City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash

Standard

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash is an odd mix of bright colorful shades and smoky blue-gray eyeshadows allowing you to create both daytime and nighttime looks. Per City Color, “The palette comes with a variety of 10 colors ranging from vividly fun to mysteriously dark, blending them together to create exceptional one-of-a-kind looks that make a bold statement“.

Open

Closed

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palettes are packaged with a 3D Lenticular picture on the front.  I thought the packaging was really cool, and I have to admit that it’s the main reason that I bought the palette in the first place. The mirror spans the entire flip-open lid, and there’s a dual-ended sponge applicator included. The pan sizes are thin and tall, like the Physicians Formula shimmer strips shadows.  It can be a pain to work with such narrow pans, especially if you like larger brushes, but these do have defined dividers between the shadows, so you can avoid picking up neighboring shades pretty easily.

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash (Brights)

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash (Smoky)

I went with the Multi-Flash palette because the other two Special Effect Bright Eye palettes looked to contain neutral browns and smoky purples, and I already have plenty of neutral and smoky eyeshadow palettes.  I wanted something different.  The five colorful shades caught my eye, and aren’t shades that I normally go for, so I thought “why not?”.

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash. Shades numbered for reference.

The texture of the shadows aren’t bad, especially considering the price.  They’re soft, and rather crumbly, so be careful when applying.  All of the shades blended easily, and wore all day when I used a primer first.  Pigmentation is hit and miss with this palette.  I was really impressed with the two dark gray shades (8 and 9), and also the bright lavender, turquoise, and coral shades (2, 3, and 4).  The yellow-green shade (5) is decent, but not quite as smooth or pigmented as the five I just mentioned.  I wish the matte black (7) was darker; it could really stand to be more pigmented.  I also wish that the white highlight shade (1) wasn’t quite so shimmery.  The gray highlight shade (10) hardly shows up on my skin, so it’s not very useful.  The royal blue (6) leaves a lot to be desired, and is the worst shade in the palette because it not only lacks pigmentation, but applies patchy.

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash (brights)

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash (smokes)

City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash is cute, decent for the price, but not necessary.  On the plus side, there is something for everyone with this odd mix of brights and smoky shades.   There are stand-out shades on both ends, and if your collection is on the smaller side, this may be a good way to branch out with shades you may not otherwise have.  On the negative side, there are some duds in this palette.  The royal blue and the two highlight shades weren’t that great.  You also may find that this colorcollection just isn’t for you.  I’m a little confused by the schizophrenic shade choices myself.  I’m not sure what City Color was thinking.  Overall, I’m glad that I picked up the City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash, but I’m not sure how much use I’ll get out of it.  City Color Special Effect Bright Eye Palette in Multi-Flash can be found in-store at Rite-Aid, and retails for $3.99.  The other two palettes are called Dark Room (neutrals) and Back Drop (Smoky).  City Color products are 100% cruelty-free!

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I love them but …. I am a little old lady who live in a shoe and so many eye shadows I don’t know what to do. hahaha I will probably find room for them though.

Leave a Reply

