Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

Standard

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

Revlon is discontinuing my favorite primer, the Beyond Natural silicone primer, so I thought that I would try one of their new primers from the Photoready line.  There are two versions, the Photoready Perfecting Primer and the Photoready Color Correcting Primer. Here is what Revlon has to say about their new primers: “Revlon’s NEW primers are lightweight primers that soften skin and diffuse light to help minimize flaws and even out skin texture. It creates a perfect canvas so that your foundation will glide on more evenly and smoothly. Primers can be worn alone or under foundation, and are oil free, talc free, fragrance free, paraben free.”  Since the two formulas are very similar and because I have a lot of redness, I chose to try the Photoready Color Correcting Primer.  Now that I’ve used it on several occasions, I have mixed feelings about it.  On one hand, it is actually a really good primer.  On the other, it does have its flaws and I’m not sure if I can give it my stamp of approval.  Let me break it down for you.  (Click photos to enlarge.)

Like the Photoready foundation, the Photoready Color Correcting Primer comes in a glass jar with a pump style applicator. Kudos to Revlon for the packaging. The pump flows easily and is controllable to provide just the right amount of primer to cover the face without wasting product.

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer claims that its soft lavender color “Brightens skin and neutralizes redness while evening out uneven skin tone.”  This isn’t a silicone primer.  The consistency is more a cross between lotion and liquid foundation.  The formula dries down to a satiny finish that offers a bit of hydration, while still keeping oil at bay.  I actually really like the formula quite a bit.  My makeup blended over it very easily and evenly.  It extended the life of my foundation and acted as a barrier to keep my dry skin from sucking the moisture out of my foundation.  It preformed really well as a primer, but it didn’t deliver the color-correcting properties that it promised.

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer’s lavender color goes on a pasty shade of white but dries down transparent.  As I said before, I have a lot of redness and the primer didn’t minimize my redness at all.  I know that a primer isn’t a concealer and won’t take the redness away entirely, but this didn’t even come close.  For a product named “color-correcting”, it’s a huge disappointment.  I also wouldn’t call it “brightening”.  It didn’t brighten my skin tone as far as I could tell.  So what did it do, you may ask?

Instead of color-correcting or brightening, Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer gave my skin a soft-focus look.  It absolutely diminished the look of fine lines and pores.  It even fuzzed out my freckles a bit.  I think my skin looked younger after I applied the primer.  It definitely looked better.  You can see in the photo below that you can’t see the lines on my hand where the primer is blended in like you can on the rest of my hand.  I really like the effect.

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

So, that’s my dilemma.  Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer is a complete fail if you want it for it’s color-correcting or brightening claims.  However, it is a fantastic primer and provides a soft-focus finish that gives you younger looking skin.  The other major drawback is the price.  Revlon’s Photoready Primers retail for around $14, which is really steep for drugstore.  Granted, there are coupons and BOGO offers, but still.  For a few bucks more you can buy a high-end primer, so you have to ask yourself if it’s worth it.  I have not tried Revlon’s Photoready Perfecting Primer, but I believe that it has pretty much the same formula, but is a different shade.  For me, I am really glad that I have Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer and will totally use it up, but I am not sure if I will repurchase.

Speed Read: Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer is neither color-correcting, nor brightening.  Despite not living up to its claims, it does perform very well when it comes to extending the life of foundation and provides a beautiful soft-focus look that minimizes flaws.

Best for: Those who don’t mind the lack of color-correctiveness, who are looking to minimize flaws, and who don’t mind the higher price tag.

Keep walking: If you are looking for a truly color-corrective primer to battle redness, or those unwilling to pay almost $15 for a primer.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Pingback: March 2012 Favorites « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

