SOHO Beauty Sponge

Standard

SOHO Beauty Sponge

A couple months ago, I found the SOHO Beauty Sponge at Walgreens and had to pick it up.  I’ve been wanting the Beauty Blender for some time now, and I had read several positive reviews that, unlike other knockoffs, this SOHO version is as good as the Beauty Blender, though much cheaper.  I had to see for myself.  For those of you who may not be familiar with it, this is the Beauty Blender.

Beauty Blender

In essence, the Beauty Blender is an egg shaped sponge that you dampen and then stipple, or “bounce,” your foundation on with.  It has been around for a long while now, and has revolutionized sponge application.  The only problem is that it is around $20, which is way too much for a makeup sponge, in my opinion.  There have been many knockoffs to come out over the years, but (in general) most people report that they are not very good, and can’t compare to the real thing.  However, that has changed with the SOHO Beauty Sponge.  I have read a lot of reviews that say it is just as good.

SOHO Beauty Sponge

For the record, I do not own the Beauty Blender, nor have I ever used one.  I can’t compare the two, but I can say what I think of the SOHO Beauty Sponge on its own.  First off, the egg shape fits well in the hand and is easy to wield.  When damp, the sponge expands, but is not too large to maneuver around the contours of the face.  The pointy end is great at those hard to blend areas like around the nose and under the eye.  The sponge provides good “bounce” that gives an even, well-blended application with no streaks or bald patches.  It really works well to sheer out heavy or thick foundations to keep them from going cakey.  I have used it about a dozen times now, and have not seen any wear and tear on the sponge.

One odd thing to make note of, is that there seems to be two versions of the SOHO Beauty Sponge.  This egg shaped version is almost an exact dup of the shape of the Beauty Blender.  The only difference is that there is that ring around the middle, and I think it’s slightly larger.  The other version of the SOHO Beauty Sponge is long and thin, with two pointed ends like an elongated football.  I believe that one is the “old” version that is being phased out and this egg shaped one took its place, but I’m not 100% sure.  If you do buy the sponge, make sure it is the egg shaped version.

Overall, I really like how the SOHO Beauty Sponge works for me.  I’m really glad that I purchased it, and I do not feel like I need to get the Beauty Blender anymore, especially since it costs three times more.  SOHO products are available at Walgreens, Target, and Walmart.  Prices will vary depending on location, but it retails for $7.99 at Walgreens in my area.  There are often sales, though, and I was able to pick mine up for just under $5.  Be sure to keep your eye out for sales on SOHO brushes and tools.

This is your last chance to enter my blogiversary Giveaway.  Click this link to go to the giveaway page and follow the directions there.  Entries will be accepted through Sunday, August 12th.  Be sure to enter before it’s too late!  Winners will be announced Monday.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

