Daily Archives: February 29, 2012

Monthly Favorites for February 2012

Standard

Hey everyone, happy Leap Year!  It’s the last day of February, which brings me to my monthly favorites post.  I am very glad that February is over.  It has not been the best month for me, what with my family drama and also being so sick.  I’m glad that I’m finally feeling better and that March is upon us.  I am hoping that it will be a much better month for me than February was.  You may have noticed that I didn’t do a monthly favorites post last month, so these products are for January and February.  You may be surprised to see that half of my picks this month are high-end products.  Don’t worry, this is still a budget blog.  All high-end products mentioned here at BiBB were either gifts or bought at incredible discount (yes, it happens).  So let’s get into it, shall we?

NARS The Multiple in "South Beach"

NARS The Multiple in “South Beach”- I am loving this item right now.  It has warmed up a bit where I live, and I can feel that Spring is right around the corner.  “South Beach” gives a gorgeous apricot glow that really warms my face up, despite my not having the slightest bit of tan.  This multi-purpose cream stick is designed to be used on eyes, cheeks, or lips.  It blends effortlessly, even over powder, and though I haven’t tried it on eyes, looks amazing on cheeks and lips.  I have to admit that I get a certain amount of glee owning a NARS product, especially since I scored such a fantastic deal with Birchbox.  I rarely recommend high-end, but The Multiple is really nice.  And in case you were wondering, yes, it does come in “Orgasm”.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in "Dollface"

A surprising pick for me has been Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in “Dollface”.  This is a “mini” (3.4 g, full size 5.6 g) that I got at Christmas time for $15 as a two pack with Tarte’s “Park Ave Princess” bronzer.  I usually don’t choose shades that are so light, nor is it like me to choose such a cool toned pink but I had been dying to try the Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blushes.  As it turns out, I have really been loving “Dollface” during the winter because it looks so natural.  To me, it looks like that soft wintery flush cold weather gives your cheeks.  It is truly gorgeous, and makes me look like I just came in from the snow, despite it being in the high 50’s.   Tarte claims that these baked blushes are great for any skin type.  They say that Amazonian clay minimizes oil in and around pores to balance oily skin and keep product in place while also hydrating dry skin naturally to restore moisture so your blush wears better & longer.  I don’t know how that works, but I can say that this blush works well for me, so keep rocking, Tarte.  I totally want to get a full size Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in Tipsy, which is a coral shade.

Stila Kajal Eyeliner in "Onyx"

My last high-end item in this post is my Stila Kajal Eyeliner in “Onyx” that my husband bought me for Christmas.  (Who wouldn’t love a man who is willing to brave Ulta by himself during the Christmas rush, right?)  I have already shared with you my love of Stila liners, and the kajal doesn’t disappoint.  It is excellent lasting on the waterline and easily smokes out for a dramatic look.

Milani Baked Blush in "Luminoso"

For my drugstore favorites, first up I have Milani Baked Blush in “Luminoso”.  I’ve reviewed these blushes here, and have mentioned them in several favorites posts.  There has been a lot of hype over “Luminoso”, but I hadn’t tried it for myself until the end of January and now I can’t seem to pout it down.  It has been compared to NARS “Orgasm” (what hasn’t?) and it was really hard to find for a good portion of the year.  I can understand why the hype was so big, “Luminoso” is really beautiful.  It is a lovely shimmery peach that would be flattering on many skintones, either as a blush or a highlight.  “Luminoso” is just as great as the other blushes in this line and I can tell that I’m going to put a serious dent in it come Spring and Summer.

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24Hr Eyeshadow in "Bad to the Bronze"

I showed you swatches of Maybelline Color Tattoo 24Hr Eyeshadow in “Bad to the Bronze” here, as well as my full review of the product here.  I love, love, love this shade, and am really digging how quick and easy my eye looks are using it.  I just pat some “Bad to the Bronze” on the lid with my finger, blending it up slightly to the crease, and top of with my next favorite product.

Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eyeshadow single in "Brulee"

Wet n Wild ColorIcon eyeshadow single in “Brulee” is my favorite neutral highlight shade.  I sometimes find whites too stark, especially with warm-toned shadows.  “Brulee” is universal, and I have been using it with almost every look this month.  I especially love pairing it with “Bad to the Bronze” because, as a matte highlight, it keeps the look from being too shimmery and makes it totally workable as a day look.  Two steps and my eyes look fabulous.  And no one beats Wet n Wild eyeshadows for value at an extremely low price.

That ends my monthly favorites.  I hope that you don’t mind the high-end choices.  Like I said, it is absolutely possible to get higher-end items for incredible discounts as long as you keep your eyes peeled for a great sale.  At the very least, I hope you saw some items to put on your wish-list so that someone else may gift you a great high-end product.  I’d love to know if you have tried any of these itemss and what your thoughts on them are.  Leave me a note in the comments and let me know.