NYX Wicked Dreams Palette Review and Giveaway

Standard
NYX Wicked Dreams Palette

NYX Wicked Dreams Palette

The kind folks over at BlueScandal.com contacted me and offered to sponsor a giveaway here at BiBB.  They sent me the NYX Wicked Dreams palette to review and they will be giving one out to a lucky winner as well.  Before I tell you how to win, however, let’s get into my review.

NYX Wicked Dreams Palette in indoor light

NYX Wicked Dreams Palette in indoor light

I am a big fan of NYX cosmetics in general.  I’ve already told you how much I love their lip products and I think the Slide-On liners are fantastic.  I do not have too much experience with their eyeshadow palettes, though.  I have one of their 10-Color Eyeshadow Palettes, but that’s it.  So I was excited to try the NYX Wicked Dreams palette.

Don’t sleep through your Wicked Dreams! Dive into the charm of 24 eye shadows ranging from alluring natural and jewel toned hues. Make your dream a reality and enrich your look with the inspiration of your imagination! Carry your Wicked Dreams with you as you travel through your day and night excursions.

NYX Wicked Dreams Palette

NYX Wicked Dreams Palette in sunlight

I think the Wicked Dreams Palette is a really good collection of shades.  The natural colors are versatile and can provide a myriad of subtle, everyday looks.  The jewel tones are gorgeous and deliver dramatic color for going out.  That matte black is insanely pigmented, and the perfect liner shade.  Overall, it’s a really good versatile collection of shades, perfect for someone looking for a palette that they can use all the time in a variety of circumstances.  It would also make a great starter palette for someone who needs to build up their makeup collection.

With inexpensive palettes like this, you can expect the quality to be pretty hit and miss (hello, e.l.f. palettes).  In general, though, I think the NYX Wicked Dreams Palette delivers pretty consistently.  The formula is great, and does not need the assistance of a primer (though, of course, it can’t hurt.)  They applied evenly, and smoothly over the lid.  A couple of the shades are softer than the others, so fall-out varied a little.  Just be sure to tap off your brush, and you should have no problems.  I had absolutely no issues with creasing over bare lids, and the shadows wore all day with slight fading after the eight or ninth hour.  Remember, this is without a primer.  When I did use a primer, I had no fading at all.  The shadows blended easily together, without getting muddy and they built up easily for more intensity.

The pigmentation of the shadows in the NYX Wicked Dreams Palette is decent.  There are some shades that don’t quite have as good a color pay-off as I would like, namely the only purple.  To make up for it though, there are a few shades that are knock-your-socks-off pigmented.  I’ve already mentioned the matte black (which I totally forgot to swatch), and that teal is a-maz-ing!  In general, the shadows are decently pigmented across the board, and they do build up for better color pay-off.  For the price point, I’d say that they have good pigmentation.  Here are some random swatches that I took.

NYX Wicked Dreams

NYX Wicked Dreams

All of these swatches are done over bare skin with no primer.  As you can see, some of those shades have excellent color pay-off, while others are just average.  I did not find any real duds in the palette, though, so overall, I’m impressed.  If you use a primer, the color pay-off will be more intense and you shouldn’t experience any pigmentation problems.

I am very happy with the NYX Wicked Dreams Palette.  I think that it’s a great addition to my collection.  Now, onto the Giveaway.  Entering is very simple.  First off, you MUST be a subscriber.  Just click the “Sign me up” button on the right.  You will need to provide a valid email address so that I can contact you about your winnings.  Second, you must leave a comment on this post telling me what your favorite NYX product is and why.  This giveaway is open internationally, so my readers abroad should feel free to enter.  This giveaway will go through 12/20.  The winner will be chosen by a random generator and announced on Friday, 12/21.  I’ll email you the details of how to claim your prize.  Good Luck!

And thanks to the people at Blue Scandal for sponsoring this giveaway.

About BlueScandal.com:  “A new breed of cosmetics, makeup tools and fragrances. We are here to bring to the public a new life style for the next generation. Our objective is to provide fun, savvy, chic, scrumptious, sweet,extra-ordinary, stupendous makeup tools and fragrances.  Please join our revolution and be part of new wave!!”  For more NYX items available on BlueScandal.com, click here.

FTC Disclosure: The product in this post was provided to me for free by BlueScandal.com  for consideration.  This does not guarantee a positive review, and my thoughts on this product are 100% honest.  No other compensation was accepted.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

21 responses »

  1. My favorite NYX product is the Be Fierce palette. I’ve been using it almost every day lately for its beautiful mix of warm fall colors. I also really love the round lipsticks, lip liners, slide on eyeliners, and mega-shine glosses. I really love NYX’s color range and value!

  2. My favorite NYX product is the Nude-On-Nude Palette. I think it is an excellent substitution for the Urban Decay Naked Palettes, at a much more reasonable price-point.

  3. My favorite Nyx product is their lipstick. It’s incredibly inexpensive and there is a good variety of finishes. It’s how I taught myself to wear lipstick and I still find myself reaching for it over the Revlon, Loreal, and MAC.

  4. My favorite NYX product is the cream blush, because the pigmentation is amazing and very longlasting. Also, the color selection is gorgeous and works well with many skin tones. I love using a stippling brush to apply it on my cheeks for a natural flawless look.

  5. my favorite NYX product will always be their Smokey Eyes 10-Color Palette. it pairs wonderfully with any color and gives me bedroom/boudoir eyes in a hot minute. 😉

  6. My favorite NYX product is their Caviar and Bubbles 10 Color Eye Shadow Palette. I love this palette because the colors are neutral and perfect for everyday makeup looks. I reach for it all the time, and you can throw it into your bag and go.
    email: jslbrown_03 at yahoo dot com
    Email subscriber via email: jslbrown_03 at yahoo dot com
    Thank you!

  7. my favorite nyx product is their jumbo eye pencils, french fries is my absolute favorite color, theres a sheen, almost metallic, but its not shimmery. it looks amazing all over the lid or as part of a smokey eye look

  8. My favorite NYX product, at the moment,mare their lip creams. I love, love the way they feel, the colors are amazing and when they dry down they leave an ever so slight stain that makes my lips look better! Also I love their jumbo eye pencils. My favorite color of the moment is lime. Mi love a brown eyeshadow with the lime just at the lash line. Gives such a great look to an otherwise boring ol brown eyeshadow.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Judi
    Judi.tierney@yahoo.com
    And of course I’m subbed to your great blog!

  9. Pingback: EOTD: Turn Around Bright Eyes « Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

