O.P.I. Just Spotted the Lizard

Standard

O.P.I. Just Spotted the Lizard

I have been coveting Chanel Peridot since it came out last summer.  However, I flat out refused to pay $25 (give or take) for a bottle of nail polish.  But, oh my goodness, I wanted it so badly!  I’ve been keeping my eye out for possible dups for the last year, but none of the more affordable attempts that I found matched perfectly.  Until now.  This is Just Spotted the Lizard from the limited edition OPI Spider-Man Collection that came out last month.  I finally got my hands on it on Sunday and am so glad that I did.  It has immediately become my favorite polish of the fifty million that I own.

O.P.I. Just Spotted the Lizard with flash

What makes Just Spotted the Lizard so awesome is that it changes  color based on how the light hits it.  As you can see in the bottle, the polish transitions from bronze to green to teal blue.  In some lights it looks like a brown-based bronze.  At the right angle it looks like a gorgeous blue-based teal.  It goes through various shades of green as it transitions.  There are not enough words to express how much I love this polish.

O.P.I. is not my favorite brand of polish.  It’s a little runny, sometimes streaky, and at $8.50 a bottle, more expensive than I’d like.  But despite these issues, Just Spotted the Lizard is 100% worth it in my opinion.  It is just so pretty!  And finally, I can stop lusting after Chanel Peridot.

I’m going to show you some swatches, but first I am going to recommend heading over to Scrangie’s blog for a side by side comparison of Just Spotted the Lizard and Peridot, as well as the rest of the Spiderman collection.  Her pictures are a little better than mine because I was having major problems trying to photograph Just Spotted the Lizard on my nails.  I’m hoping to get a new camera for my birthday, so hopefully I can fix these issues.  *fingers crossed*

 

O.P.I. Just Spotted the Lizard

O.P.I. Just Spotted the Lizard in various lighting

I tried to show how the colors change, but there are so many more shades present than I was able to capture.  You should Google it for a wide variety of images.  Just Spotted the Lizard and the rest of O.P.I.’s Spiderman Collection is out now, but probably not for much longer.  It is a limited edition collection that released in May, so if you are interested I would advise not waiting too long to purchase.  I picked up my bottle at Ulta, but you should be able to find it wherever O.P.I. is sold.  (By the way, is Ulta no longer selling O.P.I. online?  I couldn’t find any O.P.I. polishes on the website, which I thought was really odd.  Has it always been sold in-store only?)  O.P.I. retails for $8.50.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

