St. Patrick’s Day Green Eye Look

Standard

I love St. Patrick’s Day, and green is my favorite color so I wanted to show you an eye look that may work for you tomorrow.  First, though, I want to say that I’m not the photoshop type.  I realize that makeup camouflages flaws, but it is not supposed to erase them completely.  We all have imperfections and I am disappointed with the rise in people photoshopping their facebook pics and trying to erase their flaws to present a perfect image of themselves over the internet.  Imperfections make us human and truly flawless faces look fake and sort of plastic, so stop trying, k?  (Hey, where’d that soapbox come from?)  So anyway, here I am with shadows and bags under my puffy, slightly blood-shot eyes.  I mentioned earlier this month that my grandmother was in the hospital, which is why my posts have been less frequent.  Well, my grandmother went from hospital to hospice last weekend and I haven’t been sleeping well for the last couple of weeks.  I didn’t really bother to put makeup on the rest of my face (except to lightly fill in my non-existent eyebrows) because I just did this look for the blog, not to go out in.  The pictures are minimized here as not to be too graphic, but you can click to enlarge to see the look better.  So let’s get our green on.

Green can be tough to pull off sometimes, depending on your coloring.  I’m sure that you can find dozens of bright and bold looks for St. Patrick’s Day, but I wanted to try something that was fun, but still wearable.  Though I admire those technicolored eye looks, not all of us can pull them off.  I love yellow greens, and I think that this is a great everyday look for spring.

Wet n Wild I Dream of Greenie (L) and Maybelline EYESTUDIO Color Explosion in Forest Fury (R)

I used two palettes to complete this look.  I used the “browbone” shade from the Wet n Wild I Dream of Greenie palette and I used the Maybelline EYESTUDIO Color Explosion palette in Forest Fury.  I tried to get the hues on the lid to move from golden yellow tones on the inner eye to cooler tones on the outer eye.  The yellow tones show up better in real life, but you can sort of see the gradation here.

I used that gorgeous yellow-green on the center of the lid to blend the yellow and the cooler green on the left side of the Maybelline palette.  I used the darkest green Maybelline shadow in the crease and the very edge of the outer corner.  I also used that darkest shade to top my pencil liner.  I hope that you like the look, and that it gives you some ideas of a wearable green eye for St. Patrick’s Day, or for spring in general.

Other products used:

  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance
  • NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil in Lemon (Outer 3/4’s of the lid)
  • Maybelline Color Tatoo in Too Cool (Inner 1/4 if the lid)
  • Wet n Wild Coloricon liner in black
  • Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes! mascara
  • Coastal Scents 88 warm palette (eyebrows)
About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful! I, too, really love green shades, especially combined with gold. I’ll have to play around with what I’ve got to see if I can come up with a look this beautiful for tomorrow! I played with the makeup I got from you and from e.l.f. during the week I was in NYC, and I had a great time with it. Came up with a few really nice looks (and a few… interesting… ones).

Leave a Reply

