July 2012 Favorites

Standard

July favorites

I can’t believe that it’s already the seventh of August!  Time has really flown by and I’m really late getting my monthly favorites to you.  For those of you who are not familiar, “monthly favorites” are the products that stood out to me, or that I found myself reaching for over and over again during the month.  I don’t have too many favorites this month.  I don’t want to be redundant, so if I’ve mentioned a product in a previous favorites post, I’ll try not to repeat myself.  Throughout July I either was testing products for the blog, or using the same items I’ve used before.  Two products were a staple for me, namely Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Foundation and the Urban Decay NAKED 2 Palette.

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Foundation

Urban Decay NAKED 2 Palette

I have full reviews on both of those products (the search function on the right hand side is your friend), and they have been featured in previous “favorites” posts so I won’t say too much now, but I literally reached for both of these items every time I wasn’t testing for the blog.  Though when I first reviewed it I wasn’t quite as in love as I am now with Revlon Colorstay Whipped Crème Foundation, it has continued to impress me over the last few months and now may have become my new Holy Grail foundation.  I’ve been getting a ton of use out of the center of the NAKED 2 palette.  There are some seriously gorgeous shades in there.  I can’t say enough about these products, so check my reviews.  Now onto my actual favorites for the month.

Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush

I purchased two Real Techniques brush sets from Ulta at the beginning of June, and have really enjoyed them.  They are good quality brushes that have ultra soft taklon bristles.  The aluminum ferrules are color coded so that you can easily find them and know what part of the face they are intended for.  Each set came with a brush case that folds down for display.  Both sets were great buys, but the brush that really stood out to me was this Deluxe Crease Brush.  I love the size and shape.  Most of my crease brushes are either fluffy for blending, or smaller for a precise application.  The Deluxe Crease Brush is larger (like the size of a finger tip) and wide.  It’s densely packed, so it is absolutely perfect for stamping the shadow into the outer corner and crease and then blending out.  I think it is an ingenious shape, and unique to my collection.  The only downside is that you can’t buy it individually.  Unfortunately for those of you who already own a lot of brushes and only want this particular brush it is only available in the Starter Eye Set.  If you need new brushes, though, I recommend the whole set, especially the Deluxe Crease Brush.  You can find Real Techniques at Ulta and at realtechniques.com.

MAC Ring of Saturn from the Heavenly Creature Collection

I already showed you some of the other items that I got for my birthday from the MAC Heavenly Creature Collection.  When I posted, though, my blushes were still on order.  Even though I have not had Ring of Saturn for very long, I freaking love this blush.  It is absolutely gorgeous!

MAC Ring of Saturn from the Heavenly Creature Collection

Check out the gold sheen!  Ring of Saturn shows up as a warm rose gold shade on my skin and I don’t think I have another blush that is quite this shade.  I love that it works with my natural redness (mild rosacea) and makes my skin look flushed, but not unintentionally red.  I have gotten a lot of compliments when I’ve worn Ring of Saturn and I absolutely love it.  I’m not sure if you can still find the MAC Heavenly Creature Collection in stores.  Check your local MAC counters, or if the collection is out, maybe a few items will pop up at the CCO.

e.l.f. HD Powder in Corrective Yellow

The e.l.f. High Definition Powder now comes in two new shades.  I already had the original HD Powder, but did not like how the white powder left a pale cast on my skin.  I did love the “soft focus” effect that it provided, however, so I was on the fence about it.  During one of e.l.f.’s recent sales, I went ahead an purchased when I saw that the HD Powder now comes in Corrective Yellow.  As you know, I have a lot of redness, and yellow is a much better combatant to that than green.

e.l.f. HD Powder in Corrective Yellow

The powder isn’t quite as vibrant yellow as it looks in this picture (’cause that’s pretty bright), but it is yellow enough to cancel out my redness without looking alien or unnatural like a green corrector would have.  It offers the same “soft focus” qualities of the original HD, but without washing me out and giving me that pale cast.  Though the mess factor of a loose powder means that I don’t use it every day, I do really like the look that the e.l.f. HD Powder in Corrective Yellow offers me and I will use it often instead of letting it sit in the back of my drawer like its white counterpart.  e.l.f. HD Powder is $6.00 regular price, but eyeslipsface.com always has sales going on, so you can certainly snag it for less.

Bath & Body Works Malibu Heat Body Cream

My last item is Bath & Body Works Malibu Heat Body Cream.  You all know how much I love Bath & Body Works.  It is my go-to place for bath and body items.  When they had their semi-annual sale, I stocked up and this was one of the items I grabbed.  Malibu Heat seems to be a love it or hate it scent, and a lot of people hate it.  (Personally, I think some of that has more to do with B&BW frequent releases of similar products than the scent itself, but whatever.)  I, however, really like it.  Let me preface this by saying that I am not good at describing scents.  Malibu Heat is supposed to smell like “a fresh blend of juicy pineapple, California orange and creamy coconut milk” per B&BW.  That’s not exactly what I smell on the skin, though.  I pick up a tropical floral scent, like pineapple combined with orange blossoms that is tempered by very subtle coconut and maybe just a touch of sandalwood or vanilla.  It’s just barely sweet and more sophisticated than fruity, but not quite floral.  I find it a unique scent that is very summery and makes me homesick for California.  B&BW body creams are silky smooth and super moisturizing.  I actually prefer the body creams to the regular body lotion because the formula is creamier without being greasy and dries down and absorbs into the skin better in my opinion.

That’s it for my July favorites.  I hope that you saw something that you like.  July was full of ups and downs, but over all it was a good month.  I feel like I am finally getting back to normal after losing my grandmother.  It’s been a rocky several months, but things are going better for me and I’m looking forward to what’s to come.

Remember to enter my giveaway if you haven’t already.  You can find the giveaway post by clicking the link in the categories menu or using the search function, both on the right hand side of the page.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. !!! I didn’t know the ELF HD Powder came in two new colors! I’m so behind on this stuff lol. And that blush looks so pretty. Unfortunately I didn’t pick anything up from that collection :\

Leave a Reply

