How I got the Balm Nude ‘Tude Palette for Over 80% off

Standard

the Balm Nude 'Tude Palette

the Balm Nude 'Tude Palette (back)

The Balm Nude ‘Tude Palette retails for $36.00 and is available through a variety of locations, one of which is the Birchbox shop.  Back in December I posted about my first order from the Birchbox shop, where I purchased NARS and Laura Geller products at an incredible discount.  This is my second order.  Thanks to my loyalty points, I was able to get the Balm Nude ‘Tude palette for only $6.00, instead of the usual $36.00.  That’s not a typo, I really got it for 83% off retail price and you can too.

In case you don’t remember how it works, let’s talk about loyalty points for a sec.  When you first sign up for Birchbox, you will receive a certain number of points based on the length of subscription that you order, 1 month, 3 months, 12 months.  After that, you can earn more points by referring friends (50 for each person who signs up), and for giving feedback (10 points each) on the products that you receive in your box.  You also earn points for every dollar you spend in the store, $1 equals 1 point.  These points are redeemable when you order full sized products.  Every 100 points is worth $10 in the Birchbox store.  You can use as many points as you like at one time, so if you do not have much money to spend, you can save your points so that you can still order products without having to pay out of pocket.  For example, Birchbox offers Benefit High Beam for $26.  If I had chosen to do so, I could have used my 300 points on it and gotten High Beam for free.  Loyalty points are like currency in the Birchbox store, and you pay with them at check out.  It’s a very generous system, and earning points goes faster than you would think.

I chose to redeem my 300 points for $30.00 off the Balm Nude ‘Tude palette, knocking the regular price down to a measly $6.00 out-of-pocket.  Unlike my first order, there were no sales or special discounts going on so this isn’t time sensitive.  You too can get the exact same deal as I did as soon as you accumulate 300 loyalty points.  Shipping was a flat $5.00 for standars USPS, which is a pretty good rate, and standard shipping is free on all orders over $50.  I was very impressed by how quickly my order was processed and shipped to me.  I placed the order on the 17th, it shipped the 18th, and was in my hands by the 20th.

the Balm Nude 'Tude Palette

Here is  a look at what’s inside the palette.  I’ll do a full review with tons of photos later when I’ve had the chance to play around a bit.  Not bad for just $6.00, huh?  Fun samples aside, this  right here is the reason that I subscribe to Birchbox.  There are a lot of subscription services out there, but not many of them have the same type of system of rewards for just being a member.  I enjoy my Birchbox subscription, and I like the samples that I receive each month, but the loyalty points program is what really sells it for me and keeps me going with Birchbox month after month.  To sign up for your own Birchbox subscription, follow this link.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

Leave a Reply

