e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer- Review

Standard

e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer

About a month or so ago, I purchased the e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer- Oil Free in Sand and am ready to review it for you.  Here’s what e.l.f. has to say about the product: “Maximum Coverage Concealer provides blendable, wearable, customizable coverage for body and face. The Oil Free formula is perfect for hiding tattoos, birth marks, dark circles, blemishes, scars and more. Highly pigmented for for long-lasting, ultimate coverage and confidence!

e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer in Sand

I don’t use under-eye concealer all the time, so I got the Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer mainly to cover blemishes and redness.  I was hoping that it would be an even cheaper alternative to my Hard Candy Glamouflage concealer (which I love).  At $3.00 a tube, I had to try it out.  I purchased Sand, which is ideal for fair to light skin tones with a neutral balance of yellow and pink undertones.  It comes in a fairly large squeeze tube that contains 0.7 fl oz/20 ml of product, so you get a really good amount for the price.

e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer in Sand

The texture is creamy and light, and feels weightless on the skin.  I have heard good reviews from those who use it as under-eye concealer that it does not crease or settle into fine lines.  I found that it blends effortlessly into the skin, and looks beautiful.  Unfortunately, it is in no way full or maximum coverage.  When blended, the concealer sheers out and only provides light to medium coverage.  There is no possible way that it could cover tattoos or dark scars, and it doesn’t do a good job with blemishes in my opinion.  It is so unfortunate, because I really wanted to love the Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer.  It does a decent job of covering mild discoloration, but I could not get it to work for anything more than that, no matter what method I used (fingers, brush, sponge).  Also, I found that it has poor longevity, even when set with a powder.  My skin is dry and I do not normally have issues with fading, but this concealer only lasted about four hours on me.  Oily skin would eat it up even faster.

So, overall, I’d have to say that the e.l.f. Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer is a fail.  It does not live up to its claims, and it did not do the job I bought it for (to cover blemishes/redness).  I am going to try to salvage it by using it as an under-eye concealer because I do not have really dark circles and don’t need a lot of coverage there.  I’m hoping the smooth texture will work well for me because I do have fine lines and concealers tend to settle and crease up on me.  (Though I have had a lot of luck with Maybeline Age Rewind in that area.)  I have seen a lot of positive reviews of this concealer, so I can only assume that people like it under the eyes.  For me, though, I can’t recommend it.  I’m going to stick to my Hard Candy Glamouflage, because that stuff is hard core coverage.  Don’t waste your money on the Studio Maximum Coverage Concealer.  Although it’s cheap, you’d be better off putting your $3.00 toward a better product.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Hard Candy’s Glamoflage is the BEST concealer I’ve ever used. No other concealer even comes close in terms of opacity and pigmentation. It’s a real tough act to follow, for sure! Did you know Hard Candy added two new shades to the Glamoflage line recently? Now there are five shades to choose from!

  2. Good to know I had thought of trying this elf concealer for my annoying dark circles. Now, Where to I get Glamouflage? 🙂

Leave a Reply

