Ipsy, February 2013 Edition

Standard
February 2013 Ipsy Bag

February 2013 Ipsy Bag

It’s Ipsy time!  I was happy to receive my Ipsy bag last night, and I have it here to show you today.  Ipsy’s theme for February is “Get Red Carpet Ready!”  Glitz and glam! It’s all about the glorious red carpet with ipsy this month. February’s “Red Carpet Ready” Glam Bag has nothing but winners! Whether you have your “thank you” speech prepared or not, we are here to help you get ready for all the lights, camera, and action.

Pop Mascara

POP Beauty Mascara

POP Beauty Smokey Lash Kapow Mascara:  “This lash-POP-ing mascara makes lashes plump, long and lusciously flirty! Smudge proof formula adds volume while curling lashes up and out for a look that truly POPs your peepers!”  Full size retails at $18.50 for 0.25 oz/7 g at popbeauty.co.uk.  Sample size of 0.17 oz/4.8 g is worth $12.58.

The Lash Card

The Lash Card

The Lash Card:  “Apply your mascara perfectly with the Lash Card! Say goodbye to smudging, clumping, and messy mascara application. The Lash Card has two curves on each side that fit a variety of eye shapes, making it easy to get those hard-to-reach lashes. Each Lash Card is individually wrapped for on-the-go application.”  Full pack of 10 retails for $6.99 at lashcard.com.  Sample size is 4 cards, worth $2.80.

Pixi Flawless & Poreless Primer

Pixi Flawless & Poreless Primer

Pixi Flawless & Poreless Primer:  “The Pixi Flawless & Poreless primer creates a beautiful no-shine finish for flawless, long-lasting makeup application. This shine controlling, oil-free primer smooths out fine lines and hydrates while making pores instantly disappear. It is the perfect skin primer for all complexions and all skin types.”  Full size is $29 for 30ml at pixibeauty.com.  Sample size is 15 ml worth $14.50.

MicaBeauty Gel Eyeliner

MicaBeauty Gel Eyeliner

MicaBeauty Gel Eyeliner:  “Define eyes and apply eyeliner like a pro with the MicaBeauty Gel Eyeliner! This smooth, highly pigmented gel eyeliner glides over the lid evenly and dries quickly for a long-wearing, smudge-proof finish. Comes in 5 other highly pigmented shades.”  There was no label on this liner to say what size it is, but the general consensus on the web is that it is a full size sample.  Yay!  The gel liner is listed at .18 oz/5g  for $35 at micabeauty.com.

Coastal Scents Shadow Palette Sample Quad

Coastal Scents Shadow Palette Sample Quad

Coastal Scents Shadow Palette Sample Quad:  “Coastal Scents Shadow Palette Samples are an ideal way to try these highly pigmented, stunning shadows. These miniature-sized samples contain four hand-selected shades by ipsy, making it easy to create a variety of looks. Wear these pressed powders dry or wet for a more intense, dramatic look.”  I received one of these back in October and decided that since Coastal Scents adds them into orders as free samples, I’m going to count this as an extra and not include it in my total.  I freaking love the shades, though.  Here’s a swatch over bare skin, no primer:

Dark Goldenrod, Sunbeam, Golden Globe, and Dark Golden Olive

Dark Goldenrod, Sunbeam, Golden Globe, and Dark Golden Olive

The grand total worth of my February Ispy bag is $64.88, plus the Coastal Scents quad and the bag itself (which is, admittedly, pretty plain and boring).  Not bad for a $10 subscription fee.  I already know that I love Coastal Scents shadows, and I am thrilled with the golden shades that came in my quad.  That first shade, Dark Goldenrod, has a green duochrome flip to it that is gorgeous.  I also know that I like the Pixi primer because it was featured in my October monthly favorites.  I don’t really care about the Lash Cards, but I can’t expect to love everything that comes in my bag.  I am curious about the Pop Beauty mascara because I have heard really good things about Pop Beauty.  I’m also really curious about the MicaBeauty liner.  I first heard about MicaBeauty around Christmas time because they had a kiosk set up in my local mall.  I didn’t have time for a demo due to the hectic season, but I was interested in what they had to offer.  I can’t wait to play with my new liner.

Ipsy Red Carpet Ready

Ipsy Red Carpet Ready

All in all, another great month from Ipsy.  I have no regrets about canceling my Birchbox and sticking to Ipsy.  For me and my needs, Ipsy is doing a great job.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

    • I know, right? I’m so glad that I got the gold shadows. The other quad going out was black, white, and grays. Not bad, but not really my speed. These shadows are perfect for me. I have been really satisfied with Ipsy so far. This is my fifth bag, and I am very happy. let me know if Sarah got anything different. I’m pretty sure every bag has the same products, but the shades differ. Then again, I could be wrong.

    • It’s all a matter of taste. I am familiar with Coastal Scents (which is inexpensive, but still good) and Pixi, so I already know that I like the products. I’ve never used the other brands, but at least I have heard of them. This wasn’t my favorite Ipsy bag ever, but I was certainly satisfied. I’m sorry that you didn’t like what was in this month’s bag, but there is always next month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

