The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette

Standard

The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette

I know, it’s about time, right?  A month ago, I shared with you this post about how I got The Balm Nude ‘tude palette for only $6.00 from Birchbox.  I’ve had some time to play with it and can finally give you my review and swatches.  I am relatively new to The Balm, having only heard of them less than a full year ago.  I’ve got this palette and two blushes, but those products are all I have experience with.  I have been thoroughly impressed with the products so far, though, and would like to try more that the company has to offer.  I have a lot to cover here, so let’s get started.

The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette

Packaging:The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette is made of sturdy cardboard wrapped in a sleeve that the palette slides out of.  It has strong magnetic closure, but the sleeve offers added protection for travel purposes.  Nude ‘tude comes in two versions that differ in packaging only.  The “Feeling Naughty” packaging features nude pin-up girls and the eyeshadows are strategically placed to keep “naughty” from turning into “dirty”.

The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette

It is absolutely adorable, in my opinion, and I would have loved to have gotten that version, but Birchbox only offered the “Feeling Nice” packaging.  Ultimately it’s the shadows that matter, so I was okay with this, but I do still really love the “Feeling Naughty” packaging.  The palette has a full-sized mirror in its flip-top lid and it comes with a dual-ended brush.

The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette brush

The brush is small and not my favorite thing, but the liner side is stiff and does it’s job well.  The actual wells of eyeshadow are also on the smaller side.  The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette contains a total of 11.08 g, as opposed to the Urban Decay Naked2 palette, for instance, which holds 15.6 g of shadow for the same number of shades.  I understand that Naked2 is $14 more than Nude ‘tude, so it makes sense that I’m getting less shadow, but I do still wish the wells were a little larger.  However, the quality makes up for the smaller size.

The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette

Quality: The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette is really good quality.  These shadows are totally comparable to Urban Decay and they perform really well.  The shadows are soft and almost velvety.  They blend smoothly without getting muddy, and are packed with pigmentation.  They last for hours, even without a primer and I don’t find that they fade out on me.  I did have some fall out issue because the shadows are so soft.  Nothing too tragic, but it is worth mentioning.  The worst offender is the shade “Silly” which contains glitter, as opposed to shimmer, that gets everywhere if you are not careful.  Otherwise, these shadows are very good.

Shades and Swatches:  I was especially impressed by the lighter shades.  Highlighters can tend toward being less pigmented and more frosty than anything else.  The light shades in The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette are all actually very strong on their own.  I was pleasantly surprised.  There are seven shimmer shades, four matte shades and one glitter shade.  Three of the matte shades are dark enough to be used as liners, and they do well in that capacity, so you don’t need to look outside this palette to line your eyes if you don’t want to.  I appreciate  the matte shades, especially since naked2 contained so many shimmers.  I also like that The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette does not contain similar shades to the other nude/neutral/naked palettes that I have seen.  Nude ‘tude includes pinks and plum shades that set it apart from the others.  That may not appeal to everyone, but I find the shades very flattering and think that they would look good with a variety of skin tones and eye colors.

Sassy top left, Stubborn top right, Snobby bottom left, Stand-Offish bottom right

  • Sassy: Frosted pearly white shimmer
  • Stubborn: Light peachy pink shimmer
  • Snobby: Medium yellow-gold shimmer
  • Stand-offish: Light pinkish bronze shimmer

Selfish top left, Sophisticated top right, Sultry bottom left, Schitzo bottom right

  • Selfish: Gorgeous frosted taupe shimmer
  • Sophisticated: Shimmery gunmetal with taupe undertones
  • Sultry: Matte camel brown
  • Schitzo: Antique bronze shimmer

Sexy top left, Serious top right, Silly bottom left, Sleek bottom right

  • Sexy: Deep matte plum
  • Serious: Medium matte black (it is darker than it looks in this swatch, but it is not the blackest black and is kind of patchy)
  • Silly: Plummy brown with glitter
  • Sleek: Dark matte black-brown

For me, the weakest shade is “Silly”, followed by “Serious”.  The strongest shades in my opinion are “Sleek” (what a great liner shade) , “Selfish”, “Sophisticated”, and “Stand-Offish”.  Honestly, all twelve of the shades are workable, and there are some real gems here.  I think that The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette is a great palette to have.

You can find The Balm Nude ‘tude Palette at Sephora, thebalm.com, as well as online stores like hautelook and birchbox.  Original retail price is $36.00, but prices vary by location.  One reader even mentioned seeing it at Marshalls for much less, so keep your eyes out and do your research for a good deal.  If you are a birchbox member, you may be able to redeem your points like I did and get it for $6 out of pocket.

Happy hunting!

 

****EDIT****

I was informed in the comments by Judi Tierney that Sephora no longer carried The Balm.  Boo.  Thanks, Judi!

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I love this palette. Just a quick note, sephora no longer carries the Balm products. I don’t know why, but they don’t have them. I bought mine for $6 from hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v
    They recently had them, s they might still be there. They had Shady Lady palettes for $4.
    Hopefully this helps.
    — Judi

  2. I like this, but I think I’d pass on this because there are too many dark shadows for my taste. I don’t like to use a lot of dark colors, because it makes my small eyes smaller.

Leave a Reply

