I got MAC for my Birthday

Standard

MAC Heavenly Creature Collection

MAC has absolutely nothing to do with budget beauty, but sometimes a girl’s gotta splurge.  My husband, who I’ve already said is the best, most wonderful man in the whole world, knew how much I wanted the MAC Heavenly Creature Collection that I mentioned here last week, so he took me shopping for my birthday.  ( A little early, actually since my b-day isn’t until the 29th, but we didn’t want the collection to sell out completely.)  Here are some of my spoils.  This is actually my first MAC purchase since my wedding almost 7 years ago, so I’m really excited about it.  I haven’t gotten a chance to use them yet, so this isn’t a review, but I thought you may want to see some swatches and close ups.  Keep in mind that mineralized products like this will vary from pan to pan, and the shade is a little different depending what amount the colors are swirled in there.  My products may not look exactly like yours would.

MAC Heavenly Creature Collection MSF in Center of the Universe

Though I wanted several of the MSF’s, I decided to narrow down my selection to one.  This is the Mineralize Skinfinish in Center of the Universe.  It is a gorgeous swirl of yellow gold, burnt orange, and red-toned bronze.  It comes off as a beautiful warm bronzy orange shade.

Center of the Universe, thick swatch (L) and blended out (R)

MAC Heavenly Creature Collection

I also picked up two of the eyeshadows from this collection.  Honestly, all nine shadows were absolutely gorgeous and I would have loved all of them, but I tried to choose shades that were unique and totally me.

MAC Heavenly Creature Collection Eyeshadow in Magnetic Attraction

The first shade, Magnetic Attraction is a mix of gold, orange, and magenta.  The look in the pan reminds me of a Big Stick popsicle.  I love these super bright colors and have been obsessed with orange this year, so I had to get this one.  When swatched, Magnetic Attraction is a vibrant fiery Coral.

Magnetic Attraction swatched wet (L) and dry (R)

MAC Heavenly Creature Collection Eyeshadow in Water

The item that attracted me most to this collection is this eyeshadow in Water.  These colors are so “me”, and of all the Heavenly Creatures products, I had to get Water.  It’s a mix of dark shimmery blue, lime green, and matte yellow.  Some pans have a lot more yellow than I do, but I’m okay with that because I really wanted  pan with a lot of the green in it.  The matte yellow seems to muck up the shade in the swatches that I’ve seen and make it a really muddy pea green color.  My version of Water applies like a dark, murky, green-toned  teal.  In real life it has just the faintest gold flip.  The shimmery green and blue remind me of a beetle.  I love it!

Water swatched wet (L) and dry (R)

Here are some close up shots so that you can see the shades swirled together.

Center of the Universe- MAC Heavenly Creature Collection

Magnetic Attraction-MAC Heavenly Creature Collection

Water- MAC Heavenly Creature Collection

I know that this post comes a little late if you want to purchase some of the MAC Heavenly Creature Collection.  MAC comes out with new collections every three weeks or so, and they sell out fast.  In fact, Nordstom actually had to order the two blushes that I wanted because they were out in the store.  Some items are still available though, so if you are interested, don’t wait.  Though I am certainly not one to jump on a new high-end collection, (and for someone like me who usually shops drugstore, MAC is high-end) I really think that MAC Heavenly Creature Collection is something special.

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

    • The MSFs are like $30, the blushes (not pictured because they hadn’t arrived yet) are $23.50, and the eyeshadows are $20. It’s a super splurge (IMO) and totally unnecessary, but so very pretty. I love them.

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites for August 2012 « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

