e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen

Standard

e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen

I mentioned the e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen in my June favorites, promising to do a full review, and here it is.  I want to show you samples of how well it removes makeup, specifically eyeshadow and eyeliner.

I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of “oops” moments with my makeup, especially when I’m trying to do something new with my eyes.  I can’t tell you how many failed attempts I’ve made at winged eyeliner.  (As an aside, I think winged liner just doesn’t work with my eye shape.  It just looks weird to me.  Does anyone else have that problem?)  Or maybe I’m in a hurry or not paying attention and my hand will slip.  (Or a cat will head butt my elbow so that I poke myself in the eye with my mascara wand.  It happens.)  There is nothing more frustrating than to have your makeup absolutely perfect and then slip with your mascara wand or botch you eyeliner in a way that can’t be fixed without messing up your eyeshadow.

Here is what e.l.f. has  to say: “Mascara smears? Uneven eyeliner? Quickly remove or correct small makeup smudges, smears and mistakes without having to take off the rest of your makeup! The gentle and non-greasy formula erases even long wearing and waterproof makeup for flawless touch ups, perfect for throwing in your purse or gym bag when you’re on-the-go! Infused with Vitamin E, Cucumber and Chamomile to moisturize and condition skin.

e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen

I do love that I can tell the pen has conditioning properties.  The formula doesn’t feel drying in anyway.  Actually, it sort of reminds me of my Neutrogena Makeup Remover wipes that I use to remove all of my makeup.  The Makeup Remover Pen really gets the job done without smearing or making a mess.  It’s great as a mid-day clean up for less than fabulous eyeliner or flaky mascara that may want to migrate and give you raccoon eyes.  It’s gentle under and around the eyes and I haven’t experienced any irritation or had any problems at all.  With just one or two swipes, your skin is clear with no weird residue.  But don’t take my word for it.  Check the e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen in action.

e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen on eyeshadow

For this swatch, I applied L’Oreal HIP Matte Eyeshadow in a navy color (which was somewhat disappointing in color pay-off).  Then I simply wrote BiBB (for Beauty in Budget Blog) into the liner with the Makeup Remover Pen.  This is one swipe on each letter.  Because of the curvy lines, two swipes probably would have been best to get things crystal clear, but I wanted to show you what one swipe can do.  Still not convinced?

e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen on eyeliner

This variety of eye and lip liners is made up of both pencil and liquid.  The brands used include NYX, Avon, e.l.f., Jordana, Stila, and Eyeko.  I wanted  a lot of variety so you could see how well the e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen performs.  The two horizontal stripes are two swipes each with the Makeup Remover Pen.  As you can see, two swipes cut through all of the liners without leaving residue or smearing.

To clean the tip, all you have to do is clean with a tissue to wipe away access makeup.  The tip won’t be 100% white after use, but it get’s pretty clean.  I’ve been looking for a good makeup remover pen in the drugstores for awhile now.  As far as I’m concerned, the e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen is a fantastic product.  I can’t speak to how long the pen will last because I’ve only had it for about a month or so, and I don’t need to use it everyday.  But for only $3, I can afford to buy backups.  Because the e.l.f. Studio Makeup Remover Pen is a relatively new product, I believe it is only available on the e.l.f. website.  I do hope that it will show up at Target soon, though, because it is a really handy little tool.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

11 responses »

  1. Wow! I am forever bumping the mascara wand against my eyelid (and then getting really mad). This is going on my next e.l.f. order fo sho. As an aside, pink/red eyeliner? How do you wear it without looking Dawn of the Dead?

  2. My e.l.f. haul arrived the other day (I took advantage of the buy one, get one 50% off special) and it included 2 pens (one for me, one for my daughter). So far I haven’t used it yet but I have it right in my makeup caddy. Among my other purchases was the mattifying pressed powder. I like it a lot.

  3. So, does this also take off concealer/foundation? ‘Cause I get raccoon eyes from mascara late in the day and am hoping this could work for touch ups but don’t want to have to reapply foundation as well… Thoughts?

    • It does remove all makeup, yes. If you wear a lot of concealer under your eyes for dark circles or whatever, then I would recommend bringing the concealer along in your purse or makeup bag. I’m not sure what concealer you use under your eyes, but if you want a really good travel friendly one, try the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser concealer. I’ve reviewed it here in the blog and mentioned it in favorites, but in short, it’s really good. Its sponge tip applicator is great for mid-day touch ups. HTH

Leave a Reply

