Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection

Standard

Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection

As soon as I saw the Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection, two shades really stood out to me: Sweets Way and Topping Lane.  The four shades in the Sprinkles Collection are supposed to be reminiscent of cupcake sprinkles like the pictures on the bottles.  I didn’t see cupcakes, though.  When I saw these two shades, all I saw was Circus Animal Cookies, and I had to get them.

Nails Inc describes the Sprinkles Collection this way: “These brand new polishes deliver a unique Sprinkles effect using just one product. The glitter particles are mattified to give you the perfect amount of sparkle.  The Sprinkles effect is perfect for day and night – ideal for summer weddings, garden parties & the festival season! There are 4 irresistible pastel shades to choose from, named after the most delicious streets in London.”  The two shades not pictured, Pudding Lane and Sugar House Lane, are very pretty as well.  Pudding Lane is a gorgeous Robin’s egg blue base with navy and gold glitters.  I was very tempted to pick that one up also because it is so pretty.  Sugar House Lane is a monochrome polish with black and white glitters suspended in a taupey gray base.  Though both very nice, my eyes were always for Sweets Way and Topping Lane.

Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection, Topping Lane and Sweets Way

Topping Lane is a bright bubblegum pink with fuchsia, silver, and bluish-purple glitter.  Sweets Way is a white base with light blue, pink, and silver glitters.  Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection all have matte jelly bases, so the glitters (which are not matte on their own) are toned down a bit and come off a lot less juvenile than they could have otherwise.  Okay, yes, we are talking about cupcake sprinkle nail polishes, so the level of sophistication isn’t exactly black tie, but it could be a lot worse.   The glitter “sprinkles” are small, uniform and unassuming.  They do not take over and overwhelm the nail, and in my opinion are less obvious or garish than topping a regular polish with a glitter topcoat.  (Not that there is anything wrong with a glitter bomb on occasion.)  Though not really office appropriate for corporate America, these shades are great for the weekend and what’s left of summer where there is a more relaxed atmosphere.  They are also excellent for toes.  🙂

Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection, Topping Lane and Sweets Way

Application on the Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection is actually pretty good.  Glitter polishes can be pretty tricky, but these apply smoothly and easily.  The glitter population is pretty dense, so you can apply normally without having to work the glitter.  These swatches are of two coats for both Topping Lane and Sweets Way.  As you can see, two coats is enough for full opacity on both shades.  Sweets Way is a little streaky on the first coat, and is best served with two.  Topping Lane, however, looked pretty nice on the first coat.  The jelly base is transparent, but not thin looking.  The glitter really popped and looked more like the Circus Animal Cookie.  Three coats make both polishes pretty thick, though not exactly goopy.  You need to apply with a careful hand if you opt for three coats so you don’t go over board.  These polishes do apply with texture, so keep that in mind.  The glitters are even and unobtrusive, so one coat of top coat is certainly sufficient.  If you want that glassy smooth look, however, you’ll need two to three coats of top coat, depending on what you are using.  I’ve got one coat of Seche Vite in my swatches.

I really like these polishes, but there are some down sides.  First off, the price is pretty high for me.  Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection retail for $9.50 at Sephora, which is more than I usually like to spend on polish.  Also, wear time isn’t the best.  At almost ten dollars a pop, I want this polish to last a solid 5-7 days with a good top coat, and that simply isn’t the case.  I don’t mean that they are bad polishes.  The formula is very smooth, and they look great with no fuss.  If they were half the price, I wouldn’t be complaining at all, but they aren’t half the price and I feel I have the right to high expectations.

Overall, I am glad that I got Topping Lane and Sweets Way.  They were a birthday splurge and I will enjoy them.  If you paint your nails often and like fun whimsical shades, then Nails Inc Special Effects Sprinkles Collection may be perfect for you.  However, if you need a polish that will last all week and is versatile for many situations, you may want to pass.  Sprinkles aren’t for everybody, but I simply could not resist.  For me, they were a must buy.

This is the last week to enter my blogiversary Giveaway.  It closes this Sunday, August 12, so be sure to follow this link to the Giveaway page and follow the instructions to enter.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Hard Candy Candied Color Nail Polish | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

