NYX Slide On Pencil Eyeliner

Standard

The over-long and slightly insane name of these pencils is “NYX Slide On, Glide On, Stay On & Definitely a Turn On Waterproof, Extreme Shine Eye Liner (This liner is so good the name has to be this long!)”.  I wish I was kidding, but that whole bit, even the parenthetical, is printed on the pencil.

NYX Slide On Pencil Eyeliner

Pretentious name aside, however, NYX Slide On Pencils are fan-freaking-tastic!  I don’t feel tempted to buy another high-end liner ever again.

Here is what NYX has to say about their Slide On Pencils, “Don’t let the softness of this eye liner pencil fool you. Silky soft yet delivers a powerful robust color to line eyes. The formula is waterproof, doesn’t smear or smudge, and provides extreme color. It’s like a liquid eye liner in a pencil without the mess. Available in 18 intense shades.”  They aren’t kidding.  NYX Slide On Pencils are super creamy, and go on perfectly pigmented in one smooth stroke.  They take a few minutes to set, so you can smudge them out or rub off any mess-ups (ahem) with no issues.  Once set, these babies don’t budge at all.  They will last on the lash line all day through sweat, tears, and crazy office shenanigans.  I have literally found my Holy Grail eyeliner.  You know how much I like Stila Smudgestick Waterproof Eyeliners, but NYX Slide On Pencils have replaced them in my book and for $12 less.

NYX Slide On Pencil Eyeliner

I bought Golden Olive sometime in February and fell in love.  So when Ulta had it’s 40% off sale, I had to purchase a few more.  I picked up Jewel, Brown Perfection and Tropical Green.  NYX is a fantastic brand when it comes to color selection.  There are always a bunch of great shades to choose from in their product lines and the Slide On Pencils continue that trend.  Here are swatches of the shades that I chose.  from left to right: Golden Olive, Tropical Green, Bron Perfection, and Jewel.

NYX Slide On Pencil Eyeliner

There are two issues with NYX Slide On Pencils.  The first is staying power on the waterline.  NYX Slide On Pencils do last for several hours on the waterline, but they will eventually fade on the waterline while the lash line keeps holding.  I am not a girl who often applies liner to my waterline, so that’s not a huge selling point for me.  the other is that the pencils aren’t self-sharpening.  This is a minor point, but I hate having to sharpen my pencil products.  I just bugs me.  But, I’m willing to put up with it for great eyeliner.

NYX Slide On Pencil Eyeliner

Many people have compared the NYX Slide On Pencils to the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencils, which NYX was obviously trying to copy.  I have not tried Urban decay’s version, but I have read countless reviews that NYX Slide On Pencils are good dupes.  I can’t say if they are an exact match, but NYX Slide On Pencils are $8 while Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencils retail for $19, so they are certainly worth a try.  NYX is available at Ulta, Cherry Culture and nyxcosmetics.com.

Speed Read: NYX Slide On Pencils are creamy, intensely pigmented, and long lasting eyeliners that live up to all the hype.  They are great alternatives to similar high-end products.

Best for: Those who are fans of Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencils, but don’t like the price.  Also those who like fun colors that aren’t usually available in the drugstore.

Keep walking: If you are brand-loyal and don’t like copycats.  Also if you hate having to sharpen your eyeliner pencils or need all-day wear in the waterline.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Wearable Orange Eyeshadow « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Monthly Favorites: September 2012 « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

