Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup

Standard

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup

You may have seen the small Revlon haul I showed a couple weeks ago when I took advantage of Rite-Aid’s 40% off sale.  If so, you saw that I picked up the new Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup.  Though I usually use normal liquid foundation, I like experimenting with mousse and cream-like textures. I am not the biggest fan of Revlon’s Colorstay Liquid Foundation, but I wanted to give the new Whipped Crème formula a try.

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup comes in a thick glass jar that is very sturdy and pretty luxe.  However, it is not the most hygienic packaging if you’re going to be sticking your fingers in it. I recommend using a flat foundation brush (like the $1 version from e.l.f.) just to get it out of the jar and dab it onto your face before using your preferred blending method (more on that later).  The jar is pretty bulky, about the size of a jar of moisturizer.  Don’t be fooled though, Revlon only gives us 0.8 fl oz of foundation instead of the standard 1 oz.  The jar comes with a thin plastic cover over the foundation.  Do not discard this cover, or you will have a real mess on your hands if the jar gets tipped or flipped.  As it is, the plastic topper gets covered in foundation and the whole thing is rather messy and ill-conceived. I’ve yet to be able to remove the plastic cover without getting foundation all over my hands.  There has to have been a better way.

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup

The foundation itself is quite nice, and I can see myself reaching for it a lot.  Here is what Revlon has to say: “The mousse-like texture feels like silk on your skin. And, the time release formula balances skin for a flawless look. All day flexible wear without flaking, caking or feeling heavyWears up to 24 hours.  Talc-free and paraben-free.”  Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup has a thick creamy consistency.  Revlon says the “bouncy whipped formula” builds to full coverage, but still feels ultra-light and silky smooth.  I thought the coverage was very good, medium to full without having to build too much at all.  I would not agree that Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup is “ultra-light”.  It is certainly lighter than the original Colorstay liquid (which I found to be heavy and mask-like).  It does feel lighter on the skin than you may guess from the coverage, but some of you may feel that it is heavier than you would like for summer.  I personally love it, but I have a lot to cover that you may not.  You can sheer it out with a damp sponge, though, so don’t count it out quite yet.  Though it does feel pretty thick during application, it melts into the skin and lightens up a lot during blending.  I’ve buffed it on with my e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush (my go-to blending method for foundation) as well as using my Soho Blending Sponge and Colorstay Whipped Crème foundation applied equally well with both methods (though obviously more sheer with the sponge).  I would not recommend fingers with this one.  It does not set as quickly as Colorstay Liquid does, but the finish comes out much smoother and prettier with the help of a brush or sponge.

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup in 220 Nude brushed on (L) and then blended out (R)

The creamy texture somehow manages to be mattifying without being the least bit drying.  This means that Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Foundation would work equally well on both dry skin and oily skin.  Kudos to Revlon for providing such a versatile formula.  Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup claims to last for 24 hrs (though no one should wear makeup for that long).  My tests included no less than 5 hrs and up to 12 hrs of wear-time in varying heat and humidity and over a variety of primers.  I did notice some break down on my nose after about the 8 hr mark, but the rest of my face looked consistently fabulous throughout the duration.  The coverage does fade a little through long wear, but doesn’t disappear.  As someone with dry skin I have to be ever mindful of flaking and dry patches.  I had no issues with Colorstay Whipped Crème foundation clinging to dry spots or flaking during wear.  All in all, it feels good and looks great on the skin.

So far Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème foundation comes in twelve shades, though they seem to favor lighter skin tones.  That’s great news if you are pale, not so good if you are trying to find a match for a deeper skin tone.  The displays that I have seen have a few sample shades so you can actually try the product before you buy to get a better color match.  (Way to go Revlon, please do this with ALL your foundations.)  There is a subtle scent (that oddly reminds me of art class) if you stick your nose in the jar and sniff (not recommended), but it is not noticeable during application.  Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup retails for around $13 depending on location, which is on the pricey side so try to get it on sale.

So, to sum up, I really like Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup and may repurchase.  After being underwhelmed by Revlon’s earlier foundation releases so far this year, I am impressed and pleased with my results using the Colorstay Whipped Crème foundation.  I can skip my setting powder thanks to the soft matte finish.  You may want to pass on it if you prefer light coverage, but anyone looking for medium- full coverage foundation will want to have a look at Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème makeup.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Once my buy freeze is over I’m pretty sure after reading your review this will be the first thing I buy! I like foundations like this best, and I do hate the liquid colorstay foundations. I feel like those doesn’t give any coverage and just fades into my skin.

Leave a Reply

