Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils

Standard

Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils

I’m finally getting around to reviewing Milani’s Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils.  Thanks to my sister who let me borrow them, I have the shades Lip Flash and In a Flash for review today.  I’m going to start off by saying, although the formula of these pencils is actually really good, Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils are not for me.  Though I actually really like seven of the eight shades offered, I wouldn’t wear most of them in real life.  The pencils are definitely meant for those who love a bold lip.

Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils are truly full coverage jumbo lip pencils with a high glossy finish and a ton of shimmer.  They are smooth and creamy and feel fantastic on the lip.  Milani did an excellent job with the formula.  They are hydrating and not the least bit sticky or uncomfortable.  They last pretty well and leave a bit of a stain behind as they fade due to the vibrancy of the colors.

The only issue that I had with them (that isn’t just a matter of taste) is the packaging.  The caps are a pain in the butt to get off.  In fact, while trying to open In the Flash, the cap was stuck so hard that the force it took to remove it caused me to break the entire tip off the pencil.  The pencil is super soft and creamy, so I stuck the tip back on for the picture, but I needed to sharpen it to use it.  They are not self sharpening, so you will need a jumbo sharpener.

Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencil in “In a Flash”

In a Flash is a violet magenta color with a blue flash.  There is a similar shade in the line called Flashy, which is warmer toned.  In a Flash is definitely cool toned.

Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencil in “Lip Flash”

Lip Flash is a muted brown with lots of gold shimmer.  Don’t be fooled by the way it looks in the pencil, it does actually look very pretty on.

(L) Lip Flash (R) In a Flash

Lip Flash swatched on the lip

Because it’s so hard to imagine what it looks like on, here is a (admittedly, pretty light) swatch of Lip Flash on the lip.  I love this shade, and if it were the nineties and I was still in high school I would totally wear it.  I adored dark brown lipstick.  I just don’t go for those vampy shades any more.

Wearability is the in the eye of the beholder.  Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils come in shades from bright siren red to dark vampy plum.  There is a beautiful fiery coral shade called Flash Light that is the most wearable to me.  All of the shades (except Star Flash which is a weird iridescent baby pink) are bold, bright, and packed with shimmer.  If bold lips are your thing, then you will probably love Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils.  I think that they might be too much for a lot of people, though.  I’d love it if Milani would put out a line that used the same formula, but with a more muted shade range.  But that is just my personal opinion.  Milani Lip Flash Full Coverage Shimmer Gloss Pencils are around $6 and can be found wherever Milani is sold.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. I don’t ever do a bold lip—I think it looks a little crazy on my 50-something face. But I would definitely try those pencils if they come out with more muted shades. I love the Clinique Chubby Sticks and the Revlon lip pencils too–and they are half the price of the Clinique!

    • I am 44 and have a light Hispanic skin coloring. The lip flash was not really a bold color for me. It is shimmery though but I love it.

Leave a Reply

