NYX Stick Blush in Tea Rose and Orchid

Standard

NYX Stick Blush

It is really good to be back to posting here on BiBB.  I have been battling the mother of all migraines for the last couple days, which left me sad and whimpering away from my computer.  I have horrible allergies in the late spring, early summer, and they often trigger my migraines.  I have no idea what it is that I’m actually allergic to because I can’t keep any plant life straight in my head.  I know the difference between a tree, bush, and flower, but too much beyond that and I’m pushing the limits of my nature knowledge.  At any rate, I can see straight again now that my brain stopped throbbing like a demonic drum circle, and can finally focus on the blog.  Which brings me to NYX Stick Blushes in Tea Rose and Orchid.

NYX Stick Blush in Tea Rose and Orchid

Here is what NYX has to say about their Stick Blush: “Add a touch of color with our creamy and extremely pigmented Stick Blush! Available in eight rich shades! Apply and receive the perfect glow every day!”  Excessive use of exclamation points aside, NYX nailed it with these Stick Blushes. (!)  😉   First, let’s talk packaging.  NYX Stick Blushes are in lightweight, yet sturdy plastic tubes that twist up and down.  The caps snap on securely for safe travel.  The color of the plastic tubes vary to reflect the shade of the blush inside.  They are totally adequate, but kind of boring in my opinion.  I don’t know, the packaging just looks kind of blah to me.  However, I do love the adorable little heart on the top of the cap.

I do not notice any scent with these Stick Blushes.  They glide on pretty smoothly, and do not stick or pull up my foundation underneath.  They do not feel greasy or sticky, which may make them ideal for those with oily skin who have issues with other cream blushes.  A huge plus in my book is that I haven’t noticed any sweating or beading on the surface of the NYX Stick Blushes.  Don’t you HATE that?  I have a mini of the Tarte cheek stain and it dews up like that and looks nasty.  ewww.  But NYX Stick Blushes don’t have that sweating problem.  They apply evenly without skipping or streaking.

NYX Stick Blush in Tea Rose (L) and Orchid (R) swatched

The two NYX Stick Blush shades that I have are Tea Rose and Orchid.  Tea Rose is a lovely deep pink with an almost matte finish.  Orchid is the obligatory NARS Orgasm dup, a peachy pink with gold shimmer.  They are both gorgeous colors that will suit any skin-tone.  Tea Rose is a little creamier than Orchid, but both have an excellent formula that are a snap to work with.  NYX Stick Blushes are really pigmented, and blend out easily.  One layer gives you a light wash of color, but you can also build up for a more intense look.  These Stick Blushes build without getting too thick or cakey.  They give you plenty of time to work with them before they set, so you can achieve any look you want.  When you have the right look, you do need to allow a few minutes for them to completely set.  Once set, they have a soft velvety finish with a subtle glow.  I have found that they last on my skin for 6-8 hours, but if you top them with a light dusting of powder (either a translucent powder or a powder blush) you can get an even longer wear-time.  (Don’t apply too much powder blush on top, because that’s a fast track to clown cheeks.)  I’m not sure how long they last on oily skin, but they are convenient to travel with if you need to touch up.

NYX Stick Blush in Tea Rose (L) and Orchid (R) blended out

I like to apply my NYX Stick Blush high along my cheekbone, especially Orchid.  The soft gold shimmer makes using a highlight completely unnecessary, so it is a good two-in-one product.  Speaking of two-in-one, some girls have tried these Stick Blushes on their lips as well with good results.  I have not done it because I need more moisture in my lip products because of my desert-like lips, but you may be able to get away with it.  All in all, NYX Stick Blush is a winner and I highly recommend them.  These are super easy to use for those unaccustomed to cream blushes, and the eight shades available are all very wearable shades that will suit many skin tones.  No funky lavenders in this collection.  NYX Stick Blushes retail for $6 and are available at Ulta, as well as Cherry Culture and, of course, NYX cosmetics.  Ulta often has BOGO1/2 off sales on NYX, so keep an eye out for a great deal.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: June 2012 Favorites « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

