100th Post and a Giveaway!!!

Standard

This is my 100th post, and I want to celebrate it.  When I started my blog back in August, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  As it turns out, beauty blogging is a lot more work than I had anticipated, but I also really love it more than I had expected.  I love getting your feedback in comments and really appreciate the support that I have received from my readers.  I’ve learned a lot about blogging and I’ve learned it fast.  I’m proud of my little blog, and I am excited to see what this year brings here on Beauty in Budget Blog.

So, in honor of my 100th post, it’s time for another giveaway.  Yay!  The rules for this giveaway are going to be pretty similar to my Christmas giveaway:

  1. You must be a subscriber to this blog.  If you are not yet a subscriber, just hit the “Sign me up!” button on the right hand side of the page.
  2. You must provide a valid email address when you win so that I can get your shipping details.
  3. You must be willing to provide me with your mailing address.  If you are under 18, you must have explicit permission from your parents to give out your address.  I don’t want any angry parents, so be honest kids.
  4. You must be a resident of the US.  I’m not sure if I have any international readers, but for now, I’m not prepared to ship cosmetics to a different country until I’ve done a little more research about the rules.
  5. You must leave a comment on this entry telling me what products that have been released recently you are most interested in trying for yourself.  They do not have to be products that I’ve mentioned here on BiBB, and they don’t have to be budget or drugstore items either.  I’m just curious about what has grabbed your attention.

Here is what you will be winning:

You all know how much I love Wet n’ Wild ColorIcon eyeshadows, so here are a bunch for you to play with.  The prize includes:

  • Idol Eyes cream shadow pencil in Distress
  • Idol Eyes cream shadow pencil in Pixie
  • Single shadow in Penny
  • Single shadow in Brulee
  • ColorIcon Trio in I’m Feeling Retro
  • ColorIcon Trio in Sweet as Candy
  • ColorIcon Trio in Cool as a Cucumber
  • ColorIcon 8-pan Palette in Blue had Me at Hello

This giveaway will last for one full week.  It will open today Monday, 1/30/12 and will close at Midnight on Sunday, 2/5/12.  The winner will be announced next Monday, 2/6/12.  Good luck everyone, and thanks again for helping to make these first 100 posts great.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

16 responses »

  1. Totally wanting to try all these ‘falsies’ mascaras. Like the kind you put on and they supposedly ‘extend’ your lashes. I just haven’t taken the plunge because I wonder if they are messy and hard to get off and if they look clumpy or heavy. Anyhoo… I probably won’t win, but hey, worth a shot! 🙂

  2. I’ve recently been introduced to elf cosmetic. I’m actually really looking forward to trying their eyeliner felt tip pen. I’ve tried other brands in the past and I loved them; so I’m excited to give theirs a try. Also I heard they have awesome makeup remover wipes. 🙂

  3. Pingback: E.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadows… For Free « Beauty in Budget Blog

  4. I have been wanting to try the Garnier BB Cream! And the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer! Thanks so much for the giveaway!! 🙂

  5. hi, I’m excited to try the new Loreal Infallible eye shadows. They’re so pretty and so pigmented from the reviews I’ve seen. Also I’d love to have a couple more of the Maybelline Color Tattoo cream eye shadows, too. I have the bronze one and it’s seriously gorgeous. this is a nice giveaway, thank you!

  6. Angela took the words right out of my mouth! I was thinking of the L’Oreal Infallible eye shadows and the Maybelline Color Tattoo eye shadows. I’ve also been meaning to get the Physician’s Formula trio of eyeliners, I have the creme ones, I want the pencil ones next, and the new shades of the Physician’s Formula mood boosting blushes. Oh and I want to try the new nail polish line from Wet n Wild!

  7. Pingback: Jordana Easyshine Glossy Lip Colors « Beauty in Budget Blog

  8. I’m sort of in the market for a good foundation. I’ve been using Prescriptives, but the counter closed at my local Nordstroms, and maybe it is ridiculous to spend $30 on a foundation that I wear four or five times a year… Then again, maybe it’s also ridiculous that I’m resigned to looking exhausted and ghetto the other 360 days of the year…

    To be honest, I read your post about the Revlon photosomethingorother mousse-ish-stuff (was really paying attention to names, as you can tell), and that product seemed very interesting. I want something that (1) will make me look neither pink nor orange, (2) will blend well, (3) will have a luminous finish, something my somewhat drab complexion needs, (4) will be sheer, and (5) won’t get all over my shoulders when I stretch and move about throughout the day.

