e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator

Standard

e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator

We all know by now how important it is to exfoliate our faces to get rid of dry, dead skin and maintain a healthy glow.  But have you been neglecting your lips?  The skin on your lips needs to be exfoliated too.  Lip products leave build up and can cause lips to dry out and become flaky and peel.  This makes  lip color, especially matte ones, look uneven and unattractive.  To combat that, a good lip scrub is in order.  Enter the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator.

The e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator is, in essence, a sugar scrub in a tube.  Here is what e.l.f. has to say about it: “Gently exfoliate lips to remove dry, chapped skin with our Lip Exfoliator! A sweet sugar and smoothing sensation, infused with Vitamin E, Shea Butter, Avocado, Grape and Jojoba Oils to nourish and protect. This Lip Exfoliator treats and smoothes lips for a conditioned and revitalized feel.”

e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator

I have to say, what really sold me on the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator is that it looks like a lipstick.  The lip scrub that I was previously using is in jar form, and can be kind of a pain to use.  It can be a little messy, so I keep it by the sink with the rest of my makeup.  The trouble is, I never remember to use it.  What really attracted me to the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator and is that it’s super easy and convenient to use.  It is essentially mess-free and travel friendly.  I’ve been keeping it on my desk (at home) and since it is in plain sight, I remember to use it when I’m surfing the net or watching youtube videos.  With a simple wipe of a tissue to clean away any excess scrubies, you are done- no muss no fuss.  It literally could not be easier.

The exfoliator itself is pretty nice.  I find it to be just the right amount of grittiness, once you break the “seal”.  I like to feel a certain amount of abrasiveness so that I can tell it’s working, but I don’t want it to feel like it’s scraping all of the skin off my lips.  The e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator strikes a nice balance.  Also, it’s much more moisturizing than I expected it to be.  You almost don’t need to apply lip balm afterward. (Though you always should.)  The taste and smell are okay, though not my favorite.  It sort of smells like brown sugar, or something similar.  To me it tastes like Splenda, sweet, but definitely not sugar.  It leaves my lips feeling soft and smooth, exactly as they should.

e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator

I want to add that you really shouldn’t bother purchasing a high-end or expensive lip scrub.  It’s a waste of money.  It is not entirely necessary to buy a lip scrub at all, because they can be made at home with just a few ingredients.  But if you (like me) don’t want to spend the time or bother with the mess, the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator is a great alternative that is still cost effective.  E.l.f. didn’t add a bunch of crazy ingredients and kept things relatively simple.  The ingredients are as follows: Sugar, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Ceresin, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Tocopherol, Aspartame, Fragrance.  I really love all of the moisturizing oils and can feel the conditioning properties on my lips.  Though there are some extras thrown in there, the exfoliator is made up of similar ingredients that you would come up with if you made your own.  It’s so much easier to go ahead and purchase, especially since it’s so cheap.  At least that’s my opinion.

All in all, I am a fan of the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator.  For only $3 it is an easy and low-cost answer to keeping your lips healthy and looking good.  No need to fear matte lipsticks ever again.  The e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator is only available on eyeslipsface.com at this time.  It’s a relatively new product and keeps selling out, so be sure to check back if it is unavailable.  It should be back in stock in a week or two.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I currently own a lip scrub from LUSH but like you said, it’s in a pot and while I do like it… I find myself forcing myself to reach for it because it’s always such a mess.

    I was looking at this product before but wasn’t sure if I should try it even though I usually love ELF products. Thanks for the review! Good to know it’ll be a wise investment 😛

Leave a Reply

