e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California

Standard

e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California

Last week I showed you my review and swatches of the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in NYC.  Today I have the e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California to show you.  In my opinion, I think the California palette is a little different than the NYC palette.  Let me break it down for you.

Again, here is what e.l.f. has to say about the Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes: “Each Baked Palette features 10 gorgeous baked eyeshadows so you can achieve a flawless look whenever, wherever. The silky and blendable formula of our Baked Eyeshadow provides smooth and even application with each sweep of color. Baked in an oven, these eyeshadows offer rich pigmentation for a beautiful effect. Infused with active key ingredients Jojoba, Rose, Sunflower, Apricot and Grape to nourish and hydrate the skin. The long-lasting and shimmering color can be worn wet for a vibrant effect or dry for sheer pigmentation, offering a variety of gorgeous eye looks!

e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California

If you remember in my review of the NYC palette here, I thought it was really hit and miss.  Though I loved the packaging that both of these palettes have, and think they both have decent pigmentation, NYC really let me down in blendability, especially compared to the single baked eyeshadows.  The California palette improves in that area.  Though still not as good as the baked singles, the Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California seems to have a slightly different formula and the shadows cooperate with each other a little more.  There is still room for improvement, and if you are doing a complicated look with more than three shades, you will have to work carefully to keep the shadows from getting muddy.  But California is better than NYC, in my opinion.

No primer- top row swatched dry, bottom row swatched wet

The top five shades of the Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California have two highlight shades and three medium shades good for lid colors.  They are all pretty pigmented dry, and do not need to be applied wet.  Though I will say that the two shades on the left look absolutely gorgeous when foiled, so you may want to play around with using those shades wet.  There are no duds in this top row of shadows, though there is a lot of fall out, so use a primer.

No primer- top row swatched dry, bottom row swatched wet

The bottom row of the Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California are the darker crease shades.  The pigmentation varies a lot in this row,  The two metallic shades (first and third) are perfectly pigmented dry and look really lovely wet.  The two brown shades are kind of wimpy dry, and not too impressive.  They improve a lot by applying them wet, though the second shade is still a little disappointing when compared to what it looks like in the pan.  (These are thick swatches.)  The purple/plum shade is so-so and falls somewhere in the middle in quality.  I was disappointed in the two brown shades, but I don’t know that I would necessarily call any of the shades in this palette duds.

Again, e.l.f. is copying exactly one of Sephora’sMoonshadow Baked Palettes, this time In the Nude.  If you were planning to buy Sephora’s version for $30, e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palette in California is a good way to save yourself $20.

Sephora’s In the Nude Moonshadow Baked Palette

I still say that, though e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Palettes in California was better than NYC, neither are must-haves.  They are $10 on e.l.f.’s website, but I would not (and did not) pay full price for them.  I’d wait for e.l.f. to offer a 50% off Studio sale and pick them up for $5.  I would definitely recommend California over NYC.  The shades make more sense to co-exist in the same palette, and they blend together better.  Or, even better, get the single e.l.f. baked eyeshadows.  They have a much better formula.

FYI: e.l.f. is currently offering 50% off Studio items, plus a free brush set on orders over $30.  The Baked Palettes are both sold out, though.  Still, if you want to take advantage of the sale use code STUDIO50 through 11/21.  (I have no idea what they are going to offer for Black Friday or Cyber Monday.)

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Limited Edition e.l.f. Studio Baked Eyeshadow Trio | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

