Review: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes

Standard

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes are probably the most curious product released in the huge batch of new products available in drugstores for 2012.  I am certain Maybelline will gain several purchases based on the name alone.  I mean, what the heck is a “bouncy” blush?  The name makes me picture these feisty little blushes jumping and jiving in my makeup drawer like Mexican jumping beans.  They’re having a dance party and won’t be restrained with the other blushes, and suddenly the anthropomorphizing is way out of control.  In other words, I found the Dream Bouncy Blushes completely irresistible and had to purchase a couple.

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes in Plum Wine (L) and Hot Tamale (R)

The texture of the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes is completely unique.  They are sort of squishy, and can be reformed if compressed too far.  They sort of remind me of silly putty, to be honest.  Bouncy Blushes go on like cream blushes, but they dry to a lightweight powder finish.  But, calling them cream blushes isn’t really accurate.  Though they have a very silky texture, I wouldn’t really call them cream.  They are more like mousse blushes or clay blushes.  They are similar to the e.l.f. Studio Cream Blushes (click to see my review), though the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes are firmer than the e.l.f. Studio Cream Blushes and apply more evenly.  Once applied, they are lighter than air, and not at all tacky or sticky.  They are also not in any way drying.  You really can’t feel them at all while they are on.

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes come in 10 shades, ranging from soft pink to dark plum, including a red and a bronze shade.  Because I seem to think my skin is darker than it really is, I tend to choose darker blushes, so I chose #50 Plum Wine and #70 Hot Tamale.  Plum Wine, as it’s name suggests, is a rich plum color, while Hot Tamale is a bright pinky red.

Plum Wine (Click to enlarge)

Hot Tamale (Click to enlarge)

I’m actually really glad that I happened to pick these shades.  The main complaint that I’ve heard about these blushes is that they are very sheer, and the lighter colors don’t show up very well on the skin.  If you decide to try Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes, I recommend that you choose a darker shade than you normally would.  Maybelline admits that they were aiming for a sheer wash of color, and they weren’t kidding.  Even these two darkest shades require a good amount of product to really make the color show.  I actually don’t mind this, and think these are great products for beginners or those who are just getting into wearing blush.  They can still achieve a natural flush, even if they are a bit heavy-handed with these bouncy blushes.  Click on the photos below for larger swatches.

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes in Plum Wine (L) and Hot Tamale (R) NO FLASH

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes in Plum Wine (L) and Hot Tamale (R) FLASH

I personally apply the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes with my fingers.  You can use a stippling brush, but you are going to have to really work to get color pay-off.  For the most intense color, press or “bounce” the product on your cheek where you want color and then blend out.  I realize this sounds ridiculous, so you may want to just stick with your fingers.  The color is not going to last you all day, however the compact is small and good for travel, and application is easy so there is no reason not to bring them with you and re-apply when needed.  Wear-time will vary on skin type and whether or not you top with a powder blush.  I’d venture 4-6 hours.

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes have been getting mixed reviews, and they mainly seemed based on color selection.  People who chose the darker, more pigmented shades seem to like the product more than those who chose lighter shades.  Personally, I am really pleased with the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes.  I am very happy with the shades that I got.  I may even try to snag one more shade, if I find it on sale.  Speaking of sale, Maybelline is BOGO50% off at several locations uncluding Ulta, walgreens.com, and more.  Be sure to check out weekly ads before you go shopping so you don’t miss out. Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes retail for $7.99, regular price, and are available everywhere Maybelline is sold.

Speed Read: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes are a funky, spongy textured cream to powder blush with short to moderate wear-time.  They feel good on the skin and provide a lovely natural flush.  The shades are super sheer, so avoid the lighter ones.

Best for: Those who are a bit heavy handed and who don’t mind re-applying their blush.

Keep Walking: If you don’t want to deal with a finicky blush that may take some work during application, or if you need a long-wearing blush.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

