e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC

Standard

e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC

I ordered the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC when it first came out, and now I’m ready to give you the review.  You may remember that I loved the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow singles, so I was really excited when I saw that e.l.f. came out with two of these 10 color palettes.  Also, they are a dead ringer for the Sephora Moonshadow Baked palettes, which are $30 each, so I hoped that they would be a good dup.

Here is what e.l.f, has to say about the Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes: “Each Baked Palette features 10 gorgeous baked eyeshadows so you can achieve a flawless look whenever, wherever. The silky and blendable formula of our Baked Eyeshadow provides smooth and even application with each sweep of color. Baked in an oven, these eyeshadows offer rich pigmentation for a beautiful effect. Infused with active key ingredients Jojoba, Rose, Sunflower, Apricot and Grape to nourish and hydrate the skin. The long-lasting and shimmering color can be worn wet for a vibrant effect or dry for sheer pigmentation, offering a variety of gorgeous eye looks!

e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC

I really like the packaging of the Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes.  They are sleek and compact, with a full sized mirror, great for travel.  All ten shades have some shimmer, which is typical of baked shadows.  I experienced a lot of shimmery fall out when I used the shadows alone, so I highly recommend using a primer.  I thought that the shadows had decent pigmentation (for the most part), but did not blend well.  They have a tendency to get muddy, so it is best to opt for less complicated looks that only incorporate a few shades when using this palette.  The shadows do build up really well.  The following swatches were done over bare skin, no primer.

Top row swatched dry, bottom row swatched wet

The top row of the NYC palette are all lighter shades.  These are thick swatches so the color would show up in pictures.  I found very little difference between using them wet or dry in terms of pigmentation.  The one exception would be the silver shade that, while quite pigmented when applied dry, really comes alive when foiled.  There aren’t really any duds in this top row, though these are the worst offenders when it comes to fall out.

Top row swatched dry, bottom row swatched wet

The bottom row of smoky shades are much different than the top row.  When dry, they apply a subtle wash of color, still dark, but not as bold as when wet.  The shadows completely transform when wet, and are extremely pigmented, intense shades.  The one major disappointment in this palette is that sad brown shade.  In the pan it looks like a rich chocolate, but it has hardly any pigmentation, and is flat and lifeless.  It is a total dud.  The gorgeous cobalt blue is pretty sad and wimpy dry, but lives up to expectation and delivers vivid color when wet.

All in all, the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC is decent enough, but nothing to write home about.  I personally prefer the formula of the single baked shadows more.  These shades just don’t play well with others.  Also, I find the color selection kind of strange.  I didn’t see a problem until I tried to do a complete look and realized that the lighter shades, which are mostly warm-toned, don’t mesh very well with the darker shades, which are all cool.  That pinkish purple shade completely confuses me.  I have no idea why it is included in this palette.  The only thing I can see is that e.l.f. copied Sephora’s In the Dark Moonshadow Baked Palette exactly.

Sephora Moonshadow Baked Palette in In the Dark

As far as I can tell by online reviews and comparisons (though I don’t own any Sephora Moonshadow Baked Palettes myself) the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes are very close in quality to the Sephora Moonshadow Baked Palettes.  So, you can save yourself $20 by opting for the e.l.f. version.

Though I am not as pleased with NYC as I was hoping to be, it’s not a bad palette.  I got both of the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes on 50% off, so they were only $5.00 each.  I do not think that they are worth the $10.00 price tag, but if you can catch them on sale, they are worth $5.00.  I will be reviewing and swatching the California palette next week, which was a little different than NYC, so be sure to keep an eye out for that post.  What about you?  Have any of you tried the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes?  What was your experience?

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

9 responses »

      • I haven’t decided yet. I admit I haven’t given it a fair shot yet either. I’ll let you know in a week 😛 maybe I’ll do a review! I haven’t done a makeup review in such a long time!

  1. Pingback: e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Limited Edition e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Trio | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

