March 2012 Favorites

Standard

It’s the first week of April, so that means that it’s time for my Monthly favorites for March.  Last month, I mentioned that February was hard on me, and expressed a wish that March would be better.  That did not happen, in fact it got worse.  My posting schedule was a bit spotty this month, and some of you know that it was due to a family health issue and the loss of a loved one.  I’ve been really struggling.  I wore makeup a lot more this month than I usually do, but it was different than usual.  I didn’t wear much mascara or eyeliner because I had a lot of days when I knew that I’d most likely be crying and didn’t want raccoon eyes.  I had to go out and buy a waterproof mascara for the memorial service because I don’t normally wear waterproof.  I did end up with several products that I reached for over and over again, so there are a lot of items to mention in this post.

Freeman masks

I was under a great deal of stress this month and, consequently, I’ve been experiencing some skin problems.  I’ve had breakouts and such, so I decided to treat myself to a few masks.  I really enjoy Freeman masks, because there are inexpensive and I can experiment with several different kinds.  You can, of course, get the full size bottle of your favorite Freeman mask, but I like the variety of these “travel” sizes.  For $1.37 each (at Walmart), I can try the whole line if I want to without having to commit, and I usually get two masks out of each pouch.  They have helped clear my skin up, and have given me a chance to pamper myself during a tough time.  My favorites (so far) are the Avocado & Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask, the Chocolate & Strawberry Facial Clay Mask, and the Goji Berry Facial Hydration Mask.  Freeman has several other masks to choose from for a variety of skin types.

Hard Candy Glamoflauge (top) and Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer (bottom)

Because my skin has been such crap this month, I’ve been relying on concealer.  Both of these concealers were my top choices for my 2011 favorites for face post, so check it out here for more details on the products.  I use the Hard Candy Glamoflauge to cover any breakout issues because it’s heavy duty and covers anything, but it’s too thick for under the eye.  I’ve had major dark circles due to lack of sleep, so I’ve been using the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer under the eyes and it’s been really helping.

e.l.f. Complexion Perfection

To set my under eye concealer, I’ve been turning to the e.l.f. Complexion Perfection Powder.  Actually, I just checked e.l.f.’s website, and they have changed the name to the Studio Tone Correcting Powder, but it’s the same product.  It is $3.00 from the Studio line.  I rediscovered this little gem in my collection this month after not using it since the summer.  I especially like the yellow tone for under eye, and blending the yellow and green over my cheeks where I have a lot of redness.

Revlon Photoready Color-Correcting Primer

You may remember my full review here of the Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer.  In my review I mentioned that, although this primer doesn’t live up to it’s color-correcting or brightening claims, it’s nonetheless a fantastic primer.  I’ve been using it almost every day under a variety of foundations.  I love the soft-focus finish that it gives, and it makes my foundation look great.  I think it’s a keeper, even though it doesn’t actually color-correct.

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation

I have been pleasantly surprised by the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation.  I wasn’t sure if e.l.f.’s foundation would be that great because of the extremely low price.  I really like the Flawless Finish Foundation, though.  It gives my skin a beautiful smooth semi-matte finish with pretty good coverage.  It doesn’t dry me out, and my skin looks great hours into wear.  And check out that glass bottle!  E.l.f. really stepped it up with the packaging for the Flawless Finish Foundation.  The packaging looks expensive, but it is still only $6.00, which is pricey for e.l.f., but lower than anything else you can find in the drugstore.  I totally recommend checking it out.  I have seen limited shades of the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation at Target.

NYC Bronzer in Sunny

NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder in Sunny is a cult favorite in the beauty community.  Chances are you own it, or have at least heard of it.  I’ve been loving it this month to give my face some life and dimension and a natural-looking glow.  Sunny is a sheer matte bronzer, not too dark, so it’s great for this time of year when I don’t have any tan.  It warms my face up without looking too fake or muddy.  Sunny is smooth and blends easily, and retails for about $3.

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Eyeshadows in Tough as Taupe and Pomegranate Punk

I’ve been doing really fast and easy eye looks this month, so I’ve been using the Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Eyeshadows a lot, especially the shades Tough as Taupe and Pomegranate Punk .  You can read my full review of these shadows here.  I’ve mentioned them several times here on BiBB, so you already know that I think they are awesome.  The Color Tattoos are so easy peasy.  I’ve been using them alone on the lid, just dabbing some on with my fingers and blending up a bit into the crease.  Then I finish off with my next two items.

Wet n Wild Brulee and Sonia Kashuk Small Multipurpose Powder Brush

This is the second month in a row that Brulee has been a favorite, so there’s not much more that I can say about it.  It is a universal highlight shade, and I use it all the time.  I’ve been sweeping it on with almost every single eye look I’ve done in March.  The Sonia Kashuk Small Multipurpose Powder Brush is a fantastic brush to sweep on and blend out Brulee.  I got this brush for Christmas and L-O-V-E it!  It’s perfect.  It’s so soft and fluffy, and is the best blending brush that I own.  You can find the Sonia Kashuk Small Multipurpose Powder Brush at Target for around $10-$12.

That’s it for my March favorites.  I hope that you saw something you like.  If you try any of these products, I’d love to hear what you thought of them.  Leave me a comment below and let me know.

6 responses »

  1. i have the revlon primer as well but i got the perfecting version one.. been using it for 2 days & no breakouts! *fingers-crossed*
    i have that ELF powder too but it’s sadly moved at the back of my drawer. thanks for the reminder! 😀

  2. What a great collection of favorites! I love that the items you reach for every month changes depending on what’s going on in your life. It’s amazing to think how much the objects we use everyday say about us, really. And, seriously, the Brulee eye shadow is just amazing. I’ve also fallen in love with the e.l.f. studio matte eye shadow in Nude. it’s very like the Brulee, if a touch more opaque (if that makes sense). Anyway, love!

    • I’m glad that you liked the post, and that you are enjoying Brulee. I can’t get enough of it. I’ve never tried the e.l.f. studio matte eye shadows. I’ll have to try them at some point.

  3. “[Glamoflage] is too thick for under the eye”

    There’s a trick to using it as an undereye concealer (I use it exclusively under the eyes). Don’t apply the product directly to the skin under your eyes. Put a tiny dot of Glamoflage (like half the size of a grain of rice) on the back of your hand (this will be enough for BOTH eyes). Then, using a fluffy type concealer brush (I like E.L.F.’s “Flawless Concealer Brush”) dip the bristles into the product and spread it out a bit on your hand (this will allow the tips of the brush bristles to be coated evenly with the product). Then, brush it under your eyes. Because I’m older and have fine lines under my eyes, I set the Glamoflage with a DImethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone and Silica power – either E.L.F.’s High Definition Powder or “Wrinkle Blur” from makingcosmetics.com (identical products). I put on a *heavy* coat of the powder, and let it sit while I’m finishing my makeup (that gives the silica in the powder a chance to absorb all the moisture out of the Glamoflage, preventing it from settling into those fine lines). After my makeup is done, I take a fluffy face brush and whisk away all the powder. Perfect finish that lasts all day! (Note: you don’t want to use a “regular” powder for this – one that includes talc and/or pigments – because it will end up looking “cakey'”)

Leave a Reply

