NYC Blushable Creme Sticks at the Dollar Tree

Standard

NYC Blushable Creme Sticks

I was at the Dollar Tree this weekend and wandered down the makeup aisle, as per usual.  You’d be surprised what gems can be found there.  This time, I was rewarded with a whole slew of the now discontinued NYC Blushable Creme Sticks.  There were a ton of them, in about five or six different shades.

This display went all the way down to the floor in a line of creme sticks.

I had heard great things about the NYC Blushable Creme Sticks, but never got a chance to try them out.  They were discontinued right around the time I heard about them (this past spring).  Rated 4.4 out of 5 on Makeup Alley, NYC Blushable Creme Sticks are supposed to be really great cream blushes that go on velvety and dry down to powder finish.  They popped up in several favorites videos on youtube, so I was bummed that I missed the boat.

NYC Blushable Creme Sticks

Luckily, the Dollar Tree still has them.  If you are a fan of these blushes and want back ups, or if you also missed out and want to try them, definitely head on down to your local Dollar Tree to see if you can find the NYC Blushable Creme Sticks for yourself.  I picked up three shades: Plaza Pink, South St. Seashell, and Big Apple Blush (which I had heard the most about).  There are at least two more shades available, or at least there were at my Dollar Tree.  As an added bonus, Dollar tree is now accepting coupons, so if you have one for NYC, you can pick up a blush for even less than a dollar.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. These are terrific blushes – I was so sad when they were discontinued by NYC! (Gotta wonder…WHY would a company discontinue a product that gets consistently high reviews?? Mind boggling!!). If you can find the gold blush stick, snap it up. It makes a great highlighter!

      • Yep – it’s Gold Radiance. Apparently it was a limited edition color 😦

        But, maybe you’ll get lucky! I found a blog that has a photo of it and a swatch:

        http://www.allurabeauty.com/2011/review-nyc-blushable-creme-stick-in-gold-radiance/

        I don’t know why, but it seems now that I’m older, highlighters with a silvery shimmer make my skin look dry… and crepey. Gold-based highlighters are much more flattering on me. That’s why I love the NYC Blushable Cream Stick in Gold Radiance, and the E.L.F. Studio Blush in Gotta Glow.

        • Have you tried the e.l.f. studio body shimmer in Golden Glow? Even though they are called “body” shimmer, they can be used on the face. If you run out of the NYC version, that may be a good alternative. Or, if you don’t mind paying for it, I’ve seen swatches of Benefit Sunbeam and it looks beautiful. I agree, golden highlights are often more flattering than pink or silver.

          • Thanks for the tip regarding the E.L.F. Body Shimmer!

            I decided to write to N.Y.C. yesterday to ask them why they would discontinue a product from their line that has gotten consistently high reviews. I heard back from them within just a couple of hours. Their response:

            “Our decision to stop making a product is based on market trends. While we would like to be able to keep everyone’s favorites, it’s just not possible.

            Although it’s not exactly the same, many former users are now enjoying NYC Cheek Glow Blush, which you can locate at authorized retailers that include most major CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, Wal-Mart, K-Mart, Sears, ULTA and Target stores.”

            Yeah….so they discontinue a product that has received an average rating of 4.4 lippies (and 88% repurchase) on MUA, in favor of a product that has received an average rating of 2.1 lippies (25% repurchase)?

            In addition, a quick Google search shows overall, the Blushable Creme Stick received far more positive reviews from blogs than the Cheek Glow Blush.

            Links to ratings of both products on MUA (I know you’re aware of the MUA rating as you mentioned it in your review – I’m posting the link in the event anyone else wants to compare the ratings for the two products):

            http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=129210/Blushable-Creme-Stick-%5BDISCONTINUED%5D/New-York-Color/Blush

            http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=132051/NYC_-_Cheek_Glow/0/Blush

Leave a Reply

