Wet n Wild LE Flora Collection

Standard

Wet n Wild Flora Collection

You may remember that I posted last week about some new items for Spring and Summer that I spotted at Walgreens.  One of the most exciting displays was this one, featuring the Wet N Wild Limited Edition Flora and fauna Collections.

Wet n Wild Limited Edition Flora and Fauna Collections

The Flora and Fauna Collections are box sets that include one fast dry nail polish, one glassy gloss, one eyeshadow trio, and one blush.  The Fauna Collection features blue, purple, and cool pink and lavender tones.  Though the Fauna Collection is really pretty, the Flora Collection is what stood out to me.  Green is my favorite color, so I just couldn’t help myself; I had to get it.

Wet n Wild Flora CollectionThe Flora Collection features gorgeous greens, representing grass and leaves, as well as orange and pink to represent spring florals.  It’s a bright, youthful collection that’s perfect for spring.  Both the Blush in “Mellow Wine” and the Glossy Gloss in “Mow the Glass” are part of Wet n Wild’s core line, but this eyeshadow trio, as well as the nail polish in “Twining Vines” is exclusive to the Flora Collection box set.

Wet n Wild Coloricon Trio in Flora

Wet n Wild Coloricon Trio in “Flora” contains a shimmery lime green brow bone color, a blue-based dark green crease color, and a bright matte orange/tangerine lid color.  It was this last shade that really grabbed my attention.  Wet n Wild has really been listening to it’s client base and is responding to the demand for more matte shades.  First there was the “I love Matte” palette last year, and now they are including matte shades in their new releases.  Tangerine is the “it” color for Spring 2012, so this trio is really “now”.  “Flora” has the same great quality as the other Wet n Wild Coloricon trios.  Below are swatches of the three shades (though, the tangerine/orange shade is a bit brighter in real life than it appears here).

Wet n Wild Coloricon Trio in Flora

Wet n Wild Coloricon Blush and Glassy Gloss from the Flora Collection

The Flora Collection includes a mini version of Wet n Wild Coloricon blusher in “Mellow Wine”.  Regular size is 4 grams, and this mini is 1.6 grams.  “Mellow Wine” is a natural looking, deep rose shade that can be applied lightly for a natural flushed look, or built up for a more dramatic look.  It’s a great blush, and I actually just purchased a full sized version for myself.  Wet n Wild Glassy Gloss lip gel in “Mow the Glass” is the only item in this collection that I don’t like.  I’ve never tried a Glassy Gloss before, and it’s not something that I would normally buy for myself because I prefer glosses with a brush applicator over a squeeze tube.  I found the gloss to be really goopy, though that could be because I squeezed too much out (see why I don’t like this type of application?) and a bit sticky.  It’s not too pigmented, so it just wasn’t worth the trouble to me.  I also thought that it tasted like plastic.  Here are swatches of the gloss and blush.  Again, I really like “Mellow Wine”.

Mow the Glass (top) and Mellow Wine (bottom)

Twining Vines

The last item in the set is Wet n Wild Fast Dry nail Color in “Twining Vines”.  This shade is soooooo pretty!  I am a real sucker for green-golds, and “Twining Vines” looks like a molten golden green.  Love, love, love!  And it’s fast dry, so double bonus.  i did a quick swatch on my thumb so you could see how it applies.  This is two coats with no base or top coat, and without cleaning the edges up at all.

Twining Vines

All in all, I love the Wet n Wild Limited Edition Flora Collection for Spring.  The only dud (for me) was the Glassy Gloss, but the other items are fabulous.  Both the Flora and Fauna Collection retail for $4.99, which is a great price for the four products.  The Coloricon trios are usually $2.99, and the fast dry nail polish is regularly $1.99, so it’s like getting the gloss and blush for free.  The shades are excellent choices to celebrate plant life, and the Flora collection, overall, does not disappoint.  Your best bet at locating the Flora and Fauna Collections  would be to check Walgreens and CVS.  Because these sets are Limited Edition, I would not wait too long to go looking if you want to snag one (or both).  Happy Hunting!

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. I love the eyeshadow trio, especially that fabulous greeny/goldy color (the browbone color), the blush, and the nail polish. I’m with you–the gloss looks like a whole lot of “what’s the point?”… For $5, I’m going to have to swing by my local store to pick it up! Do these sorts of things tend to sell out quick?

  2. Pingback: Wearable Orange Eyeshadow « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

