2011 Favorites: The Final Chapter

Standard

This is the fourth and final chapter in my 2011 Favorites series.  This post will cover skincare as well as body and hair care.  For the final time, when I say “favorites of 2011,” it doesn’t necessarily mean that the product came out in 2011, but that it has been a favorite of mine this last year.  I chose one favorite and one honorable mention in each category.  My favorites are all drugstore items (and Bath & Body Works) but my honorable mentions may include high-end items.  I also limited my selection to items that I had time to enjoy during the year, so anything I got in November or December is not going to be included.  Just because a product isn’t listed, doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it.  These products are the ones that really stood out to me this last year.  I’ve reviewed many of these products, so be sure to click the provided links for more info.  I forgot to include the prices this time, but all of my “favorite” choices are budget friendly.

Skincare  I covered most of these products in my Skincare Routine post, so check that out for more details.

Makeup Remover:

Favorite- Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes  I prefer the Neutrogena wipes to take off my makeup because they remove all of it without stripping my skin.  The Neutrogena formula feels slightly oily (not the bad kind), as if I were removing my makeup the old fashioned way with night cream.  Because I follow this step with cleanser, I don’t fear the oils.  My skin certainly appreciates the more moisturizing Neutrogena wipes over other brands.  They don’t irritate mt eyes at all, and mascara and eyeliner are no match.

Honorable mention- Ponds Clean Sweep, Original Clean Wet Cleansing Towelettes  I used these for the first half of the year and they worked well, but I prefer more hydration.  Those with oily skin may prefer these to the Neutrogena version.

Cleanser:

Favorite- Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Cleansing Pads  The pad is smooth on one side to lift away dirt, oil and makeup, and textured on the other side to gently exfoliate and smooth away dry patches. The textured side is perfect to mildly exfoliate without causing the micro-tears on my skin that harsh abrasive scrubs cause. My skin feels fresh and clean, without stinging or turning red.  Read my full review here.

Honorable mention- Olay Regenerist Advanced Anti-Aging Regenerating Cream Cleanser  This cleanser has teeny tiny micro beads, so there is a little bit of exfoliation, but not too much.  It’s super gentle and does not strip my skin of moisture while still giving me a clean feeling.

Treatment:

Favorite- Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment  I use this as a BHA treatment. Those with dry skin, don’t be scared off by the name of this product.  The Neutrogena Treatment contains 2% salicylic acid, and is a good BHA lotion for all skin types.  It has actually helped a lot with my Rosacea redness and definitely has moisturizing ingredients, leaving a decent level of hydration.

Honorable mentionClark’s Botanicals Intense Radiance Mask  I received a sample of this white clay mask in my October Birch Box.  It smelled fantastic, left my skin feeling great, and the sample was large enough for three masks.  It really left quite an impression and is the best product that I’ve put on my skin all year.  Too bad about it’s $72 price tag.

Moisturizer:

Favorite- Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum  Since I’ve been using the Eye Lifting Serum I have not had any problems with dry patches on my lids and the fine lines around my eyes are much less noticeable, so this is a Holy Grail product for me now.  I will absolutely repurchase again and again.

Honorable mentionOlay Regenerist Regenerating Serum (Fragrance Free) I use this silicone-based serum to lock in moisture and help heal my skin discoloration.  It has softened my fine lines and helped a lot with redness.

Body

Bath/Shower Gel:

Favorite- Bath & Body Works Shower Gel  I am totally loyal to B&BW and almost exclusively use these shower gels.  I have several favorite scents and love the formula.  I will probably always use Bath & Body Works Shower Gel to get clean and yummy-smelling.

Honorable mention- Philosophy Shampoo, Shower Gel & Bubble Bath in “Vanilla Birthday Cake”  I received this multi-tasking product in July as my free birthday gift from Sephora.  I really like how creamy and moisturizing the formula is.  Though I’m not a fan of sugary scents most of the time, I’ve been loving the scent this winter.  One tip though, don’t try to use it as a shampoo.  Philosophy lies, ‘nough said.

Moisturizer:

Favorite- Boots Extracts Body Butter  I am really loving Boots Extracts Body Butter, in Brazil Nut especially, and featured it in my November favorites.  I am a huge body butter lover, and for me, the thicker the better.  Boots brand is really thick and creamy, and leaves my skin feeling amazingly soft.  I’ve also smelled the mango and shea butter scents and they all smell divine.

Honorable mentionJergens Ultra Healing Lotion  Call me old fashioned, but I have been a regular user of plain old Jergens Lotion for years.  It will always be my go-to lotion to fall back on.

Body Care item:

Favorite- Spongeables Pedi-Scrub  “A unique blend of glycerin, olive oil, shea butter, tea tree extract with lavender aromatherapy infused into a double sided sponge to exfoliate, smooth and relax your tired feet.”  They smell amazing, and feel really great.  These really keep my feet in order and ready for sandal season.

Honorable mentionAquaphor Healing Ointment  This is a godsend.  I won’t go into details, but I have a skin condition on my elbows.  Aquaphor really helps to keep the symptoms at bay.  I’ve used it while sick to avoid a chapped nose, on minor cuts and scratches; you can even use it on chapped lips.  It’s excellent.

Hair  Disclaimer: I am truly crap when it comes to hair.  I don’t really do anything to my hair, so I don’t have styling favorites.

Shampoo:

FavoriteOrganix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo  I wanted to try a sulfate-free shampoo.  Organix is free of sulfates and parabens, and is safe for color-treated hair.  Organix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo leaves my hair soft and shiny, but also controls oil (my hair is the only oily part of my body, go figure) and keeps my hair looking clean longer.  It smells wonderful and worked well for me, but those with dry or damaged hair may want to stay away.

Honorable mentionHerbal Essences Color Me Happy  I’ve used Herbal Essences for years and the line has always worked well for me.

Conditioner:

Favorite- Herbal Essences Color Me Happy  While I really liked the Organix shampoo, I hated the Organix conditioner.  With Moroccan rose and passion fruit nectar and an infusion of hydro-activated silkening ingredients, Herbal Essences Color Me Happy leaves my hair super soft and silky.

Honorable mentionJohn Frieda Full Repair Full Body Conditioner  I got several (like, 4) samples of this conditioner and really liked them.  I have purchased the full sized version and will be using it with my Organix shampoo.

And that c0ncludes my 2011 Favorites series.  As always, I hope that you found some of this information helpful and that you spied a few items that you’d like to try for yourself.  2011 saw a lot of advances in the beauty world, and 2012 is already looking to surpass it.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you thank you for the review. I took so much more interest in my beauty regiman when I was younger but over the years just tossed that to the side. I can’t believe how much reading your blog and taking your suggestions has made me revive that interest and feel better about myself.
    You Rock!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! That is exactly why I put so much effort into my blog, because I felt the same way. When I moved cross country away from all of my friends I really let my appearance go and just wasn’t all that interested. Watching youtube videos and reading beauty blogs has really made me excited about new products and brought the fun back into playing with makeup. I love experimenting with new color combinations and treating my face like a canvas to express myself artistically. I’m so glad that in some small way I can help you feel beautiful. 😀

Leave a Reply

