Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam VS. Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse

Standard

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse and Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

Since both of these products are new for 2012 and are very similar, I thought that I’d review them both at once and do a battle of the brands.  A few things first, though.  Before anyone says anything, I know that these foundations are not the same color.  My wonderful sister lent me her foundation so that I didn’t have to buy them both for the review.  Because of that, I wanted to reserve as much as possible.  My sister tested both of them twice, and I’ve tested them both once (without primer) so that is what this review is based on.  I wanted to make it clear before we begin that, unlike my usual reviews, I haven’t used these products multiple times, so keep that in mind.  Now we can let the battle begin.  I’ll start with Maybelline.

Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam:

In general, I prefer Maybelline foundation to Revlon, so I had very high hopes for this foundation and thought the foam idea was pretty cool.  The directions on the back of the can say:

“Before first application, practice using the dispenser by shaking the can and applying a small amount of product to a tissue. Shake can well before use and remove cap. Hold can upright and press lightly to dispense a walnut sized amount of product onto back of hand.  Take small dabs of product from hand.  Apply to face one section at a time, blending with short circular motions.”

Easy enough, right?  What they fail to mention is that if you “shake well” the foam will sort of explode everywhere when you try to dispense the foundation.  I am not kidding when I say that I had foundation spots on the walls.  My sister had the same messy issue.  So be careful not to over shake the can.  Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam looks like a flesh-colored hair mousse when dispensed.  It sort of melts into a liquid foundation when dabbed and blended in.

Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

As for formula, Maybelline claims “Our most lightweight foundation for 100% Nude Perfection.  Lightweight foam for a flawless finish, ideal for normal skin.”  I do agree that Dream Nude Airfoam is extremely lightweight once set.  I really didn’t feel like I was wearing makeup at all.  However, during application I thought the formula was a bit tacky and hard to blend.  It just didn’t want to move around on my face, so I had to buff it really well with my brush.  Once I finally got it blended in, it did give me a gorgeous airbrushed finish… for about an hour.

Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam blended

Dream Nude Airfoam has no lasting power at all.  I could already see it starting to break down after the first hour.  Granted, I didn’t use a primer, but still.  Four hours into wearing Dream Nude Airfoam, you couldn’t tell that I had any foundation on at all.  Which brings me to coverage.  Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam is extremely light coverage.  Those who have used the Maybelline Fit Me foundation know how light those are, but this may be even lighter coverage.  It’s more like a tinted moisturizer than a liquid foundation.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam was a complete fail for me.  Oh, and my sister wanted me to mention that if you accidentally get it in your eyes it burns like fire for about an hour after, so be uber careful.  The only redeeming quality that it can claim is that it is a matte foundation, unlike our next contender.


Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse Makeup:

Similar to the Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse also dispenses from an aluminum can, though with better results.  I did not have the explosive issue with the Revlon version like I did with Maybelline and my walls stayed clean.  Despite the name, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse looks less like hair mousse than the Maybelline Airfoam.

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse

Personally, I think it looks like brains, but I’m quirky that way.  The Revlon Zombies are coming to get you… or y’know… not.  *crickets chirping*  Aaaaaand I’m back.  Just like Dream Nude Airfoam, this will melt into a liquid foundation when dabbed and blended in, and those bubbles will burst if left alone.

Revlon claims:

“Get an airbrushed finish with Revlon’s light-as-air mousse makeup. Press button gently to deliver a lightweight air-infused foam mousse that blends seamlessly. The whipped texture allows you to blend evenly for undetectable coverage, leaving you with a smooth poreless complexion. The formula’s photochromatic pigments minimize the appearance of flaws for a smooth, poreless look, leaving you with perfectly airbrushed skin in any light.”

Unlike Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse does actually blend really well and instead of the tacky feeling of Maybelline’s version, it has pretty good slip.  Also unlike Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse still has some decent coverage- I’d say light to medium.  It is just slightly less coverage than the original Photoready foundation.  I would not say that it gives a “poreless, airbrushed” look.  I actually prefer the finish that Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam provides (in that first hour).  Even though I wouldn’t call it “airbrushed,” Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse does still provide a very nice finish.

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse (Normal Light) See the the bubbles are already bursting.

Just like the original Photoready foundation, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse has some shimmer to it, which Revlon refers to as “photochomatic pigments”.  What this means is that if your skin tends to look shiny on it’s own, you probably want to stay away from Revlon Photoready foundations in general.  However, if your skin tends to look dull or lifeless, Photoready may be the luminosity that you’ve been looking for.  I actually like the original Photoready, and don’t really notice the shimmer, especially since I top with a setting powder.  Photoready Airbrush Mousse gave a similar finish and the shimmer didn’t bother me at all.  Don’t worry that you will look like a disco ball, it is simply a “dewy” finish.

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse (Sunlight)

Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse Makeup beats Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam in longevity as well, lasting a good 6 or so hours with no primer.  That time could easily be extended by using products underneath. It actually performed extremely similarly to the original Photoready foundation.  The only difference in performance that I could see is that Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse is a little more light-weight than the original and slightly less coverage than the original.  Otherwise they are identical.

So to break it down for you, if you are really interested in trying one of the new foam/mousse foundations I would recommend Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse over Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam. Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam is actually not a very good foundation at all, in my opinion.  However, if you already have the original Revlon Photoready foundation, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse is not necessary because it is an extremely similar formula.  As much as I enjoyed the fun new dispensers, I found the new foam/mousse foundations to be a real let down.

Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam retails for around $10.99.  Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse Makeup retails for around $13.99, though it varies by location.

Speed Read: When comparing the two, Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse is the better option for foam/mousse foundation over Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam by a lot.  However, neither product is necessary, especially if you have tried the original Revlon Photoready foundation.  These gimmicky foundations just aren’t worth the money.

Best For: (Maybelline) Makeup junkies (or bloggers) who need to try everything at least once.  (Revlon) Those who don’t already own the original Revlon Photoready.  Also those who have normal to dry skin and want to increase luminosity.

Keep Walking: (Maybelline) Everyone else.  (Revlon) If you already own the original Revlon Photoready, or if you have oily skin and don’t want to increase the shine.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. i am debating on trying the Revlon one. I have dry skin so i like something with a glow to it. I’ve only used one or 2 kinds of drugstore foundation before and one was the Revlon Colorstay-which broke me out like crazy! I would love to find a drugstore foundation instead of paying department store prices. I guess if this Revlon one breaks me out too i can just take it back 🙂

  2. I’ve only tried the maybelline dream nude airfoam and I love it. I have combination skin that tends to get really oily on my forehead and nose. I normally use make up forever’s matte velvet foundation but always found it left my face oily after a couple of hours. With the maybelline foundation, I am oil free for most of the day. Ive never had that before, so im very happy with it. I also like that it has sunscreen (could be why it burned your sister’ s eyes). The finish is a little tacky but it goes away once it sets. Might be perfect for girls with very oily skin 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing your experience. I really have no good way of knowing if a product will work for oily skin, since mine is so dry, so it’s really helpful for others to read comments like this. It’s great to know that you found something that works so well for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

