Monthly Favorites for November 2012

Standard
Monthly Favorites for November 2012

Monthly Favorites for November 2012

It’s the last day of November (already!) so it’s time for my Monthly Favorites post.  For those of you who are new to this blog (welcome), Monthly Favorites are the items that I found myself reaching for over and over again during November, or that particularly stood out to me.

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation

Every time I use it, I am pleasantly surprised by the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation.  I keep thinking that e.l.f.’s foundation won’t be that great because of the extremely low price.  But I really like the Flawless Finish Foundation.  It gives my skin a beautiful, smooth, semi-matte finish with pretty good coverage.  It doesn’t dry me out, and my skin looks great several hours into wear with no fading.  And check out that glass bottle!  It also has a pump dispenser.  E.l.f. really stepped it up with the packaging for the Flawless Finish Foundation.  The packaging looks expensive, but it is still only $6.00, which is pricey for e.l.f., but lower than anything else you can find in the drugstore.  I totally recommend checking it out.  I have seen several shades of the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation at Target, so keep an eye out if you don’t want to order online.  My shade is in Sand.

NYX Stay Matte not Flat

NYX Stay Matte not Flat

I’ve been using NYX Stay Matte but not Flat Powder Foundation quite a bit lately.  I lightly dust it on with a fluffy brush as a setting powder over my liquid foundation.  I really like it.  It has a nice formula that leaves a natural look on the skin without looking to powdery or settling into lines.  The compact does have a sponge applicator, but I find that the powder applies too thick when I try to use it.  I prefer a brush to keep it light.  I have heard some rave reviews on this product that it looks like skin, as if you aren’t wearing a powder at all.  I think that would be overselling the product quite a bit.  Stay Matte not Flat isn’t a miracle product, but it is a very nice powder, and it provides enough coverage to use as powder foundation if that’s how you roll.

Maybelline Baby Lips

Maybelline Baby Lips

It took me a really long time to jump on the Maybelline Baby Lips bandwagon.  I don’t know why, but I got it in my head that a product so over-hyped had to suck (ahem, EOS lip balms).  I decided that, as a beauty blogger, I really did need to try such a popular product, so I picked up one Baby Lips, certain that I would hate it.  I really did not want to like Baby Lips.  But I do.  There is no shade or flavor name on the tube and the packaging is long gone, but this pinkish-red balm in the orange tube is very nice.  It has a cherry taste and smell.  The color is sheer, but noticeable, and it feels good on the lips.  I like to use this Baby Lips throughout the day to keep my lips nice and moisturized over my Revlon Balm Stains.  Just like the NYX powder, I think this product is over-hyped, but I do like Baby Lips and wouldn’t mind picking up a couple more.

e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit

e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit

I have been using the e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit in Light to fill in my practically non-existent eyebrows.  I was searching for an alternative to my favorite brow powder which happens to be an eyeshadow out of my Coastal Scents 88 warm palette.  Though I love the shade, the 88 palette is bulky when I only want one shadow, and I wanted something that I could throw in my purse.  The e.l.f. Eyebrow kit comes with a tinted brow wax and a powder.  The jury is still out with me as far as the wax is concerned, but I really like the powder side.  I like to use the e.l.f. Eyebrow Lifter and Filler instead of the wax as the base, and then set it with this powder.  The shade is a little light for me, but it’s close, and it’s exactly what I was looking for as far as being travel friendly.  For $3.00, it works well for me.

Ulta Automatic Lip Liner in Spice

Ulta Automatic Lip Liner in Spice

I don’t usually wear lip liner because I always forget about it, but lately I have been reaching for this Ulta Automatic Lip Liner in Spice.  Spice is a dark neutral shade that compliments a lot of lip products.  It’s a great base for the Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle, and helps the color last a lot longer.  It also tones down some brighter lip colors and brings a shade that normally wouldn’t fit into the neutral family.  I like it a lot.

Ulta Automatic Lip Liner in Spice

Ulta Automatic Lip Liner in Spice

That is all for my November favorites.  Let me know in the comments below what you have been loving this month.  I can’t believe that December is already upon us.  I’m super excited.  Christmas is my favorite holiday, and I like to celebrate all month long.  I will definitely be going a Christmas giveaway this year.  I’m just waiting for a few items to arrive in the mail, and then I’ll put the post up and let you know how to enter.   December is already shaping up to be a good month.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been getting a lot of use out of the e.l.f. essential all over color stick in Pink Lemonade. I’ve been suuuuuper lazy and haven’t worn much makeup, but a little bit of color on my cheeks and lips (under strawberry chap stick) has kept me from looking like a the walking dead. 🙂

      • They smell just like this moisturizer I used in high school (from Avon)… also like Vitamin C supplements… For some reason, the smell doesn’t bother me. I picked up a tone-correcting concealer somewhat recently and just started using it a few days ago. I actually love it… Usually I hate concealer because it doesn’t ever really blend, but the tone-correcting stuff from e.l.f. just blends right in. Totally smells like vitamin C, but it works really well to fix my tired under-eye area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

