Maybelline Downtown Brown LE Fall 2012

Standard

Maybelline Downtown Brown

I have a real treat for you today.  I managed to get my hands on Downtown Brown from the Maybelline LE 2012 Fall Fashion Week Nail Polish Collection.  This collection is brand new, and already Downtown Brown is selling out.  Luckily, not all the displays are out yet, so you can still buy Downtown Brown for yourself if you are quick about it.  The display looks like this:

Maybelline LE 2012 Fall Fashion Week Collection

This is the picture that I showed you last week when I posted about the new displays I spotted at Rite-Aid.  I believe Walgreens will be getting these displays out next week.  I’m not sure about CVS, but if you see the display, be sure to grab the polishes that you want because they may be sold out next time you go to the store.  Limited edition collections always stir up a frenzy like this.  It’s like Pokemon, gotta catch ’em all.

Maybelline Downtown Brown

Downtown Brown is a very interesting shade.  It’s a reddish brown base color that contains a ton of green-blue, or teal shimmer.  The blue in the teal and the red in the brown combine to give the polish a shimmering muddy-purple hue on the nail.  I personally don’t own anything like it.  Downtown Brown reminds me of the nail polish version of MAC Club eyeshadow or a little like MAC’s Green Brown Pigment.

Maybelline Downtown Brown

I really like the shade, though it doesn’t look exactly as I expected on the nail.  The first coat was definitely more on the brown side, but the second coat appears a lot darker.  The shimmer is subtle, but does show up in the light.  This is definitely a polish where you have to see it in real life.  The pictures just don’t do the shimmer and dimensionality of this polish justice.  This is two thick coats.

Maybelline Downtown Brown- indoor lighting

I actually think that two thin coats would look closer to the bottle shade, though the first coat does apply a little bit on the streaky side.  The thicker the polish, the more purple it appears.  You can tell, though, by the photo below, that it really is a dark chocolate brown.  This picture was taken with flash.

Maybelline Downtown Brown- flash

All in all, Maybelline Downtown Brown is a unique shade that I do not have a duplicate of.  It’s a great color for Fall, and I’m glad that I own it.  This is my first Color Show polish, and I like it.  Though the first coat is a little bit streaky, the second coat applied very smooth and even.  I topped  it with a coat of Seche Vite, and three days later it is still going strong with no chipping.  I totally recommend Downtown Brown if you can find it.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Metal Icon « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Maybelline Boho Gold « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

