Bits, Bobs, and Things You Should Know

Standard

Hey everyone!  Today’s post is going to be a little different.  I have some news and announcements and bits of business to take care of, so I figured that I would just put everything in one place and let you know what is going on.

First off, I want to say THANK YOU for all of the love and support that you have been showing me.  I started this blog almost a year ago, not knowing what I was doing and wondering if I would have any readers at all.  Readership has really been growing over the last few months, and that makes me so happy.  I really appreciate all of the comments and the positive feedback that you have given me, and please keep them coming.  I love hearing about products that you found and love as a result of reading this blog.  My readers are made of awesome, I’m just saying.

On a related note, my 1 year blogiversary is coming up and I will be doing a GIVEAWAY!!!  I will officially be opening up the giveaway later this week, but in the meantime, make sure that you are a subscriber because those will be the only ones eligible.  All you have to do to subscribe is enter your email address in the box on the right and hit submit.  Then, not only will you be eligible for the giveaway, but you will receive updates straight to your inbox so you won’t miss a thing here on BiBB.

For now, I have disabled the blogs facebook page completely.  I know how to set up a personal page but there are finicky settings when trying to set a page up for something like a blog.  It’s not a personal page, it’s not a business… it’s complicated.  I will try again later, but for now it’s gone.  I am hoping to expand to facebook and possibly youtube in the future, but that is for another day.

July is Birthday Month for me, and my mostwonderfulawesomefantastic husband gave me my gift a bit early.  Check it out, the Canon Rebel EOS T4i.

My new baby

I am so excited!!!  I’ve been wanting a DSLR for, like, 7 years.  Now that I have a new camera, you will probably notice a change in the photos here at BiBB, though probably not right away.  I have a large backlog of photos from my old camera because I like to take them when the products are fresh and new, even though the reviews come much later.  Also, I need some time to learn how to use my new camera because, coming from a simple point and shoot, I’m a little lost on all the bells and whistles.  It’s like going from Barbie play makeup to the Sephora + Pantone Universe Shades of Nature Eyeshadow Palette.  I know that there is a lot of stuff that I can do, I just don’t know how to do it.

Like this

I think that’s all for now.  There is one more thing that I was hoping to announce, but I need to wait for confirmation.  The main point of this post is to let you know that there are big things happening here on BiBB, so keep an eye out for the giveaway later this week and keep reading.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

12 responses »

  1. Yay for your upcoming blogiversary!! On Saturday, I went to Ulta for the first time (with Sarah), and I was so grateful that I’ve been reading your blog – I actually recognized a good number of the products there! I almost felt like a girl. Cheers–

    • Oh, I totally wish that I could have gone with you. I miss you both so much and that sounds like such a fun girls day (assuming that you went to Starbucks after, because in my head you did just that). What did you get? Anything good? I don’t know about you, but when I go to Ulta I love to swatch all of the high end testers. If I could, I would buy a ton of Tarte and Urban Decay because I really like those two brands, so I swatch the products that I’m lusting after.

      • I got a bottle of The Oil (amazing stuff… AG… $18 for magical argan oil serum), a tube of Palladium lip balm (Bronzy Pink), and some CG mascara (professional… the blue stuff… it was only $4.99). Last Thursday, I picked up some Physician’s Formula mineral makeup ($10.99 for nearly a half oz of product… amazing price, and it works better than the e.l.f. stuff I’d been using, except the color is just a twinge too yellow for me… sigh), a Milani baked blush in berry something or other (you’re right: gorgeous), and a Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie. Aside from the not-quite-pink-enough foundation, all products are absolute winners. Even the foundation will be OK if I get a bit of summer sun, and as long as I use some of the e.l.f. Glow, it actually works out as a foundation. Weird, eh? Ulta was fun. You should get The Oil.

        • I am not familiar with AG The Oil. It’s for hair right? I’ll have to check it out, but truth be told, I don’t really do much to my hair. Maybe another guest post is in order? I don’t have Berry Amore (but I want to) or Berry Smoothie, but Bronzy Pink is a gorgeous color. CVS often has sales or extra bucks offers on PF, so keep an eye out there. Do you mean the e.l.f. Studio Blush in Glow? Also, you may want to check out Everyday Minerals online for mineral foundation. They have custom sample kits for a penny so you can try before you buy and just pay shipping. I actually really like the samples that I have from them, but I simply just don’t wear mineral makeup (except eyeshadow). You may really like them if you prefer mineral foundation, and they have a wide range of products for different skin types and many shades to choose from. Just Google Everyday Minerals for their website.

      • I don’t do anything with my hair either, but that’s where The Oil is so amazing. A teeny tiny bit applied to wet hair makes it dry silky soft and absolutely smooth, even when the weather is unbearably humid. I don’t do anything else to my hair, but it looks like I just got it cut/styled, and my last hair cut was six months ago. $18 for a product (they also have a smaller size with 1/3 of the product for $7) that extends the life of my haircut equals a significant savings when aggregated over a few years. I would gladly do a guest post about The Oil. Sarah uses it too (and my mom). 🙂

          • hee hee!!! Sometimes I wish I could get a guest poster on my blog… but seriously, who else reads romance novels (and is comfortable writing about it)? Any chance you’ve been doing a little light reading?

  2. Happy blogiversary! ELF is having a once a year sale and everything is buy one, get on 50% off. I saved quite a lot of money. You were right about Rite Aid having the Revlon lip stain chubby pencils. That is the only place I’ve found them lately. I guess the stores choose to carry what is selling the best and apparently they weren’t selling well at CVS or WalMart. My daughter has the orangeish one and loves it. I like the ones I’ve gotten too, although not as much as the Clinque Chubby Sticks, but they are half the price.

    • Oh good, I’m glad that you were able to find them. I bet Rachel looks fantastic in the orange one. I think Drugstores have certain preferred relationships with different brands, so they pimp those brands out more than others. It’s less about what is selling and more about what is in their contract. At least that’s my guess. I’m glad that you got saved a bunch from e.l.f. and I hope you like everything that you got. They always have such great offers. 🙂

  3. So happy for you and the growth of your blog. I have thoroughly enjoyed everything you posted. Love that camera by the way.

Leave a Reply

