Carried Away for Christmas

Standard
Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set

I received some fantastic gifts for Christmas this year, but aside from some stocking stuffers, they weren’t really beauty related, except one.  My husband got me the Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set that was exclusive to Sephora.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set

The Carried Away Collector’s Set is a pretty comprehensive set, and I was thrilled to get it.  I have really enjoyed the Tarte items that I already have, and was anxious to get more, so I’m really happy to have gotten this collection.  Let me break it down for you.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set bag

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set bag

First off, instead of coming in one of Tarte’s traditional jewelry box style packages, the Carried Away Collector’s Set comes in a fold up makeup bag.  I can empty it and use it for traveling, so that’s great.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set bag

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set bag

The bag folds out and contains a huge mirror in the center.  Each side is a large zipper pocket, and there is an elastic to hold the domed brush that comes with the set.  The eyeshadows are stored in a thin box that fits in a slot behind the mirror, which is such clever packaging.  I love that in this set Tarte gave me practical, useful packaging, and not something that is just going to sit on my shelf and take up room.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set- Right side

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set- Right side

The right side of the Carried Away Collector’s Set contains the “Blushing Beauty Domed Blush Brush”, the mini “Lights, Camera, Lashes!” mascara (that I love), the mini Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in Adventurous (shimmering rose), and the Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set- mascara, blush, and finishing powder

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set- mascara, blush, and finishing powder

Here is a closer look out of the package.  Adventurous looks like a gorgeous blush.  I can’t wait to use it.  I really lile the formula of those Amazonian Clay blushes.  “Lights, Camera, Lashes!” is my favorite mascara, so of course I’m happy to have a back-up.  I don’t know anything about the finishing powder, but I’m happy to try it out.  The blush brush that comes in the set it really soft, and actually of a much higher quality than I had expected of a kit brush.  It’s by no means a throw away.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set- Left side

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set- Left side

The left side of the Carried Away Collector’s Set contains eight shades of maracuja lip gloss.  I haven’t tried Tarte maracuja lip glosses before, so I’m excited to break into those.  I love the wide range of color and finishes.  There is a good mix of shimmers and creams in light and dark colors.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set Lip Glosses

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set Lip Glosses

The Carried Away Collector’s Set comes with a palette of twenty four full size Amazonian Clay Eyeshadows.  The palette has a lid that protects the shadows when closed, and then flips up and over when in use.  The palette also comes with a protective plastic sheet that has all of the shade names printed on it.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set eyeshadows

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set eyeshadows

The shadows are split up into six quads of corresponding colors.  There are some gorgeous shades in this set.  That purple in the top right quad is actually a duochrome and has an iridescent blue flip.  I adore the green quad (big shock, I know). I did some quick swatches, and the shadows seem silky and pigmented.

Random sampling of swatches

Random sampling of swatches

I haven’t used Tarte shadows before, so I am very excited to play with this palette.

Tarte Carried Away Collector’s Set is exclusive to Sephora, and I’m not sure if it is still available.  I know that they sold out on the website a couple weeks ago.  Certain store locations may have a couple left, though, so if you are interested in purchasing your own Carried Away Collector’s Set be sure to call your local Sephora to see if they have it.  I am very excited to have gotten mine.  It’s a great Christmas present.

ring1To hear more about my holiday and see the other big item that I received, check out my other blog Defies Description in a day or two.  I hope to get my Christmas recap up soon.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

