Monthly Favorites for August 2012

Standard

Monthly Favorites for August 2012

How is it already September?  How?  I really lost track of August and suddenly it’s time for monthly favorites.  For those of you who are new to this blog, “Monthly Favorites” are the items that really stood out to me and that I reached for over and over again throughout the month.  In addition to my monthly beauty favorites here, you can now check out my non-beauty favorites over at my new blog Defies Description.  I hope that you check it out.

For August I leaned toward an end of summer warm look, so I used a lot of golds and bronzes.  I used my Naked 2 palette a ton, but I refuse to feature it again in another monthly favorites for at least a few months.  I was on  a “no buy” for August since I went a little overboard for Birthday month in July, so you may recognize some of these products.  The only purchase made all month was to pick up those LE Maybelline polishes I’ve been showing you.  I’m really proud of myself for being so good.  Makeup can be really addicting, so I’m glad that I put the breaks on for a month.  Of course, now that the Fall and Holiday collections are coming out I’m glad that my “no buy” is over, but that’s another story.  Anyway, on to my favorites.

Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse

Hey look, it’s not Revlon Whipped Creme Makeup again!  Yes it’s true, I finally took a break and opted for a different foundation.  I had forgotten how much I like the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation.  I love how easy it is to apply with the included sponge.  I use the sponge for about 80% of the application and then just buff the last bit out with a brush or blend with my Soho Beauty Sponge.  The foundation looks great and doesn’t cake up or dry me out.  It lasts really well on me too.  If you have normal to dry skin, I really recommend it, though it might not work well for oily skin.

Revlon Beyond Natural Smoothing Primer

I’ve spent all year trying out new primers since my favorite, the Revlon Beyond Natural Smoothing Primer, was discontinued.  This is still my favorite formula, though, and I was able to grab one on clearance a while back.  Silicone primers work best on my skin, and I love the look Beyond Natural gives my foundation.  This is my last tube, so I’ve been nursing it, but I have used it a little more this past month.  Every time I do, I remember why I love it.

NYX Megashine Lipgloss in Cosmo

I love NYX Megashine Lipglosses.  They are so moisturizing, and have such a good formula.  This past month I’ve been reaching for Cosmo which is a natural pink with a hint of bronze.  It is packed with shimmer, and looks pretty frosty when first applied, but the shimmer “settles” as it warms up on the lip and looks less frosty and more shiny.  The picture above was taken about five minutes after application, and you can see the shimmer isn’t too crazy.  (At least, I hope that you can.  All of these shots were taken at night with flash, so you can see the reflection of both the flash and the overhead light on my lip.  But you can still get the idea.)  The only thing I don’t like about these NYX glosses is the cherry candy taste and smell.  Some girls love it, my sister for one, but I hate it.  Thank god it doesn’t last too long after application, only a couple minutes or so.  Cosmo is a gorgeous shade to brighten the face and look “made up” for a night out while still rocking a “natural” look.  Love it!

NARS Multiple in South Beach

I know that I showed my NARS Multiple in South Beach at some point on this blog, probably talking bout the Birchbox shop, since that’s where I got it.  South Beach is a pretty apricot bronze shade that warms my face and makes me all glowy.  It looks gorgeous, and was the perfect shade for that end of summer bronze look that I mentioned.  Great product, though I wouldn’t have gotten it without the Birchbox deal because boy howdy is it pricey.

MAC Center of the Universe MSF

You may remember the MAC Center of the Universe MSF from my post back in July. Click here for swatches and whatnot.  Center of the Universe is a gorgeous swirl of yellow gold, burnt orange, and red-toned bronze.  It is so gorgeous!  It shows up as a beautiful warm bronzy orange shade on the cheek.  I love it and am so glad that I splurged and didn’t miss out on the Heavenly Creatures Collection.

Ed Hardy Villain

Way back in December I showed you my Christmas haul and the Ed Hardy Deluxe Fragrance Collection was part of it.  The collection included Ed Hardy for Women, Hearts and Daggers, Born Wild, and Villain, and each Eau de Parfum spray is .25 fl oz.  One of my favorites that I’ve been wearing almost constantly throughout August has been Villain.  I’m not good at describing scents, but I’ll give it a go.  When first sprayed, Villain smells fruity and sweet like late harvest fruit juices.  As the fragrance dries down, the fruit mingles with very subtle florals and warms up with vanilla or creme brulee.  It smells amazing!  I think it’s a great transition scent between seasons.  I don’t know if the Deluxe Fragrance Collection is still available, but I can say that Villain is totally worth it.  (On a side note, I did not like Villain for men.  It was oddly herbal and the scent was just confused.  Stick with Villain for Women and avoid the men’s fragrance.)

That’s it for my monthly beauty favorites.  Be sure to check my other blog, Defies Description, for my non-beauty favorites.  I hope that you found something that you like and want to try.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

Leave a Reply

