  YOU MUST REMOVE THIS COATING TO USE THE PLATE.  I would assume that this would be self-evident, but in the months that I’ve been researching nail stamping this issue seems to come up over and over again, so I guess not.  Actually, I only removed the front coating where the designs are and left the back coating on to protect the plates from getting scratched while stacked on top of each other.

Salon Express Nail Art Design Plate Holder

Here is what the design plate looks like in the holder.

Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit Design plates

These are the 5 plates that came with my kit.  I got plates SE18-SE22, which match the plates pictured on the packaging.  I have seen in reviews, however, that different plates come in the kits purchased in different stores.  The packaging is the same, but the plates don’t match.  I don’t know why this is, or which stores have what plates, so be aware that the plates you get may not match the ones pictured.  Click on the images below for a closer look.

Plate SE18

Plate SE19

Plate SE20

Plate SE21

Plate SE22

That’s all I have for you today.  The “As Seen On TV” Salon Express Nail Art Stamping Kit is available at Rite-Aid, CVS, and Sally’s Beauty Supply.  It retails for $9.99.  Be sure to tune in tomorrow for Part 2, where I put these babies to the test.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

    • I just got mine today and let me tell you satisfaction guarantee my a** I am spending the weekend with my mother and we were gonna use this as a bonding time and we tried for over a half n hour to get it to work n nothing I plan on getting my money back in the morning! I would not recommend this product to anybody highly recommend to NOT PURCHASE THIS ITEM

  1. Pingback: Fing’rs Flirt Nail Art Stamping Kit Review « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Turtles! with BPS Green Stamping Polish | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

