I Love the Drugstore Tag

Standard

The I Love the Drugstore Tag is going around Youtube, and I thought it would be perfect for me to do here on the blog.  Most of my makeup comes from the drugstore, so I thought that this would be fun.  Here goes.

1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand?

Revlon

I had a hard time choosing between Revlon and Maybeline for this one because my favorite face products come from those brands.  I think those two make the best foundations and there are other stand out products (like the Color Tattoos and Age Rewind Concealer) that made it a tough choice.  Ultimately, I chose Revlon as my favorite brand because in addition to several very good foundations, I also really like their primers, and I love their lip products.  The lip butters and Balm Stains are fantastic (and I’m sure that you are sick of me mentioning them).  If I had to limit myself to only one brand, I could be satisfied with only using Revlon products for my whole face.  (Luckily, I don’t have to.)

2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup

Face:  I’m sure this will come as no surprise, but right now my favorite face product is the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup in 220 Nude.  This is, without a doubt, my favorite foundation at this point.  It does have its flaws, and I’m not saying that it is perfect, but the formula works really well for my skin.

Milani Baked Blush in Rose D’oro

Cheek:  My absolute favorite drugstore blush is the Milani Baked Blush in Rose D’oro.  Now that I own a MAC MSF and a couple mineral blushes I can truly say that Milani Baked Blushes are just as good.  Rose D’Oro is a beautiful color on me.  It’s pigmented enough to mask my rosacea without being too dark that I have to be careful with it.  I can apply it without thinking and it looks great.  Because it’s shimmery, I apply it higher on my cheekbones so that it doubles as a highlight as well as a blush, and makes me look youthful and fresh.  I believe that it would suit a variety of skin tones, and if you can only get one Milani Baked Blush, I’d recommend Rose D’oro.

NYX Lip products

Lips:  I am not going to bring up the Revlon Lip Butters or Balm Stains again.  Instead, let’s talk about NYX.  I really think that NYX makes some of the best lip products at a drugstore price point.  First off, their Round Lipsticks and Megashine Lip Glosses come in about a bazillion colors.  It is impossible not to find at least a couple shades that you like.  I also  really like the Xtreme Lip Creams.  The formula is hydrating, and the pigmentation is super intense.  I’ve tried several NYX lip products and I’ve liked almost all of them.  They generally feel good on the lips and look beautiful.  If you haven’t tried NYX lip colors, you should give them a try.

3. Least favorite product?

E.l.f. Studio Blush in Candid Coral

There are several, actually.  I’ve been meaning to do a “Products that I regret buying” post and I think that I still am going to.  For now, I’ll just say that I hate the E.l.f. Studio Blush in Candid Coral.  So may people have said how much they like this blush, but it frustrates me so much.  It has no pigmentation at all!  It looks like such a pretty color in the pan, but it doesn’t show up on my cheeks.  I am baffled by the positive reviews because it was a complete waste of money for me.  The same goes for Peachy Keen, but I haven’t heard as much about that shade.  I have a love/hate relationship with these blushes in general.  There are a couple good shades that I like very much, but over all I find the Studio Blush line frustrating and disappointing.  I only buy them 50% off because I can handle a $1.50 disappointment.

4. What is the best makeup bargain?

Wet n Wild Coloricon Eyeshadows

When I think of the best bargain, I don’t think the “cheapest” but instead what is the best value.  Without a doubt, it has to be Wet n Wild Coloricon Eyeshadows.  No matter if you have the Trios, the Singles, or the 8-pan Palettes, they have a fantastic formula.  They are the best value, offering good quality for very little money.  My absolute favorite item in the entire line?  The Coloricon Single in Brulee.  I use it pretty much every time I put on makeup.  There are very few other highlight shades that I use and I keep going back time and again.  I think everyone should have Brulee in their collection, and it’s only $1.99.