    Cheers!

    • If you are in the market for a new drugstore foundation, I’d say to first do your research. I’m not sure what skin type you have, but there are a ton of beauty blogs and youtube gurus with reviews and recommendations on the web. I really like Maybelline and Revlon for foundation. Those brands have some really good options for my dry skin. When you have it narrowed down, find your local Ulta (there’s one in Glendora and one in Upland) and purchase a couple. Ulta has a great return policy, so if you don’t like the foundation after a couple uses, you can return it for store credit. If you are interested in Revlon Photoready, I’d say get the original, not the mousse makeup. I’m also a big fan of Maybelline Dream Mousse Liquid. Both of these foundations were in my 2011 favorites for face, if you want to see what they look like. Let me know if you have any specific questions, and I’ll try to help.

      • I have tricksy skin (like a pixie or other evil sprite). It’s dry, and I get horrible breakouts and flaky patches if I don’t moisturize thoroughly, but once the moisturizer is absorbed, my skin pretends to be slightly oily across my forehead and nose. I’ve tried using a less hefty moisturizer, but then I get the breakouts and flaky patches. I’ve noticed that if I apply a liquid foundation straight out of the bottle, it doesn’t quite slide correctly on my skin, and I end up with an uneven application, even if I try to blend thoroughly with a foundation brush (I end up with completely different issues if I try to use my fingertips). So the only way I’ve ever managed to get an even application of liquid foundation is to mix it with my hefty moisturizer at a ratio of 1:1. Not only is it annoying to have to doctor my makeup in such a way, I end up losing out on a lot of the coverage… (I honestly don’t have the patience to build up the coverage with several thin layers.) I’ve had this problem with every liquid foundation I’ve ever used (many different brands). User error?

        I had a lot of luck with a mineral (powder) foundation in the past, except I was never quite able to get the color right… My skin is very fair, but not quite the fairest in the land (Erin wins that prize, I think). If I buy the lightest color a company makes, I end up looking like some sort of odd gothic princess-wannabe, and I don’t really have the wardrobe to pull that off. Unfortunately, once I make the step from “fair” to “light”, I end up with makeup that makes me look orange, like some sort of much younger, much more female George Hamilton. It’s no bueno. While I was shopping around on e.l.f. this morning, trying to put enough products in the cart to earn the 10 free eyeshadows for my sister, I decided I’d give their mineral makeup a try. They have “light” and “porcelain” (an aside: I, apparently, don’t automatically know how to spell porcelain. Google Chrome’s suggestions to fix my spelling error offered me “porcine”, “princeliness”, “portliness”, and, oddly, “rectilinear”), and I figured that if they don’t work individually, perhaps I can mix them together to get the right mix of fair-but-not-too-fair. Have you ever tried powder foundations, or are they death for your dry skin?

        • Wow, that is tricky skin. I’d say to stick with a real quality moisturizer to keep breakouts and dry patches at bay. Then perhaps a matte foundation to help control oil, or if you are afraid that will dull your skin too much, use a dewy or satin finish, but be sure to set with a powder. If blending is an issue, try applying and blending with a slightly damp sponge and buff out the edges with a brush. Have you tried the “Beauty Blender”? Using a sponge will provide slightly lighter coverage, but it will be pretty even. If you don’t like the sponge idea, try changing the shape of your foundation brush. I strongly recommend e.l.f. Powder Brush for foundation. Don’t use a translucent powder, let your powder do some of the work by choosing one that has some coverage on its own.

          I have never tried e.l.f.’s Mineral foundation, but I have used Everyday Minerals. My issue is that powder foundations don’t provide me with enough coverage, so I like to use a tinted moisturizer as a base and then use powder foundation over it to amp up the coverage. That may solve your color match issue. Balance the lighter powder by using a slightly darker tinted moisturizer. Of course, mixing shades is also a great fix. Good mineral foundations don’t dry me out, but I do prefer liquid. I hope that helps. Email me if you have more questions or need specific recommendations for products.

  9. Pingback: New Shades from Revlon and Maybelline, and a L’Oreal Teaser « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

