e.l.f. Baked Blush Review and Swatches

Standard

e.l.f. Baked Blush

I showed you my latest e.l.f. haul here and promised to review the new baked items that I purchased.  Today I have the e.l.f. Baked Blush for review.  I purchased two of the four shades available and have been very pleased with them so far.  I didn’t expect e.l.f. to come out with a baked product line because their products are usually so inexpensive and I didn’t think that they could do it with out bumping up the price.  Luckily, I was wrong, and e.l.f. has managed to put out some really good products while maintaining their trademark low price point.  Let me break it down for you.

e.l.f. Baked Blush

E.l.f. Baked Blush is part of the Studio line and comes boxed in the traditional Studio line black boxes.  The packaging of the product itself looks cheap to me.  It is simple and functional, but nothing special.  It is sturdy enough to be thrown in your purse or makeup bag, but if you drop the blush it can shatter, so be careful not to be too hard on it.  The blushes are easy to open (yay, no chipped nail polish) but still secure.  E.l.f. Baked Blushes contain 6 g of product compared to MAC Mineralized Blushes and Milani Baked Blushes which both have 3.5 g.

Here is what e.l.f. has to say about the product: “The soft and shimmering color of our Baked Blush creates a natural healthy glow. Baked in an oven, these blushes offer rich pigmentation for a beautiful effect. The long-lasting formula provides a gorgeous, smooth and even application. Infused with active key ingredients Jojoba, Rose, Sunflower, Apricot and Grape to nourish and hydrate the skin. Apply this shimmering color dry for sheer pigmentation, or use a damp brush or sponge for a more vibrant effect.

All four available shades of the e.l.f. Baked Blushes are shimmery and probably should be used without any additional highlighting products (unless you really want to bring on the shimmer).  The pigmentation is actually really good, better than the regular e.l.f. Studio blushes in my opinion.  I have not tried them wet because  that seems a little weird to me.  My review and swatches are all from using the products dry.  Wear-time is at least 6 hours on me.  I find the blushes to be easily blendable, with a smooth texture that isn’t chalky or powdery at all.  I did not have any issues with fall-out.

e.l.f. Baked Blush in Passion Pink

The first shade of the e.l.f. Baked Blush that I have is Passion Pink.  It’s a beautiful, shimmery, light pink that would be flattering on many skin-tones.  It is light enough to work well for those who are very fair, but pigmented enough to still show up on darker skin (as possibly a pink highlight).  The cool-toned pink veins do not take over the shadow making it ideal for almost anyone, except for very golden skin-tones.

e.l.f. Baked Blush in Rich Rose

My second e.l.f. Baked Blush shade is Rich Rose.  This shade is so gorgeous!  It looks kind of ugly in the pan, but the rosy-coral veining really shines through the other color present (which I can only describe as the bastard love-child of dusty rose and terra cotta).  The result is a rosy-orangey bronze shade that is completely unexpected.  Rich Rose would look fabulous on darker skin-tones, though those with fair skin may want to stay away.

e.l.f. Baked Blush  (L) Passion Pink and (R) Rich Rose

Here are the swatches of the e.l.f. Baked Blushes.  Passion Pink is on the left and Rich Rose is on the right.  As always, all my pictures can be enlarged by clicking them.  This picture was taken in direct sunlight so you can see how shimmery the blushes are.  In normal indoor light they aren’t quite that bad, but the shimmer is still present.  Most baked blushes are shimmery, and I don’t find the e.l.f. Baked Blushes to be any worse than Milani.

Over all, e.l.f. Baked Blushes are very good products that are totally worth the $3 retail price.  They probably won’t replace my Milani baked blushes as favorites, but at almost a third of the price (for almost double the product), they are a very decent alternative.  They are pigmented, blend smoothly and easily, and look good on the skin.  I really hope that e.l.f. extends the line and includes more shades, because these blushes have the potential to be hugely popular.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Wow, that is shimmery. I dig the Passion Pink… might have to pick one up on my next big e.l.f. order… 🙂 Is there a similarly light Milani baked blush color that you would recommend over the e.l.f.?

    • I recommend ALL of the Milani baked blushes. I have four or five of them and I love them all. I think my favorite, though, is Rose D’Oro. If you search my blog for Milani baked blush, you should find swatches.

  2. Wow great colors. I have to grab that Rich Rose, although someone should slap me I have no more room for more make up but but but it’s soooo prettyyyy.

  3. Pingback: e.l.f. Baked Eyeshadow Review and Swatches « Beauty in Budget Blog

  4. Pingback: e.l.f. Baked Bronzer in Maui « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