5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)

Jordana

I’d have to say the Jordana brand gets overlooked.  I don’t hear much about it, and I don’t think that many people are all that familiar with it.  Jordana is a sister company to Milani, and I’ve only ever seen it at Walgreens.  I believe that you can find Jordana at K-Mart (if you can locate one), and I know it’s available on Cherry Culture.  My favorite Jordana items are their lip glosses.  I loved the (unfortunately discontinued) Incolor Pretty Shine Glosses and the Lip Out Loud Glosses that replaced them are really nice too.  I’ve reviewed the Easyshine Glossy Lip Colors here on the blog as an inexpensive (and fabulous) dupe for the Revlon Lip Butters.  I wish Jordana was easier to find because I’ve really liked the products that I’ve tried so far.

6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?

L’Oreal and Physician’s Formula

I find that both L’Oreal and Physician’s Formula products are often really overpriced.  Although both brands claim to produce higher quality products than other drugstore brands, I don’t think that the quality is so much better to warrant the higher prices.  I don’t have many products from either brand, and those that I do have were given to me or bought severely marked down.  I just don’t think their products are worth the money.

7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!

Dupes!

I don’t really know many dupes, but I’ll tell you the ones that I know.  I’ve already shared with you that e.l.f. Studio Blush in Gotta Glow is a dupe for NARS Albatross.  The right hand Crease shade on the Wet n Wild Coloricon 8-pan Eyeshadow palette in Petal Pusher is a dupe for MAC Beauty Marked.  The right hand Definer shade on the Wet n Wild Coloricon 8-pan Eyeshadow palette in Comfort Zone is a dupe for MAC Club.  The Wet n Wild Coloricon Single Eyeshadow in Nutty is a dupe for MAC Satin Taupe.

Dupes

8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?

BB Creams

BB Creams and CC Creams.  I’ve already shared my views on American drugstore BB creams, so I won’t go into it, but let’s just say that they all suck.  Straight up.  Don’t believe the miracle claims.  They are basically glorified tinted moisturizers and will not transform your skin.

Well, I hope that you enjoyed the tag.  I like to do something different around here every now and again.  If you have a blog or a Youtube account, I tag you.  I’d love to see some of your answers to these questions.  If you do the tag, let me know in the comments below where I can find it.  🙂

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. If you’ve not yet tried it, I recommend the Milani Cream-to-Powder Makeup. Up until I discovered this product, I was *not* a Milani fan by any means. However, one day I picked up BeneFit’s “Tan About Town” set at Sephora, and fell in love with the Some Kind-a Gorgeous foundation trial size included in the kit. But before I invested in the full size, I decided to see if I could find a drugstore equivalent. I took the Some-Kind-a-Gorgeous with me to CVS, so I could compare colors and formulas. That’s when I found Milani’s Cream-to-Powder makeup (at less than 1/3 the price, mind you). The Milani shade “medium beige” was an exact match to the BeneFit product in “medium,” and the formulas were *very* close. When I brought it home and tried it, I actually liked the Milani product *better*! It can easily be built from light to medium coverage, doesn’t settle into fine lines, and the finish is matte (but not a dry, cakey matte). I have combo skin (normal cheeks, with an oily forehead [especially between the brows]). Because the Milani product contains more silica in it’s formula than does the BeneFit, I think that’s why it performs better on me. I don’t need to use a setting powder with it, either. I dust a bit of DImethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone and Silica powder (either E.L.F.’s High Definition Powder OR “Wrinkle Blur” from makingcosmetics.com – identical products) JUST under my eyes (to set my Glamoflage concealer) and on that uber-oily spot between my brows. I don’t need to touch up at all during the day – I just use a blotting paper once on that spot between between my brows at about the halfway mark through my day. I *love* the Milani Cream-to-Powder Makeup, and now my 16-year old daughter is using it exclusively, too. She loves it because once applied, it doesn’t look like you’re wearing any foundation (the finish looks like real skin). I would, however, recommend tossing the sponge applicator that’s included in the compact and applying the product with a synthetic flat-top buffer or kabuki brush. The finish when applied with a brush is far superior to what you get applying it with a sponge, and a brush wastes far less product. Milani Cream-to-Powder Makeup is sold in nine shades, but it seems most CVS stores only carry four shades at a time, depending upon that store’s customer demographic (but you can buy all nine shades directly from the Milani website). If you get the chance, give it a try!

Leave a Reply

