e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick Review and Swatches

Standard

e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks

E.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks are a newer item that launched about a month ago.  The e.l.f. Essential line is kind of hit and miss, so I wasn’t sure how well these Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks would perform, which is why I only purchased two of the eight shades available.  Before we get into my review, though, let’s take a look at what e.l.f. has to say about this product:

The Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick is a tinted lip color that glides on like a lipstick but looks like a gloss. With nourishing Jojoba, Soybean and Vitamin E key ingredients, it conditions and moisturizes the lips. The twist-up component and smooth glide formula is easy to use for on-the-go application.”

e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks in Tiki Torches (L) and Sangria Starters (R)

I’m going to go ahead and say it, I love these Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks.  I purchased the shades Tiki Torches and Sangria Starters.  Both Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks glide on smoothly without tugging the lip.  They feel moisturizing like a lip balm.  In fact, if I were to classify these Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks as anything, I’d say that they are tinted lip balms in jumbo pencil form.  They behave exactly as you would expect a tinted lip balm to perform.  The pigmentation is sheer, yet buildable.  They feel fantastic on the lips.  And, like a tinted lip balm, they fade after a couple hours, so you will need to re-apply.  Personally, that is not an issue for me.  I like my lips to feel nice and moisturized, so I am used to fiddling with my lip products often.  If longevity is a deal breaker for you, though, you may want to skip these Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks.

One unfortunate thing about the e.l.f. Essential line is that they sometimes have this horribly artificial plastic-like or petroleum-like odor.  Not all of the Essential items smell bad, but several of them do.  Luckily, that is not the case here.  The Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks do have a faint,  slightly artificial minty smell and a light tingle when applied.  Both the smell and the tingle fade almost immediately.  There was no discernible taste.

Tiki Torches

Tiki Torches is a lovely sparkly coral shade.  It leans more peachy-orange than pink.  The sparkles are apparent on the lips and really catch the light.  It’s a gorgeous, fun shade that will be great in the spring and summer months especially.  There is a glossy sheen on the lips when applied, but it does not look like you just applied a lip gloss.  I’d say the sheen simply makes the lips look moisturized.

Sangria Starters

Sangria Starters is a smooth, creamy dark neutral shade.  It would look good on anyone because of the variety you can achieve by either wearing it sheer or built up.  The shade is a perfect, all around shade that fits all seasons.  I would definitely classify this as a “my lips, but better” shade, and think that if you get any of the Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks, you should get this one.  Sangria Starters also leaves that glossy sheen I talked about that makes the lips look healthy and moisturized.

e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks in Tiki Torches (L) and Sangria Starters (R)

These swatches are a little thicker so that you can see how the shades can be built up.  You can also really see how the shimmers in Tiki Torches catch the light and bump it up a few notches.  The Jumbo Stick form makes these products really easy to apply, and I love that they are self-sharpening.

All in all, based on these two shades, I’d highly recommend e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks.  That is, as long as you don’t mind having to re-apply your lip product.  They feel fantastic, and I really like them.  I think I may need to get a few more.  Oh yeah, did I mention that these babies are only $2.00 each at eyeslipsface.com?  Yes, I definitely need to get a couple more.  I do not know if we will be seeing the e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Sticks at Target, but I hope we will.

By the way, e.l.f. has extended the Cyber Monday sale, so everything is still 50% off through midnight.  Just enter the code 50WIDE on orders of $25.00 or more.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

      • Yep. I also picked up some of the baked eyeshadow singles and one of the makeup remover pens (been sold out for a while…), and I’m going to try one of the waterproof eyeliner crayons. 50% off sales rock the casbah.

          • I’m mostly just worried that the waterproof eyeliner crayons will be difficult to remove. I don’t wear much waterproof makeup, so I don’t own a serious makeup remover. I also got it in moss. 🙂 Green’s a great color for eye makeup. I hope you like yours, too. What else did you haul?

          • I love makeup remover wipes for eye makeup. I prefer Neutrogena, but there are several brands out there. I hauled a bunch of random stuff, like the moisture stick and the primer in corrective green. I also picked up some lustrous shadows and the jumbo lip pencils.

          • Did you get your eyeliner crayon yet? I kind of hate it, but I’m not sure if I just got a bum product, or if they all kind of suck. The color is murky and it doesn’t glide well across the lid… Could it be user error?

          • I got it yesterday, but I haven’t had time to get into my order yet. Plus, I have to photograph everything before I can use them. Oh, the trials of being a beauty blogger, lol. I’m bummed to hear that yours sucks. I’ll have to play around with mine, and when I do, I’ll see if I can come up with some suggestions for you.

  1. Pingback: e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Eyeshadow Sticks « Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: Springtime Giveaway | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

